What are tertiary sources & Where to find them - History - Tertiary Sources

What are tertiary sources?

Tertiary sources generally provide an overview or summary of a topic and may contain both primary and secondary sources. The information is displayed as entirely factual, and does not include analysis or critique.

Helpful for background information and understanding historical events, people, dates.
Tertiary sources help you develop ideas and may lead to primary and secondary sources.
- Encyclopedias
- Almanacs
- Bibliographies
- Chronologies
- Dictionaries
- Directories
- Fact books
- Guidebooks
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
- Manuals
- Textbooks

U.S. History: Where to find tertiary sources?

Reference Collection
Browse the subject encyclopedias and dictionaries in the reference area

Book Catalog for Tsuzuki Group Library
Limit the search to the Reference Collection.Use "broad" category search words.
American History (ABC-CLIO | Bloomsbury)
Tertiary and primary sources on the United States with biographies, historical events in context, photos, maps, and audio/video clips.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Limit to REFERENCE

Additional tertiary sources?

Britannica Academic
Refer to articles for information or are you able to cite encyclopedia articles from Britannica?Ask your teacher.
Gale eBooks
Access ebooks on environment, history, literature, medicine, music, people, and the sciences.
Check to see if the ebook is a tertiary or secondary source. Tertiary sources will usually have Encyclopedia or Dictionary in the title (for example: Encyclopedia of World Biography).

Where to find tertiary information on people/historical figures?

Encyclopedia of World Biography 2nd ed. (Gale)
eBook
Notable individuals from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

For a full list of databases, select this link

Where to find tertiary sources? (Pre June 2023)

Using the Library's digital resources off campus? Here's the link for usernames & passwords.

Britannica Academic
Encyclopedia articles for background information, images and topical videos. Includes research tools:
-- World Atlas - search maps, flags, articles, and statistics in this interactive World Atlas
-- Compare Countries - a geography tool that gives quick facts on any two countries or territories side-by-side.
The site also includes information pulled from The [CIA] World Factbook; however, for more complete information needed from that source, your Librarians recommend going directly to The World Factbook website.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO | Bloomsbury)
Topics and perspectives on historical events, individuals, countries, with audio/visual clips, and primary sources -- from the beginning of the Renaissance to present day.
Gale in Context: World History
People, events, and topics in World History with reference books, academic journals, magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Book Catalog for Tsuzuki Group Library
Limit search to the Reference Collection
Gale eBooks
Check if the eBook is a tertiary or secondary source.

Where to find tertiary information on people/historical figures?

Encyclopedia of World Biography 2nd ed. (Gale)
eBook
Notable individuals from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

History - Tertiary Sources: What are tertiary sources & Where to find them

What are tertiary sources?

U.S. History: Where to find tertiary sources?

Additional tertiary sources?

Where to find tertiary sources? (Pre June 2023)