Click to enlarge.
*Also see the Teaching and Primary Sources box in the Links tab of this guide.
ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Faculty!
The study of a language includes the study of the history and culture of the peoples who speak that language. During such research, it is important to identify the various types of institutions that are potential credible sources of information and to be able to interpret resources.
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 44 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 44 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 44 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
Hawai'i State Archives
University of Hawai'i
Bishop Museum
Hula Preservation Society
This link opens in a new windowKa'iwakīloumoku - Kamehameha Schools
Legislative Research
(Click to enlarge.)
Thanks for reviewing a draft of
"Important Questions" go to
Dr. Melissa Perkins,
'Iolani School History Faculty
2021 Hawai'i History Teacher of the Year
(Click to enlarge.)
