Skip to main content

Archives: Oral History Course Collection

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

Oral History: Theory and Practice Course Collection

The Oral History: Theory and Practice course was first offered in Fall 2016. It is a semester long class dedicated to an overall topic in which students explore and develop underlying themes. Students act as scholars while researching the designated topic using the 'Iolani School Archives and other sources. Students also act as historians and content creators in developing valuable final outputs which are transferred to the Archives at the conclusion of the course.

The 'Iolani School Archives also contains oral histories not related to this course.

Disclaimer
Opinions expressed during interviews are not the opinions of the ’Iolani School and may contain viewpoints and/or manners of speech which are no longer deemed appropriate in today's society. Such elements are included in an effort to preserve the history and context of the subject matter.

Fall 2016: Bray

Fall Semester 2016

Topic:
Rev. Kenneth A. Bray
'Iolani tenure, 1932-1952

Outputs:
(a) Oral history interview video recordings;
(b) Transcripts; and
(c) Thematic film short.

Enjoy the thematic film short and interview clips here. Complete interviews available by contacting the 'Iolani School Archives.

Frank Kahoohanohano, class of 1951 - Interview Clip - Fall 2016: Bray

Clip: 00:00:37

Tommy Lau, class of 1949 - Interview Clip - Fall 2016: Bray

Clip: 00:00:26

Walter Nobuhara, class of 1951 - Interview Clip - Fall 2016: Bray

Clip: 00:00:18

Fall 2017: WWII 'Iolani

Fall Semester 2017

Topic:
'Iolani During the WWII Era

Outputs:
(a) Oral history interview video recordings;
(b) Transcripts; and
(c) Thematic film short.

 

***Forthcoming***

Fighting Spirit - The Legacy of Father Kenneth A. Bray - - Fall 2016: Bray

Video: 00:10:05

Harry Takane, class of 1950 - Interview Clip - Fall 2016: Bray

Clip: 00:00:32

Merv Lopes, class of 1951 - Interview Clip - Fall 2016: Bray

Clip: 00:00:17

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours on the Welcome tab of this guide.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with libel, privacy, and copyright laws.