Skip to Main Content

Keables Chair & Scholar: Honorees





Mr. Harold R. Keables touched students and faculty at ‘Iolani School with his passion for learning and high standards for writing. He was dedicated to all of his students, not just the gifted writers, but also the ones who initially struggled with words.

Both the Keables Chair and the Keables Scholar programs are supported by the generous donations of hundreds of ‘Iolani faculty, students, staff, and ‘ohana to the Harold Keables Fund.

More about Harold Keables.

About the Keables Chair

Established in 1982 in memory of the late Harold Keables, the Harold Keables Chair of English brings a distinguished writer and teacher to ‘Iolani School for two weeks every year to work with students and faculty across the curriculum.

The chair creates opportunities for ‘Iolani students at all levels to interact with established writers in small classroom settings to explore different facets of creative and non-fiction writing. The Chairholder also meets with faculty to share ideas on the craft of teaching and inspiration.

Additionally, in the tradition of ‘Iolani’s commitment to the Honolulu community, the Chairholder delivers a free evening lecture or reading


1986 Robert Palazzi

1987 Allan Glatthorn

1988 no recipient

1989 no recipient

1990 Donald Murray

1991 Thomas Newkirk

1992 Donald Johnson

1993 Jane Hansen

1994 Jack Higgs

1995 Georgia Heard

1996 Joan Countryman

1997 Jane Schaffer

1998 Paul Watkins

1999 Jeff Gere and Ruth Stotter

2000 Oregon Shakespeare Festival

2001 Ellen Greenblatt and Eric Rothschild

2002 Li Young Lee

2003 Neil Campbell

2004 David Mas Masumoto

2005 Lee Cataluna

2006 Robert O'Meally

2007 Billy Collins

2008 Dr. Scott Kim

2009 Dr. Peter Saccio

2010 Dr. Cheryl Hayashi ('85)

2011 David Horsey

2012 Taylor Mali

2013 Alexandra Fuller

2014  Sherry Ott

2015  Sarah Kay

2016 Sujata Massey

2017 Richard Blanco

2018 Aaron and Jordan Kandell ('01)

2019 Nate Chinen ('94)

2020 Erin Entrada Kelly 

2021 Juan Felipe Herrera 

2022 Aimee Nezhukumatatil 

2023 Dr. Jon Osorio and Dr. Jamaica Osorio 

2024 Naomi Shihab Nye


About the Keables Scholar

Established in 2018, the Harold Keables Scholar program compliments ‘Iolani’s longstanding Keables Chair program. Each fall, ‘Iolani’s Keables Scholar program brings to campus an outstanding writer whose clear commitment to education can open students’ eyes to the power of the written word.


2018 Dr. Jelani Cobb

2019 Jack Gantos 

2020 Webinar Series - What's Going On: Racism and Justice in America featuring 
          Dr. Bernard Lafayette
          Dr. Peniel Joseph
          Dr. Clint Smith
          Dr. David Treuer
          Dr. Jon Kamakawiwo'ole Osorio
          Dr. Adriene Lentz-Smith
          Nathan Chinen ('94)
          Lee Cataluna

2021 Helen Zia

2022 Jamelle Bouie 

2023 Tom Coffman 



Email Tsuzuki Group Library