LibGuides: Contemporary Issues in America: Start Here

Hawaii Issues

Hawaii Newspapers: 1996 to present (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage:
Jun 1, 2010 - present; Honolulu Advertiser (1999-2010); Honolulu Star-Bulletin (1996-2010)
Honolulu Star-Advertiser (StarAdvertiser.com) This link opens in a new window
Access current articles, print replica, and archives (Star-Bulletin from March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010; Advertiser from March 15, 2001-June 6, 2010; Star-Advertiser 2010-current). See the off-campus logins page for registration instructions.
Access World News (NewsBank): HAWAII This link opens in a new window
Search for local news content in sources such as the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (2010-present), Hawaii Tribune-Herald (2004-present), The Garden Island (1999-present), and Hawaii Business (2004-current).

Civil Beat
In depth reporting on Hawaii's politics, government, education, land, energy, finance & more.
Hawaii Business

Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Access over 100,000 authoritative and copyrighted academic level electronic books. Includes Academic Complete, DEI, and University Press collections.

Global Issues In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Controversial issues affecting the world selected from full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, books, images, multimedia, and links to vetted websites.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
380+ controversial issues, with an overview (objective background / description), point and counterpoint for critical analysis.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access academic scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the fields of Economics, English, History, Science, Social Science...

For a full list of databases, select this link

Tip: Use databases Access World News (NewsBank) or MasterFile Complete (EBSCO) for an aggregated search.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Includes current and archived international, national, and local news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 2,400+ magazines on a wide range of subject areas - politics, sports, education, business, science, and much more.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Click on link for instructions to create your personal account and search the Archive 1851 - present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Access current and past articles. See the off-campus logins page for username and password.