Skip to main content

Archives: Policies

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

Researchers Are Partners In Stewardship!

Thank you for your interest in our collections!


In order to best serve its guests, the Archives asks prospective researchers to contact staff in advance, giving full information about the subject, scope, and purpose of the research being undertaken. Access to the archives is subject to whatever restrictions have been placed on materials by donors or depositors, or by the Archives for preservation, processing, or other essential purposes, and the operating hours.

You are our partners in stewardship. We ask your cooperation in adhering to the following guidelines and policies designed to ensure the longevity of archival materials.

Collection Management Policy

Reading Room Guidelines

 

All the best during your research explorations.

Duplication & Publication Exerpt

The following is an exerpt from the Collection Management Policy. Please read the policy in its entirety for more information.


The ’Iolani School Archives is responsible for safeguarding and preserving collections for both their physical and intellectual posterity. In order to ensure this, as well as provide a balance between the needs of patrons and the rights of the copyright holder, all requests for duplication will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Reproduction may be subject to a fee based on cost of materials. Fee information will be made available to the patron prior to ordering.

The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse duplication if, in its judgment, said duplication would involve a violation of law.

Requests for copies of large amounts of materials are discouraged, and may not be permitted under copyright law. Patrons with extensive requests for research purposes are strongly encouraged to study in the ’Iolani School Archives' Reading Room.

The Archivist will provide photocopies or digital scans of materials which are structurally suited to this process, i.e., strong enough to withstand the rigors of duplication. Methods of duplication may be limited if determined necessary to protect the originals from damage.

Personal photographs may be taken in the Reading Room upon approval and supervision of the Archivist or Archives staff. Due to issues of preservation, no additional lighting or flash may be used. No unauthorized copies or publication should result from personal photography.

Duplication of multimedia materials will be handled by the ‘Iolani School Audiovisual Department, except under special circumstances. Please allow at least two week for duplication of multimedia materials.

Requests for permission to publish need to be submitted in writing. The Archives will permit publication of its materials for scholarly or educational purposes, subject to reasonable conditions, including those related to copyright law, intellectual property restrictions and donor restrictions. In addition, the ’Iolani School Archives must be credited in use.

The Archives does not hold copyright on all materials in its collections. Users are responsible for obtaining permission to publish from any other copyright holders. The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with libel, privacy and copyright laws.

THE GUEST WILL DEFEND, INDEMNIFY, AND HOLD HARMLESS THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL ARCHIVES, AND THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL, ITS OFFICERS, EMPLOYEES, AND AGENTS AGAINST ALL CLAIMS, DEMANDS, COSTS, AND EXPENSES INCLUDING ATTORNEY'S FEES INCURRED BY COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT OR ANY OTHER LEGAL OR REGULATORY CAUSE OF ACTION ARISING FROM THE USE OF THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL ARCHIVES.

The 'Iolani School Archives requires that a gratis copy of any publication (in any medium) that is based on its materials be given to the ’Iolani School Archives for its collections.

Disclaimer

The 'Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

1920s Felt Letter

Copyright Information

The following is an exerpt from the Collection Management Policy. Please read the policy in its entirety for more information.


The Archives does not hold copyright on all materials in its collections. Users are responsible for obtaining permission to publish from any other copyright holders. The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with libel, privacy and copyright laws.

THE GUEST WILL DEFEND, INDEMNIFY, AND HOLD HARMLESS THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL ARCHIVES, AND THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL, ITS OFFICERS, EMPLOYEES, AND AGENTS AGAINST ALL CLAIMS, DEMANDS, COSTS, AND EXPENSES INCLUDING ATTORNEY'S FEES INCURRED BY COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT OR ANY OTHER LEGAL OR REGULATORY CAUSE OF ACTION ARISING FROM THE USE OF THE ‘IOLANI SCHOOL ARCHIVES.

Loan Exerpt

The following is an exerpt from the Collection Management Policy. Please read the policy in its entirety for more information.


This loan policy has been established to ensure the safety and security of the objects in the ‘Iolani School Archives' collection. The archival collection is non-circulating; materials are not loaned to individuals. Loans are made as determined by the Archivist. Loans for on-campus exhibition will be considered for faculty and staff of ‘Iolani School departments. With the approval of the Archivist, certain materials may be loaned to responsible external offices and institutions, often for exhibition, reproduction, or preservation.

Each loan request is judged on its own merits and the final decision to loan an item(s) is based on the following criteria:

  • the condition of the item(s);
  • the format of the item(s);
  • the nature and length of the exhibition;
  • the facilities of the borrowing department/institution;
  • the anticipated need of the item(s) for the Archives' own research or exhibition purposes.

Some objects in the collection are not available for loan, including those judged too fragile or too environmentally sensitive to travel. If loan is permitted, proper documentation is required.

The Archives exists to preserve surviving documentation. Lending an original document, photograph, or file outside the Archives imperils its survival. Therefore, archival loans are rare and carefully managed to ensure protection of material during its absence.

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours on the Welcome tab of this guide.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with libel, privacy, and copyright laws.