Find Primary Sources - U.S. History - Trial of Andrew Jackson

Mega Sites

Digital Public Library of America
A portal of online resources from libraries, universities, archives, and museums for access to our society's digitized cultural heritage.
Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History from Bowling Green State University
Comprehensive web links!
HAWAII Primary Sources
Links to photographs, war records, maps and much more related to Hawai'i.
IPL2 -- U S History
Curated list by ipl2:Information You Can Trust.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History : History by Era
A nonprofit organization to improve history education.
Topics in Chronicling America

More Primary Sources

Using the Library's digital resources off campus? Here's the link for usernames & passwords.

Time Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine articles from 1923 to 2000 on national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

American Decades: Primary Documents
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Print: R 973 AME or link to eBook
American Decades: Primary Sources
Call Number: R 973 AME multiple vols.
ISBN: 0787665878

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Click on link for instructions to create your personal account and search the Archive 1851 - present.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on American and World History. With essays on selected current event topics.

Primary Sources Explained

Some examples include:

Books, magazine and newspaper articles published at the time
Hand-written documents like diaries and journals
Maps
Laws & court cases
Speeches, interviews, letters
Memoirs and autobiographies
literary manuscripts
Records of government agencies
Records of organizations
Public opinion polls
Fiction from a particular time and place
Research data
Religious or philosophical texts
Artifacts of all kinds: physical objects, furniture, tools, clothing, etc.
Photographs, audio recordings, movies and videos
Art, including paintings, prints and other medi

Web Links to Primary Sources

Find words on web pages with the find feature: PC (Cntrl+F) Mac (Cmnd+F).

100 Milestone Documents
From the National Archives.
Digital Collections from the Library of Congress
A digital history of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Women's History: Digital Collections
Curated collection of links.
Archives of American Art from the Smithsonian
A collection of 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
Asian American Web Resources
From 'Iolani LibGuides.
Avalon Project | Lillian Goldman Law Library | Yale Law School
"The Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy"
A digital document collection related to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government
Calisphere [Primarily on California]
Focuses on the history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Chronology of US Historical Documents
From the University of Oklahoma, College of Law.
CIA Freedom of Information Act Reading Room
Significant Agency documents from the administrations of Nixon, Carter, Reagan, Clinton....
Civil War Primary Sources
Civil War Trust organization.
Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
Search online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
From the GPO (Government Printing Office).
Documenting the American South: University of North Carolina
A collection of texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Ebook and Texts Archive
From the Internet Archives.
Foreign Relations of the United States
From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections, this collection focuses on major U.S. foreign policy decisions.
HathiTrust Digital Library in WorldCat
Search digitized books and journals held by libraries.
Making of America: Antebellum to Recontruction
A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
A living database featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
Office of the Historian U.S. Dept. of State
Includes documents, key milestones, travels of presidents, etc.
Women's History Month (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress exhibit.

20th Century Sources

List of popular primary source sites -- check DPL and or BGSU for more sources.

Civil Rights Digital Library | Digital Library of Georgia
Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, etc.
Civil Rights History Project | Library of Congress
"On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. The project was initiated in 2010 with the survey and with interviews beginning in 2011."
Civil Rights Resource Guide | Library of Congress
Library of Congress' digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography.
Brown v. Board of Education Online Archive University of Michigan
Television News of the Civil Rights Era University of Virginia
A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans & the U.S. Constitution ~ Smithsonian
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Oral histories, photos, documents, and newspapers documenting the Japanese American experience while incarcerated or interned during World War II.
Life Magazines via Google Books
Life magazines from 1937 to 1972.

20th Century Sources

Civil Rights Digital Library | Digital Library of Georgia
Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, etc.
Civil Rights Resource Guide Library of Congress
Brown v. Board of Education Online Archive University of Michigan
Television News of the Civil Rights Era University of Virginia
A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans & the U.S. Constitution ~ Smithsonian
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Oral histories, photos, documents, and newspapers documenting the Japanese American experience while incarcerated or interned during World War II.

U.S. History - Trial of Andrew Jackson: Find Primary Sources

*

Ask the Librarians for help in finding primary sources!

Mega Sites

More Primary Sources

Primary Sources Explained

Web Links to Primary Sources

20th Century Sources

20th Century Sources

Presidential Primary Sources