Skip to main content

Archives: Collections

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

 

Hawai’i Pacific Collection

Finding Aid

 

Introductory Information

Dates: 1785-1951
Extent: 6 items, 3 boxes.
Creators: These items were donated by faculty and alumni.

 

Administrative/Biographical History

Repository Information:
’Iolani School Archives, ’Iolani School, Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership

Provenance:
Provenance information varies greatly. The material was donated by various alumni and faculty. For some items, no provenance information is known. See Box Lists and Inventory for any details. Accruals are not expected as like material falls outside the scope of our collection policy.

 

Access and Use:

Access:
The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile. Duplicates such as photocopies, typescripts, or digital surrogates may be supplied in place of original materials.

Copyright:
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Languages & scripts:
Collection is in English and Hawaiian.

Disclaimer:
The ’Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

 

Notes (Colophon)

Collection created by Georgina Tom (Archivist) from materials listed as 'miscellaneous' by previous staff. Cook Atlas was added to these materials to create a Hawai’i Pacific Collection. Arrangement, primarily, was kept as it was. Final arrangement and description was done by Valancy Rasmussen (Archives Assistant) in June 2017.

 

Preferred Citation

’Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai’i.

 

Description Control

Finding Aid was compiled by Valancy Rasmussen, June 2017. Description based on DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard).

 

Scope and Content

The collection contains materials from a variety of donors through time that relate to Hawai’i and the Pacific. It includes Hawaiian language books, dictionaries, a photograph of Waikiki from the 1890s and Hawaiiana. It also includes the 2nd edition (1785) Cook Atlas that includes his third voyage and the scene of his death. See Box Lists and Inventory for information on each item.

 

Arrangement

This collection has not been subdivided into series.

 

Box Lists

Box 1

  • 1. Andrews, Lorrin. A Dictionary of the Hawaiian Language. 1865.
  • 2. Judd, Henry P. The Hawaiian Language. Honolulu, Hawaii: Honolulu Star Bulletin, Ltd., 1944.
  • 3. Judd, Henry P., Mary Kawena Pukui and John F.G. Stokes. Introduction to the Hawaiian Language (An English-Hawaiian Vocabulary): Comprising five thousand of the commonest and most useful English words and their equivalents, in modern Hawaiian speech, correctly pronounced, with a complementary Hawaiian-English Vocabulary. Honolulu, Hawaii: Tongg Publishing Company, 1943.

 

Box 2

  • 1. Photograph of Diamond Head from Waikiki Beach, canoe in foreground, ca. 1890’s
  • 2. Royal Hawaiian Hotel Diner Menus. Covers by John Kelly Nov. 29, 1951- "Hula Dancer" Dec. 26, 1951- "Big Surf at Waikiki" Dec. 28, 1951- "Fisherman"

 

Box 3

  • 1. Cook Atlas. A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Performed Under The Direction Of Captains Cook, Clerke, And Gore, In His Majesty's Ships The Resolution And Discovery; In The Years 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, And 1780. London: H. Hughes for G. Nicol and T. Cadell, 1785. [Atlas only- title taken from companion volumes to the set, not found in the archives]

 

 

 

Related Materials

 

 

CLASS OF 1941-NC-CLASS OF 1942- Andrews, Lorrin. Vocabulary of Words in the Hawaiian Language. Lahainaluna, Press of the High School, 1836. In Artifacts Collection, Box 39, AF_classof_8.

See also Scrapbooks for historic photos of Hawai’i and Hawaiiana; and

C. K. Ai. My Seventy-Nine Years In Hawai῾i. Cosmorama Pictorial Publisher: Hong Kong, 1960. in the Hawaii Pacific Collection for history of Hawai’i and the Chinese community.

 

. . .

Detailed finding aid with inventory available at the 'Iolani School Archives.

 

Scrapbooks

Finding Aid

 

Introductory Information

Dates: 1917-2000
Extent: 25 scrapbooks
Creators: These scrapbooks were compiled by various alumni, faculty and staff.

 

Administrative/Biographical History

Repository Information:
’Iolani School Archives, ’Iolani School, Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership

Provenance:
Provenance information varies greatly. The scrapbooks were donated by various alumni and faculty. See Scope and Content Note for any details.

 

Access and Use:

Access:
The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile. Duplicates such as photocopies, typescripts, or digital surrogates may be supplied in place of original materials.

Copyright:
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Languages & scripts:
Collection is in English.

Disclaimer:
The ’Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

 

Notes (Colophon)

Organization of the collection has been primarily left as it was arranged initially by archives staff. Some items have been rehoused when necessary. The original description was only basic box lists, so a full inventory was created along with this finding aid. Final arrangement and description was done by Valancy Rasmussen in April 2017.

 

Preferred Citation

’Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai’i.

 

Description Control

Finding Aid was compiled by Valancy Rasmussen, May 2017. Description based on DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard).

 

Scope and Content

The collection contains materials from a variety of donors through time. The scrapbooks include images of Iolani people and events as well as Hawaii and other scenes. There are images of faculty journeys to Honolulu, including ships, harbor views, and people. Other subjects include, Queen Liliuokalani's funeral, World War II, Prince Kuhio's funeral, performing arts and sports. Also included are, Matson travel documents, postcards, school and theater programs, dance cards and a blue felt 'I'. See Box Lists and Inventory for information on each item.

 

Arrangement

This collection has not been subdivided into series.

 

Box Lists

Box 1

  • 1. NC-CLASS of 1936- Stevens, Sam. Scrapbook of photos & clippings, some loose photos. Iolani people and scenes; includes photos of student body in front of chapel, images of Schofield Barracks of President Roosevelt's review; ships in the harbor. Also includes football articles and football team photo from 1926. Also includes photos of musical performances, ukulele players and hula dances.
  • 2. NC-CLASS of 1936- Stevens, Sam. Scrapbook of clippings, mostly articles by Clarice Taylor about the Stevens family. Also includes a few football photos.
  • 3. StACG-FAC/STAFF/ADM- Rogers. Thomas Pierce. Photo album, Iolani & Hawaii scenes. Images of San Francisco Pier and ships, journey to Hawaii, ships in Honolulu Harbor including outrigger canoe, Queen Liliuokalani's funeral. Also includes images of Iolani campus, buildings, classrooms, faculty, staff- as well as boarders. Images from the Big Island, Hilo, Coconut Island and Volcano. There are small drawings throughout album.
  • 3a. St.ACG-FAC/STAFF/ADM- Rogers, Thomas Pierce. Photo album, Iolani & Hawaii scenes. Includes images of Kauai, US Boys Working Reserve, Hawaiian sugar mill, Iolani people and Duke Kahanamoku diving at Fort Kamehameha.
  • 4. Graduation. Photo album, Iolani graduation 1956.
  • [number omitted intentionally.]
  • 6. NC-FAC/STAFF/ADM- Riggin, Juanita. Photo album pages and loose photos. Iolani scenes and people 1937-1939, ca. 1950. Photos of faculty on and off campus. Includes photos of students. Includes photos from various island locations as well as sporting events, boxing, swimming and football. Includes photos of Staley Hall, Willis Hall and dorms. This also includes two photos in jackets of elementary school students in 1949-50 & 1950-51 school years. Also includes World War II era photo of Charles Riggin(?) at desk in gas mask. This was used in the 1942 Ka Moolelo O Iolani.
  • 7. St.ACG-CLASS of 1926- Imamura, George. Photo album, Hawaii scenes including Honolulu Harbor, Aloha Tower, Pier 7, Downtown-Fort Street, Federal Building, Iolani Palace, Pineapple fields. Includes some hand colored photographs. Album originally sent to Imamura's penpal.
  • 8. NC-FAC/STAFF/ADM- Allen, Charlotte. Photo album kept by Charlotte Allen, typing teacher. Iolani, Waikiki and other Hawaii scenes. Includes photos of Nuuanu cemetary, Iolani choir, typing class, Oahu Railway, and various beaches. Also includes images of theater/backstage as well as Aloha Week.

 

Box 2a

  • 1. FAC/STAFF/ADM- Scrapbook, Father Halter Reunion, 1991. Photo reproductions of events from 1945-1991. Includes a letter from Charles Halter about the Reunion. Included in the album, a brochure from event, coaching record, photos from his time at Iolani; football, baseball and basketball team photos. Also includes pages from the event guest list. List includes alumni from the 1932 through the 1970s.
  • 2. FAC/STAFF/ADM- Scrapbook, by Father Halter Scholarship Committee. Newspaper clippings on baseball and basketball, 1962-1991.
  • 3. PERFORMING ARTS-CHOIR- Lee, Helen Noh. Scrapbook, by Helen Noh Lee, Choir Director. Photos, letters, programs etc. Includes programs for concerts, letters, choir ratings, check stubs and bills. It also includes passenger list for Kauai trip from Aloha Airlines in 1966 as well as photos of students on this trip. There are letters and articles about fundraising efforts for travels to outer islands.

 

Box 2b

  • 1. CLASS of 1960. Scrapbook "Iolani class of '60". Articles photocopied from Imua Iolani, 1958-1960.
  • 2. ATHLETICS- Swimming-Waterpolo. Scrapbook, "Swimming and Waterpolo". Newspaper clippings,1969-1970. Includes 1968 Men's Olympic Swimming Trials program.
  • 3. ATHLETICS-Swimming-Waterpolo. Scrapbook, "Iolani Swimming Team, "Waterpolo". Clippings, photos and programs, 1965-1968. 1968 Olympic Waterpolo Trials entries sheet and US Olympic swimming trials tickets for preliminaries and finals.

 

Box 3

  • CLASS of 2001. Scrapbook of class of 2001. Includes Junior class cloth banner with painted red dragon with students' names and envelopes of loose photos. Photo album includes photos of various activities including, Homecoming, Spring Thing, Halloween, Sophomore Banquet, Class Day, Community Service, Junior Prom. Also various photos of student activities and Molokai class trip; ribbon from Molokai trip; Senior prom programs; Hawaii's Junior Miss Scholarship Program pages.

 

Box 4

  • 1. St.ACG-FAC/STAFF/ADM. Scrapbook, by Lyndon W. Clifford, 1925-1926. Photographs, newspaper clippings, programs, and postcards of Iolani and Hawaii people, scenes and events. Many are identified. Includes photo of headmaster, faculty and students, including football team and glee club. It contains a copy of the 1926 InLook (school newspaper). Also includes commencement program, "Iolani Ka Moi" by May L. Restarick and a blue and gray felt letter "I". Also includes photo of Iolani faculty from 1925-26, tapa-covered dance card with tiny attached pencil, Matson passenger ID and souvenir passenger list, hand colored photographs, theater tickets, dinner place tags.
  • 2. St.ACG-FAC/STAFF/ADM. Booklet of Lyndon W. Clifford, "A Traveler's Diary to Paradise," 1923. [not a scrapbook, travel book]
  • 3. St.ACG-FAC/STAFF/ADM- Jessett,Thomas E.- Manuscript journal (1921-1922) photocopy, and autobiography, "From Boy Corporal to Cathedral Canon: an Autobiography 1902-1981". Chapter 7 Honolulu, 1921-1923. He discusses his class makeup (being adults primarily), Iolani's enrollment numbers (247) as well as prohibition era Hawaii.
  • 4. NC-CLASS OF 1949- Dang, Richard. Scrapbook of newspaper clippings, photograph. Articles by Richard Dang, special to the Honolulu Advertiser, 1948-1949. Articles relate to Iolani School.
  • 5. Scrapbook, "Hawaiiana", 1945-46. Photographs, newspaper clippings, postcards, school programs, correspondence with parents, and various publications. Subjects include Iolani and Hawaii people, scenes, and events. Includes photographs of Nuuanu campus buildings including the chapel, Staley and Willis Halls. It includes a Matson wartime passenger notice, navel transport document and abandon ship drill document.

 

Box 5

  • 1. CLASS of 2000- Scrapbook. "Class Historian Photo Scrapbook: Senior Year 2000". Photographs and newspaper clippings of students and events, including Homecoming, Senior Camp, and graduation.
  • 2. CLASS of 2006. Scrapbook of Class of 2006, "8th Grade memories, 2001-2002". Photographs.
  • 3. CLASS of 2009. Scrapbook of Class of 2009 Sons and Daughters from kindergarten school year 1996-1997. Photographs of students, faculty and staff, many are identified. Also includes student drawings and current event newspaper articles. Includes photo of Comet Hale-Bopp taken on Maui, March 28th 1997.

 

Box 6

  • Internal/pamphlet file -scrapbook- Uncertain provenance- similar characteristics to librarian created, newspaper clipping scrapbooks, so likely created by librarians as well. It also appears as if the photos are all copies produced from negatives in the archive. Photo album of Iolani people and events. Some photos identified. There are notes on location of copy prints and copy negatives throughout. Contains photographs and newspaper articles. Includes images of Ala Wai campus and the military structures that were there, including, the Quonset huts.

 

. . .

Detailed finding aid with inventory available at the 'Iolani School Archives.

 

World War I in ’Iolani School Archives

 

Overview

World War I, or the Great War, lasted from 1914 to 1918. Among other notable events, it is known for advancement in military technology and unprecedented loss. After initially remaining neutral, the United States fought as part of the Allied Powers beginning in 1917. Those enlisted in military service included a number of ’Iolani School faculty and students.

 

Collections

  • Scrapbooks Collection
    Adding to the richness of archival holdings are scrapbooks created by faculty members during their tenure at ’Iolani School. Two scrapbooks capture life in 1917 to 1918 through photographs and narrative. "... You see we were at war with Germany and so needed very much sugar. Most of the men having gone to fight we decided to take their place, so we joined the U.S. Boy's Working Reserve..." (Rogers scrapbook, August 1917- October 1918).
  • Father Bray Collection
    The Bray Collection includes four, 8 in. by 23 in. frames with sketches and remarks created by Fr. Bray of his observations during his time in France as a member of the American Expeditionary Forces, circa 1917 to 1918, prior to his term of employment with ’Iolani School.

 

Other resources in the ’Iolani School Archives

  • Villers, Ernest G. A History of Iolani School. June 1940.
    Faculty member Mr. Villers wrote a history of the beginnings of ’Iolani School as a master's thesis. Life at the school from 1913 to 1920 is covered in "Chapter V: Iolani Under American Direction" on pages 96 - 108 including a list of students and teachers involved in military service.

 

Related Online Collections

  • Hawaiian Church Chronicle
    Digitized through eVols at UH Manoa. See Episcopal life in issues published during the war years including reports about church schools; a position piece on the war in the August 1914 edition; and comments about the Allied victory in the November 1918 edition.
  • Hawai’i State Archives, Digital Collections, Photograph Collection
    Type the call number in the left search box for partial holdings of photographs for:
    PARADES: Armistice Day (call no. PP-62-12)
    PARADES: Liberty Day, 1918, Liberty/Victory Loan (call no. PP-64-3)
  • "World War I," DocsTeach
    Primary sources by topic and teaching activities.

 

Related Archival Collections Beyond ’Iolani

 

. . .

Guide compiled by Georgina Tom, Archivist, August 2017.

 

World War II in ’Iolani School Archives

 

Overview
Like many institutions, ’Iolani School was heavily effected by the December 7, 1941 Japanese surprise attack on Pearl Harbor and the subsequent United States entry into the Second World War. The school, then located at Nu’uanu Avenue and Judd Street, was closed, military nurses took over space on campus, trenches were dug around the school, and parts of the campus were transformed into air raid shelters. In February 1942 when the school reopened it was without the high school department and about half the staff. Many of the staff and older students devoted themselves to the war effort or in support of their families. The rest of the high school students had to find other schools in which to finish their education; only a group of seniors remained to be tutored by a faculty member and earn their diplomas. They had no formal ceremony, nor were there any more graduations for the duration of the war. The Fall Semester of 1942 saw the addition of ninth grade, and one grade each year thereafter until the high school department was restored. The following are resources found in the ’Iolani School Archives related to life in the school during the WWII era.

 

Collections

  • Imua ’Iolani
    The student newspaper is an important record of the student voice and information about daily life in the school. Related articles range from 1940 through 1945 and 1952 through 1969. The Archives holds one edition for the 1941/42 school year, the year of the attack on Pearl Harbor, the October 17, 1941 edition. An article title example from 1942 is, "Do You Know Your Air Raid and Gas Alarm Instructions?"
  • Ka Moolelo O ’Iolani
    The school annual (yearbook) is a summary of each school year through the voice of the students themselves. Effects of war abroad can be seen in the 1939 edition with the addition of faculty position "Acting Headmaster" and in articles in the 1940 through 1947 editions. Nearly every page of the 1942 edition, the annual pertaining to the school year during which occurred the attack on Pearl Harbor, contains narratives, photos, and art work related to war effects. According to archival sources, permission was granted from the military Governor for the publication of this annual.
  • Scrapbooks Collection
    Adding to the richness of archival holdings are scrapbooks created by faculty members during their tenure at ’Iolani School. One scrapbook kept from 1937 to 1950 includes a photograph of a faculty member at a desk wearing a gas mask; this image was used in the 1942 Ka Moolelo O ’Iolani. Another kept from 1945 to 1946 includes a Matson wartime passenger notice.
  • Father Bray Collection
    A World War I veteran, Father Kenneth A. Bray, director of Athletics, also lent his clerical services locally during World War II. The archival holdings include Bray's military identification tag (dog tag), two portraits in uniform, circa 1941 to 1945, and his commemorative address given at Pearl Harbor on December 6, 1942.
  • ’Iolani School Bulletin
    Started in 1960, the magazine publishes news, accomplishments, and other stories about the school some of which have touched upon the topic of World War II. Of note is, "A Long-Awaited Graduation," the story of a special ceremony held in 1986 for those alumni whose education was interrupted by the war.

 

Other resources in the ’Iolani School Archives

  • Faculty/Staff/Administration Lists
    These staff lists show the profound effect of the attack on Pearl Harbor and efforts to recover during the following years. Relevant lists are school year 1941/42 through 1945/46; including a split list for "1941-42 (September to December 11, 1941)" and "1941-42 (January to June)."
  • Villers, Ernest G. A History of Iolani School, Section II: March 1940 to June 1959
    Faculty member Mr. Villers wrote a history of the beginnings of ’Iolani School as a master's thesis and, upon returning to the faculty after an absence, was asked by the Headmaster to continue his work. The result is a volume containing five relevant chapters, three through seven, covering the time period of 1941 through 1946.
  • Blueprint. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. War Emergency Construction, Hawaiian Department.
    Blueprint depicting the Ala Wai Campus grounds as it was utilized by the military during World War II, while leasing from ’Iolani School.

 

Related Online Collections

 

Related Archival Collections Beyond ’Iolani

 

 

. . .

Guide compiled by Georgina Tom, Archivist, July 2017.

 

Artifacts Collection

Finding Aid

 

Introductory Information

Dates: 1925-2015
Extent: 43.5 linear feet, 285 items
Creators: The materials in this collection were generated by various offices within ’Iolani School, as well as, student groups, alumni, faculty and staff.

 

Administrative/Biographical History

Repository Information:
’Iolani School Archives, ’Iolani School, Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership

Provenance:
Provenance information varies. Immediate sources of acquisition include, transfer by creating office/department, faculty/staff, or donation by alumni. See Scope and Content note and Series descriptions for any details available. Further accruals are expected.

 

Access and Use:

Access:
The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile. Duplicates such as photocopies, typescripts, or digital surrogates may be supplied in place of original materials.

Copyright:
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Languages & scripts:
Collection includes English and Chinese.

Disclaimer:
The ’Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

 

Notes (Colophon)

Preliminary processing details are unknown. We decided to leave the collection primarily as it was- a collection of artifacts- as we do not have enough information on provenance to reconstruct the original collections. Physical arrangement was changed to comply with the intellectual arrangement, grouping items of a series together. There is no information on why the collection was arranged the way it was, by format, rather than by donor. Final arrangement was completed by Archives Assistant Valancy Rasmussen, January 2017.

 

Preferred Citation

’Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai’i.

 

Description Control

Finding Aid was compiled by Valancy Rasmussen, February 2017. Description based on DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard).

 

Scope and Content

The collection contains material from a variety of donors through time. There is a range of items that are primarily relating to ’Iolani School history. There are also some items that were donated by alumni that are unrelated to the school. See box lists for the most detailed information on each item.

 

Arrangement

The Collection is arranged into 20 series determined by subject or originating office of the material.

 

Series

Alumni Association
This series includes materials that originate with the ’Iolani Alumni Association.

Anniversaries:
This series contains a single item, a button commemorating ’Iolani School's 125th anniversary.

Artwork:
This series contains two scrolls of Chinese calligraphy. There is little provenance information regarding them. There is also a drawing of former faculty member Charles Halter.

Athletics:
This series is comprised of ’Iolani sports related memorabilia. It contains the sub-series, Baseball, Basketball, Boxing, Football, Miscellaneous, Swimming, and Volleyball.

Awards--Academic:
Series for academic awards

Bookstore:
This series contains materials that originated from the ’Iolani bookstore. It includes items such as, choir uniforms, book covers, decals, pens, neckties, and cloth patches. Most of the items contain the ’Iolani School name and some also contain images of the school seal.

Class of:
This series contains items from various classes from 1925 through 2012. It includes items such as class rings, event tickets, t-shirts, and buttons. It includes several time capsules from kindergarten classes. It also includes a non-Iolani item, a medallion from NASA.

Development:
Materials from ’Iolani Development.

Episcopal Church:
This series contains material relating to/ originating from the Episcopal Church.

Fac/Staff/Adm:
This series contains general faculty and staff materials as well as sub-series for individual faculty members: Charles Halter, Edward Hamada, Harold Keables, Charles Riggin, Peter Armstrong and Reverie Suzuki.

Fair:
This series contains material relating to Iolani's Fair. Some items refer to the earlier names for the fair; it was originally called Carnival and later the Family Fair. It includes items such as scrip, ribbons, and pins.

Food Services:
This series contains items originating with cafeteria services. It includes meal tickets.

Heraldry:
This series includes items containing the ’Iolani School seal, such as printing die and a wrist watch.

Institutional Advancement:
These materials originated with the Institutional Advancement office. This series includes items such as, bookmarks, decals, letter openers, and a coffee mug. Most items contain the ’Iolani School seal.

Keables Chair:
Material related to the Keables' Chair.

Library:
Materials originating from the library.

Lower School--Language Arts:
Lower School material.

Performing Arts:
This series contains material relating to performing arts, it includes the sub-series of Bands, and ’Iolani Dramatic Players. Items include band uniforms, buttons and a Native American headdress.

Publications:
This series contains material from ’Iolani School's publications. The sub-series are Ka Moolelo O Iolani (yearbook) and Imua Iolani (newspaper). It includes printing dies.

Student Activities:
This series contains material relating to various school activities. The subseries are Homecoming and Student Clubs & Organizations. It includes items such as ribbons, buttons, and trophies.

 

Related Materials

There are artifacts not part of this collection as they are part of special collections. These are: Father Kenneth Bray and Sun Yat-sen Collections.

 

. . .

Detailed finding aid with inventory available at the 'Iolani School Archives.

 

Oral History Project Collection

Finding Aid

 

 

Introductory Information

Dates: 1980-1996
Extent: 5 linear inches and 39 oral histories on cassette tapes (26 CD copies).
Creators: Cecilia Fordham's class, May Tamura as well as other faculty, staff and students.

 

Administrative/Biographical History

Repository Information:
'Iolani School Archives, 'Iolani School, Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership

Provenance:
This collection was among the founding collections of the ῾Iolani School Archives, as it was in the process of becoming a separate entity from the library.

 

Access and Use:

Access:
The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile. Duplicates such as photocopies, typescripts, or digital surrogates may be supplied in place of original materials.

Copyright:
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Languages & scripts:
Collection is in English.

Disclaimer:
The ’Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

 

Notes (Colophon)

This collection had been separated physically by format without notations regarding relationship. The relationship was discovered by archives staff in August 2017 while conducting research for the description of another collection. Therefore, it was reconstituted as a whole- the documents along with the sound recordings. The documents were left, primarily, as they were; they are arranged in folders by subject. The sound recordings have been placed in their boxes alphabetically by last name.

 

Preferred Citation

’Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai’i.

 

Description Control

Finding Aid was compiled by Valancy Rasmussen, September 2017.
Description based on DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard).

 

Scope and Content

This collection contains sound recordings (oral histories) and the accompanying documentation. It contains material generated by Cecilia Fordham's class, initially, and subsequently by other classes including Susan Igawa's class. It was a joint project between library/archives staff and the classes. The documentation includes correspondence, primarily between, librarian May Tamura and alumni or former staff, relating to the oral history project. It also includes forms, releases, photographs, questionnaires and transcripts.

 

Arrangement

This collection has not been subdivided into series.

 

Box Lists

Box 1

  • 1. Iolani School Oral History Project Transcripts. Transcripts of some of the oral history project tapes, 1980−1986.
  • 2. Oral History Questionnaires. Questionnaires and thank you letters from May Tamura. Oral history questionnaires from alumni, ca 1988.
  • 3. Oral History- Fordham's Class. Course related documents, interview schedule and paperwork. Also includes photographs of interviewers and interviewees.
  • 4. Oral History- Correspondence. Correspondence with alumni or former Iolani faculty and David Coon or May Tamura. Thank you letters and other correspondence. Includes questions for oral histories and some photographs. Also includes some alumni lists.
  • 5. Oral History Forms. Copies of letters sent to participants prior to the interviews (for Fordham's Class). Includes interview questions, and examples of various forms.
  • 6. Oral History- Release Forms (Completed). Release forms signed by those interviewed for the Oral History Project. Forms give names of participants.
  • 7. Oral History-Igawa's Class. The Asian American Experience- research requirements for Igawa's class. Topic areas and group assignments. Class papers, oral history questions and notes (Igawa).
  • 8. Oral History Recorder. Oral History Recorders from 1991-1996. Oral History Recorder is the newsletter of the Center for Oral History at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa. Also includes two books on conducting oral histories and an article from the Honolulu Advertiser regarding the UH Center for Oral History.

 

Box 2- (cassette tapes)

  • 1. Broad, Roscoe- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, August 19, 1986.
  • 2. Chang, Harry- Oral history. Interviewed by Susan Muck and Lori Kaizawa, April 9, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 3. Ching, Kenneth- Oral history. Interviewed by Sharise Tanaka and Owen Umeda, April 16, 1984.
  • 4. Ching, Yi-Chuaw- Oral history. Interviewed by Lynda Towata and Donna Wong, March 10, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 5. Chong, Roy- Oral history. Interviewed by Beverly Pai and Darrien Thornley, March 11, 1980.
  • 6. Clifford, Lyndon- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, August 29, 1990. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 7. Conklin, Lloyd- Oral history. Interviewed by Arthur Ward, December 7, 1984.
  • 8. Coon, David P.- Oral history. Interviewed by Kimberly Morihara, January 31, 1989. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 9. Eng, Bill- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, August 10, 1989.
  • 10. Finlayson, Frank- Oral history. Interviewed by Daniela LeBlanc and Dawn Nishida, March 21, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 11. Furumoto, Augustine- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, July 28, 1986.
  • 12. Halter, Charles- Oral history. Interviewed by Ragan Suzuki and Thanh Nguyen, March 13, 1980. (CD copy in box 4; transcript in box 1, folder 1.)
  • 13. Halter, Charles- Oral history. Interviewed by Beverly Lee, February 26, 1992.
  • 14. Hedani, Takao- Oral history. Interviewed by Jody Ikeda and Kary Otsumi, April 11, 1984.
  • 15. Hirashiki, Paul K.- Oral history. Interviewed by Trisha Shimabuku and Denise Miyasaki,   March 10, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 16. Ho, Harry- Oral history. Interviewed by Reiko Ho and Cynthia Wall, April 17, 1984.
  • 17. Ing, Clarence- Oral history. Interviewed by David P. Coon and May Tamura, July 23, 1981. (CD copy in box 4; transcript in box 1, folder 1)
  • 18. Kennedy, Harry S.- Oral history. Interviewed by Jon-Aden Yamashita and Kenn Takara, March 10, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 19. Lau, Bing Fai- Oral history. Interviewed by Reid Ogata and Steven Morihara, March 11, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 20. Lau, Bing Fai- Oral history. Interviewed by Meri Morisuda and Hiram Simona, March 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 21. Lau, Bing Fai- Oral history. Interviewed by Valerie Haas, November 10, 1981. (CD copy in box 4; transcript in box 1, folder 1.)
  • 22. Morgan, Andrew- Oral history. Interviewed by Arthur Ward, November 4, 1982. (CD copy in box 4; transcript in box 1, folder 1.)
  • 23. Nakamine, Shinsuke- Oral history. Interviewed by Verna Schubert and Kristin Meyer, March 20, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 24. Nakamura, James- Oral history. Interviewed by Stefanie Tompkins and Frances Zepeda, March 31, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 25. Nielsen, James W.- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, June 8, 1987.

 

Box 3- (cassette tapes)

  • 1. Ome, Moses- Oral history. Interviewed by Darren Yamabe, Nolan Takakawa and Prabhas Uphadyaya, March 15, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 2. Otani, Andrew- Oral history. Interviewed by Charles Halter, April 1980. (2 CD copies in box 4.)
  • 3. Otani, Andrew- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, February 7, 1985. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 4. Perkins, Kenneth D.- Oral history. Interviewed by Rodney Maai and Derrick Oyama, March 19, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 5. Riggin, Juanita- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, March 8, 1989. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 6. Shimabuku, Seisho- Oral history. Interviewed by Arthur Ward, August 25, 1986. (Transcript in box 1, folder 1.)
  • 7. Stevens, Samuel- Oral history. Interviewed by Dean Yonamine and Darren Ueki, March   11, 1980.
  • 8. Taylor, Wray- Oral history. Interviewed by Arthur Ward, October 3, 1984.
  • 9. Trevenen, Glennon- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, July 21, 1986.
  • 10. Walsh, Edward J.- Oral history. Interviewed by May Tamura, June 10, 1987.
  • 11. Whittier, Whittemore- Oral history. Interviewed by Greg Ocasek and Ken Niumatalolo, March 7, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 12. Winnie, Edna- Oral history. Interviewed by Kelly Swartman and Lisa Matsumoto, March 11, 1980. (CD copy in box 4.)
  • 13. Woolaway, Arthur- Oral history. Interviewed by Arthur Ward, November 22, 1982. (CD copy in box 4; transcript in box 1, folder 1.)
  • 14. Young, George- Oral history. Interviewed by Cheryl Izuka and Michelle Amodo, March   16, 1984.

 

Box 4- (CDs)

Box 4 contains compact disc (CD) copies of some of the cassette tapes listed above (boxes 2 & 3). See lists of oral histories above to verify if a particular oral history has a CD copy of the cassette tape.

 

Related Material

For addition information on the project see- ῾Iolani School Bulletin, "Preserving Iolani's Past" by May Tamura in the Summer, 1980 (xx, no. 3) edition.

Other oral histories in the Archives are located in the following collections:

  • Father Bray Collection
  • The Ol' Man Collection
  • At Thy Call We Gather Collection
  • Oral History: Theory & Practice Course Collection [in development]

 

. . .

Detailed finding aid with inventory available at the 'Iolani School Archives.

 

Vietnam War in ’Iolani School Archives

 

 

 

Overview
The Vietnam War, 1954-1975, saw increased United States military involvement and civilian attention beginning in the early 1960s. Students at 'Iolani School participated in political discourse of the time, through which varying viewpoints were brought to light, and discussed the fragmented dynamic of the country.

 

Collections

  • Imua ’Iolani
    The student newspaper is an important record of the student voice and information about daily life in the school. Related articles range from 1965 through the 1970s.
  • Ka Moolelo O ’Iolani
    The school yearbook is a summary of each school year through the voice of the students themselves. School life during the Vietnam War years is related through photographs and text.
  • ’Iolani School Bulletin
    Started in 1960, the magazine publishes news, accomplishments, and other stories about the school. Related articles begin in 1961.

 

Other resources in the ’Iolani School Archives

  • Villers, Ernest G. A History of Iolani School, Section II: March 1940 to June 1959.
    Faculty member Mr. Villers wrote a history of the beginnings of ’Iolani School as a master's thesis and, upon returning to the faculty after an absence, was asked by the Headmaster to continue his work. Life at the school from 1954 to 1959 is covered in chapters 15 through 21.

 

Related Online Collections

 

Related Archival Collections Beyond ’Iolani

 

. . .

Guide compiled by Georgina Tom, Archivist, September 2017.


Father Bray Collection

Finding Aid

 

Introductory Information

Dates: 1904-2003
Extent: 7.5 linear feet consisting of: 2 record storage boxes; 2 document boxes; and, 9 other boxes of varying size.
Creators: The materials in this collection were donated by various people, including alumni. Many of the items were collected by the Upper School Library for a collection known as "Iolaniana" which existed prior to the establishment of the 'Iolani School Archives.

 

Administrative/Biographical History

Repository Information:
’Iolani School Archives, ’Iolani School, Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership

Provenance:
Provenance information varies greatly. See Scope and Content Note, and box lists for any details.

Biography:
Father Kenneth A. Bray was a coach and director of athletics at ῾Iolani School from 1932 to 1952. He was born in England on May 26, 1879 and died in Hawai'i on January 9, 1953. A World War I veteran as a member of the American Expeditionary Forces, Bray also lent his clerical services locally during World War II. He greatly expanded the athletics program at 'Iolani School. Under his direction the school won six IHL championships: Football- 1939, 1940, 1950; Basketball-1951; Baseball-1950, 1951. He is credited with instilling the "One Team" ethos of the school.

 

Access and Use:

Access:
The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile. Duplicates such as photocopies, typescripts, or digital surrogates may be supplied in place of original materials.

Copyright:
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Languages & scripts:
Collection is in English.

Disclaimer:
The ’Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

 

Notes (Colophon)

One box list and a list of books were created by previous archives staff, as well as, a brief draft for a finding aid. Additional arrangement and description leading to this finding aid and inventory created by Archives Assistant, Valancy Rasmussen, August 2017. The Documents series entitled Iolaniana has been left as it was, for the most part. The reasoning for the arrangement of these folders is unclear so it was decided that the order should remain as it was given to the archives by the library staff. Provenance for some material is unclear or not known.

 

Preferred Citation

’Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai’i.

 

Description Control

Finding Aid was compiled by Valancy Rasmussen, August 2017.
Description based on DACS (Describing Archives: A Content Standard).

 

Scope and Content

The collection contains material from a variety of donors through time for which there is little to no documentation. It contains material about, and created by Father Bray, as well as books and artifacts. The collection includes correspondence, artifacts, photographs, books, pamphlets, articles and audiovisual materials.

 

Arrangement

The collection is arranged into five series.

 

Series

Documents:
The Documents series contains two sub-series, which relate to the origin of the material as a collection, Letters to Players and Iolaniana.  Letters to Players is a collection of letters from Father Bray to his players. It also contains two notebooks, possibly kept by players. The Iolaniana Collection was kept by the library prior to the establishment of the 'Iolani School Archives. This material consists of pamphlets, flyers, and programs as well as magazine and newspaper articles. It contains information about his coaching at ’Iolani and the influence of his coaching on athletes and the school. This series also contains genealogical information, some of which was obtained after the establishment of the 'Iolani School Archives and added to existing folders by staff. Some items include, correspondence with Charles Howard (owner of Seabiscuit), a 1950 football program autographed by the team, records relating to Bray's previous positions, and a copy of the commemorative address delivered at Pearl Harbor, December 6th, 1942. It also includes Bray correspondence with former players as well as letters to some of these alumni from church officials relaying the news of his death.

 

Books:
This series primarily consists of books owned by Father Bray. It also includes two books about Seabiscuit, one inscribed with "The Football Team, Iolani School". Topics include basketball, football and coaching.

 

Artifacts:
This series includes various artifacts, including gifts and awards given to Bray, as well as, framed items. It includes the Seabiscuit horseshoe, sketches Bray made during World War I, and a dog tag from his service in World War II.  It also includes personal items, such as a silver cigarette holder and a shelf clock, that were given to him as gifts.

 

Audiovisual:
This series includes oral history interviews about Father Bray. It also includes various videos relating to Bray. It includes an oral history with former players recorded in 1972.

 

Photographs:
Photographs related to Bray, framed and unframed. It includes images of Bray with players, with boarders, and with coaching staff as well as Bray in his World War II military uniform.

 

Box Lists

Box 1- Documents

  • 1. Iolaniana-Articles from Iolani School publications. Contains Imua Iolani and Iolani School Bulletin articles. Includes letters to the editor, articles on Father Bray's retirement, death, and One-Team spirit, 1945-1989.
  • 2. Iolaniana-Tributes. Father Bray "Confidence" letter to players (copy), commemorative service programs, memorial service pamphlets, and newspaper articles, 1951-1995.
  • 3. Iolaniana-Newspaper clippings. Includes articles on Iolani champs, Bray's retirement,        death, biography, accolades, and his legacy, 1938-1972.
  • 4. Iolaniana-Miscellaneous sources. Correspondence from and regarding Bray. Includes Punchbowl Cemetery map with location of Father Bray's grave, "My Dear Kids" letters, commemorative address given at Pearl Harbor on Dec. 6, 1942. Also includes Episcopal Church correspondence that includes letters to alumni relaying news of Father Bray's death and genealogical information, 1946-1995.
  • 5. Iolaniana-Other collections [St. Andrew's Cathedral archives?]. Includes material originating with Father Perkins, clerical life details, information from Episcopal Church Annual (1954), and Bray's handwritten autobiography, 1904-1994.
  • 6. Iolaniana-St. Andrew's Priory yearbook. Photocopies of St. Andrew's Priory yearbooks of Father Bray's messages as Chaplain and dedications to him, 1943-1952.
  • 7. Iolaniana-Bray Letters to C.S. Howard. Correspondence from Bray to Charles Howard regarding the Seabiscuit horseshoe, 1940-1947. [Donated by Marita Bevin, great granddaughter of Howard]
  • 8. Iolaniana-Mrs. and Mr. Howard. Letter and Christmas card with photograph of Charles Howard with family taken at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel, and a photograph of a girl with a horse, 1939-1949.

     

  • 9a-9d. Letters to Players- Letters from Bray to Players. Letters are undated but are likely from the 1940-1941 school year. Many of the letters begin with, "My dear kids". Letters show characteristics of being made with a Spirit Duplicator, more commonly known as a Ditto Machine.

 

Box 2- Photographs

  • 1. Bray sitting with team [back view]. Framed photograph of Bray with 1939 league football team champions. 11 1/4 x 7, b&w.
  • 2. Bray with team. Framed photograph of Bray with 1939 football team champions. 11 1/4 x 7, b&w.
  • 3. Seabiscuit Memorial photograph. Framed photograph of Seabiscuit memorial statue that includes birth and death years, 1933-1947.

     

  • 4. Bray in military uniform with Garrison Cap. Framed photograph of Bray in military uniform [World War II], wooden frame with glass. 10 3/4 x 14, ca 1941. [Donated by Mun Kin Wong]
  • 5. Bray in military uniform with peaked/Service Cap. Framed photograph of Bray in military uniform [World War II], wooden frame with glass. 11 1/4 x 12 3/4, b&w, circa 1941. [Transfer from Athletic Office.]
  • 6. Football game scene. Framed photograph taken at a game. It is dedicated, "To Father Bray- Braymen in action... terrific blocking from: Iolani Alumni Ass'n".

 

Box 3

  • 1. Photographs-Bray on bus with team. Framed photograph of team en route to football banquet. There is an unframed copy of this image included in this box, 1950-1951.
  • 2. Photographs-Kayak II's Horseshoe. Mounted photograph of horseshoe worn by Kayak II during the Santa Anita Handicap 1939. 12 x 15.
  • 3. Photographs-Bray with football, basketball, and baseball players. Photograph of Bray with captains of football, basketball, and baseball championship teams, 1950-1951.
  • 4. Photographs-Coaching staff. [Photograph appeared in 1941 Ka Moolelo O Iolani, p. 91.]
  • 5. Photographs-Bray and John Lee kneeling. Bray and Lee kneeling on football field. [Photograph appeared in Ka Moolelo O Iolani in 1947.]
  • 6. Photographs-Bray with boarders. Bray with group of boarders, 1941-1942.
  • 7. Photographs-Bray with cigar. Photograph mounted on cardboard. Honolulu Star-Bulletin photograph.

 

Box 4 & 5- Artifacts

  • 1, 2. Sketches-WWI. Framed sketches by Bray made during WWI while he served with the American Expeditionary Forces; subjects include French life, refugees. [Donated by Andrew Morgan, class of 1938.]

 

Box 6- Artifacts

  • 1. Silver Loving cup. Silver cup presented to Bray by Bronx Church House.
  • 2. Cigarette holder. Silver cigarette holder given to Bray by the St. Stephen's football team he coached in New York, 1924.
  • 3. Hall of Fame medal. Bronze Hall of Fame medal, "1953 Father Kenneth Bray Contributor" engraved on back, 1999.
  • 4. Annual Bray Memorial Football Game ticket. 45th Annual Father Bray Memorial Football Classic game ticket, August 16, 2008.

 

Box 7- Artifacts

  • Seabiscuit horseshoe. Horseshoe given to Bray by Charles Howard. Inscription on horseshoe, "Worn By Seabiscuit Defeating War Admiral Pimlico Special - November 1, 1938 1 3/16 M. Time 1.56 3/5 New Track Record".

 

Box 8- Artifacts

  • 1. Bronze humidor. Bronze humidor engraved, "Happy Birthday to Father Kenneth A. Bray from the Football Team and Managers of 1946".
  • 2. Shelf clock. Shelf clock engraved, "To our beloved coach and friend Father Bray from the '48 football team".

 

Box 9- Artifacts

  • State House Resolution honoring Bray. Framed State of Hawaii House of Representatives Resolution honoring Father Bray.

 

Box 10- Books

  • My Basketball Bible.
    Forest C. Allen. My Basketball Bible. Lawrence, Kansas: University of Kansas, 1924.
  • A Manual of Football for High Schools.
    Charles W. Bachman. Title page missing.
  • Seabiscuit: The Saga of a Great Champion.
    B. K. Beckwith. Seabiscuit: The Saga of a Great Champion. [N.P.]: Wilfred Crowell, 1940.
    Inscribed on cover "The Football Team, Iolani School, Honolulu, T. H." Limited edition 152 of 300. Signed by Charles Howard.)
  • Championship Football.
    Dana X. Bible. Championship Football. New York: Prentice Hall, 1947.
    Inscription, "[unclear name] from Fr. B".
  • The Forward Pass: And Its Defense.
    Charles E. "Gus" Dorais. The Forward Pass: And Its Defense. Chicago: Athletic Book Co., n.d.
    Signed by Bray, with some marginal notation/diagrams.
  • Football.
    Glenn W. Killinger. Football. New York: A.S. Barnes, 1939.
    Signed by Bray with marginal notation/diagrams.
  • Lectures Given at Coaching Schools.
    Compiled by Otis Coffey, 1950.
  • The Science of Basketball for Men.
    Walter E. Meanwell. The Science of Basketball for Men.
    Madison, Wisconsin: Democrat Printing Co., 1924.
  • Winning Basketball.
    Ray Welsh. Winning Basketball. Minneapolis: Burgess Publishing, 1948.
  • Football: How to Play It and How to Understand It.
    J. W. Wilce. Football: How to Play It and How to Understand It. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1923.
  • Come on Seabiscuit.
    Ralph Moody. Come on Seabiscuit. Cambridge: The Riverside Press, 1963.
    This book was withdrawn from library, no actual relationship to Bray's material is known.

 

Box 11- Audiovisual

  • Oral History Interviews About Father Bray. Oral History Interviews About Fr. Bray with Benjamin Almadova, Frank Kahoohanohano, and Wallace Ho, August 4, 1972. Tapes 1 & 2, 2 copies of each- cassettes and CD -2 copies.
  • First Father Bray Get Together. First Father Bray Get Together- held at King's Garden Restaurant, August 4, 1972. Tapes 1 & 2, 2 copies of each- cassettes and CD -2 copies.
  • Father Bray 40th Year Commemorative Service. Father Bray 40th Year Commemorative Service, held at National Cemetery of the Pacific, January 9, 1993. Boosters Club reception held at the Iolani School Student Center. 1 VHS tape.
  • Father Bray 50th Commemorative Panel. Father Bray 50th Commemorative Panel, September 8, 2003. 1 VHS tape.
  • Ray Wong Speaks to Second Graders. Mr. Ray Wong Speaks to Second Graders [about Father Bray] January 13, 2011, 1 DVD.
  • Peter Blundell's School. Peter Blundell's School. Tiverton, U. K., Elan Productions, 1995. 2 copies, PAL format and VHS.

 

Box 12- Artifacts

  • 1. Artifacts-Hall of Fame proclamation. Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame Inductees Proclamation by Governor Benjamin J. Cayetano, February 9, 1999.
  • 2. Artifacts-Hall of Fame inductee certificate. Hawaii State House of Representatives Inductee Certificate to Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame, 1999.
  • 3. Artifacts-Hall of Fame inductee certificate. Hawaii State Senate Hall of Fame induction certificate, February 9, 1999.
  • 4. Artifacts-Drawing of Father Bray. Drawing of Bray by Donald Yatori for the 'Iolani School Bulletin, Fall 1992 cover.
  • 5. Artifacts-Clean Sweep drawing. Drawing by Bray, 1950.
  • 6. Artifacts-Bray's WWII dog tag. Framed identification tag (dog tag) presented to Coach Edward Hamada from Damien Memorial High School's Coach Al Torco in 1982. The tag lists next of kin as, "Samuel Littell, St. Andrew's Cathedral, Honolulu, T.H."

 

Related Material

  • Photograph Collection- Nuuanu Campus- Faculty/Staff/Adm-Bray, Kenneth A.
  • Oral History: Theory & Practice Course Collection.
  • Oral History Interviews about Father Bray in The Ol' Man Collection.
  • Don Johnson and Ronald Oba. The Ol' Man: Father Kenneth A. Bray. Iolani Raiders Boosters Club, 1994.
  • See also Imua 'Iolani and 'Iolani School Bulletin. In addition, there are other athletic artifacts from the time period of Bray's tenure at 'Iolani School.
  • "Called By Death." Hawaiian Church Chronicle 43, no. 1 (January 1953): 6. http://hdl.handle.net/10524/47687.

 

. . .

Detailed finding aid with inventory available at the 'Iolani School Archives.

Loading ...

'Iolani School Bulletin

Available through the 'Iolani School website:

Older editions of the Bulletin, beginning in 1960, are available in the 'Iolani School Archives.

Information Requests

Please allow two weeks for information requests.

Disclaimer

The 'Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours on the Welcome tab of this guide.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with libel, privacy, and copyright laws.