Skip to main content

HMW9: Where to Find Tertiary, Secondary, Primary...

History of the Modern World

What are Teritary Sources?

Tertiary sources generally provide an overview or summary of a topic, and may contain both primary and secondary sources. The information is displayed as entirely factual, and does not include analysis or critique.

  • Can also be collections of primary and secondary sources, such as databases, bibliographies and directories

  •  Great for background and understanding historical events, people, dates. Tertiary sources help you develop ideas and lead you to primary and secondary sources

    • Encyclopedias (may also be secondary);
    • Almanacs;
    • Bibliographies;
    • Chronologies;
    • Dictionaries; 
    • Directories;
    • Fact books;
    • Guidebooks;
    • Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources;
    • Manuals;
    • Textbooks (also be secondary)

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources address or analyze events, people, works, or topics after the fact.

  • Provides background information, analysis, and unique perspectives one or more steps removed from an original event or work.
  • Check the bibliography for leads to primary and  more secondary sources
    • Do  you have a secondary source?

Author: What is the author's relationship to the material or event described? Does his or her knowledge stem from personal experience or not? 

Purpose: What is the purpose of the content? Is the author interpreting previous events?

Publication Date: Is the date of the publication further away from the event described?

  • Newspaper articles
  • Journal and magazine articles
  • Encyclopedias
  • Books

 

 

 

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are original artifacts or documents. They offer contemporary accounts from participants or people directly involved in an event.

  • Use your Tertiary and Secondary sources for leads to primary sources.
  • Check the HMW LibGuides Tabs "Primary Sources," "US Primary Sources," "More Primary Sources"

Tertiary

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

Secondary

Open the TABS (above) for "Find Online Databases" and "Find Journals,  Magazines, and Newspapers" User name and password required for remote (home) use. Click here to access.