HMW9: HMW Topic Exploration

Tertiary sources provide an overview or summary of a topic, and may contain both primary and secondary sources. The information is displayed as entirely factual, and does not include analysis or critique.

• Encyclopedias, almanacs, bibliographies...

Secondary sources interpret or critique primary sources. They often include an analysis of the event that was discussed or featured in the primary source. They are second-hand accounts that interpret or draw conclusions from one or more primary sources.

• Essays or reviews, articles that analyze or discuss events or ideas, criticisms or commentaries

Primary sources are first-hand, authoritative accounts of an event, topic, or historical time period.

*Check with your teacher.

Source: http://content.easybib.com/guides/students/research-guide/primary-secondary-tertiary-sources/

Tertiary sources generally provide an overview or summary of a topic and may contain both primary and secondary sources. The information is displayed as entirely factual, and does not include analysis or critique.

• Helpful for background information and understanding historical events, people, dates.
• Tertiary sources help you develop ideas and may lead  to primary and secondary sources.
  • Encyclopedias
  • Almanacs
  • Bibliographies
  • Chronologies
  • Dictionaries
  • Directories
  • Fact books
  • Guidebooks
  • Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
  • Manuals
  • Textbooks

1. Copy one of these recommended publications with the word "and" to paste into MasterFile Complete

• JN "New York Times Upfront" and
• JN "Time Magazine" and
• JN "History Today" and
• JN "Smithsonian" and
• JN "National Geographic" and

2. Open the MasterFile Complete database

3. Paste your copied publication [JN "Time" and]  add your search word(s)

4. Click on search