Hawaii Resources: Start Here

An index of English-language newspaper from Hawai`i, 1840 to 1944, with links to digital editions of the actual newspapers, when available.

In depth reporting on Hawaii's politics, government, education, land, energy, finance & more.

Environmental articles on Hawaii.

Features stories on sustainable living in Hawaii.

Historic Newspapers from Hawaii and the U.S.: Project Overview

Lifestyle magazine published by Hawaiian Airlines.

Search historical articles and topic guides.

Index to articles from Hawaii’s newspapers going back as far as 1929.

Links to Hawai'i Voyager of the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System. Use this to find articles. Check with the librarian if the source is available at `Iolani Library.

University of Hawaii at Manoa

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Digital access to America's historic newspapers. Search and view newspapers from 1789 to 1963.

HHF's newsletters and magazines covers preservation issues about islands since 1975.

Full-text Hawaii newspaper articles from Honolulu Star-Advertiser (2010-present); Honolulu Advertiser (1999-2010); Honolulu Star-Bulletin (1996-2010)

Limited online access. Use "Hawaii Newspapers" database to search for articles.

Limited online access. Use "Honolulu Newspapers" database to search for articles.

Citations to newspaper articles searchable by subject.

A list of local sources for magazines, newspapers, oral histories, place names, music, etc.

List of Native Hawaiian databases genealogy, Hawaiian language, culture and history, hula and chant, and much more

Digitized grant projects and initiatives on the Merrie Monarch Festival, 100th Infantry Battalion, Maps, etc.

Films and videotapes related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.

Digitized materials from Ethnobotany of the Ahupua'a to Hawaii Weather Patterns.

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...

"... a space to explore the breadth and depth of Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world."
Includes digital collections of images, interviews, mele, and more.

A guide to find Hawaii maps located in public and private collections as well as digitized resources.

“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Hawaiian and English language books digitized.

Digitized repository from UHM communities: Departments, Centers, Schools, etc.

Digitized repository of Kaizawa image collection , 3 UH Press journals, etc.

Digitized material from collections at Honolulu Community College, Kapiolani Community College, Leeward Community College, UH at Hilo, UH West Oahu, and UH Open Education Resources

The collection contains primary source materials related to Hawai'i and the Pacific including: news clippings, documents, maps, posters, Hawaiian language dictionaries, a photograph of Waikiki from the 1890s and Hawaiiana. It also includes the 2nd edition (1785) atlas to Captain Cook's Voyages that illustrate his third voyage and the scene of his death.

The Museum is the home to millions of objects, documents and photographs about Hawai‘i and other Pacific island cultures.

Search online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

Digital topics includes photographs, Pali Tunnel, manuscript collections...

Features Asian art, American and European painting and decorative arts, and traditional works from Africa, Oceania, and the Americas.

HPS is dedicated to documenting and sharing the life stories of living Hula Masters and their efforts to perpetuate hula.

The story of Malama Honua Worldwide Voyage.