Databases
Using the Library's digital resources off campus?
Here's the link for usernames & passwords.
Background Information
Nadis, Fred. "Causes of the French Revolution." In World History: The Modern Era
"French Revolution." In World History In Context
McPhee, Peter. "French Revolution." In World History in Context
Merriman, John and Roger Price. "France." In World History in Context
French Revolution by The Indictment of Louis XVI (1792) (From the Alpha History website)
Primary Source(s)
French Revolution documents and primary sources from Alpha History
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
*Yann – a young Parisian man who took part in the storming of the Bastille
Background Information
"Bastille." In World History: The Modern Era
The Fall of the Bastille From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
A Conqueror of the Bastille Speaks From Liberty Equality Fraternity
A Paris Newspaper on the Storming of the Bastille (1789) From Alpha History
Robert Turgot – Louis XVI’s first finance minister
Background Information
Anne-Robert-Jacques Turgot In World History: The Modern Era
Anne Robert Jacques Turgot In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
Turgot, "Letter to the King on Finance" (1774) From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
*Monsieur Roulet – member of the National Assembly which adopted the Declaration of the Rights of Man
Background Information
Cocks, H.G. "French National Assembly." In World History: The Modern Era
Hanson, Paul R. "Estates-General." In World History in Context
The Estates-General From Alpha History
The Tennis Court Oath From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
"Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen (1789)." In World History: The Modern Era
Maximilien Robespierre - a Jacobin leader w/Rousseau’s ideas firmly ingrained in his thinking
Background Information
"Maximilien Robespierre." In World History: The Modern Era
"Maximilien François Marie Isidore de Robespierre." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
Rousseau's The Social Contract From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
Jean-Baptiste Drouet – postmaster who discovers the King and Queen at Varennes and turns them in to the National Guard for “attempting to flee.” He is offered 30,000 francs for the capture
Background Information
The Flight to Varennes From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
The Flight to Varennes (21-23 June 1791) Drouet's description From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
Theroigne de Mericourt (Anne-Joseph Mericourt) - a Parisian woman who took part in the March on Versailles
Background Information
"Théroigne De Mericourt." In World History: The Modern Era
Primary Source(s)
Women of the Third Estate Petition the King (1789) From Alpha History
Stanislaus Maillard Describes the Women's March From Liberty Equality Fraternity
Monsieur George-Jacques Danton – a second Jacobin leader who leads the revolt against the constitutional monarchy. Accused of accepting bribes…
Background Information
"Georges Danton." In World History: The Modern Era
"Georges Jacques Danton." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Georges Danton From Alpha History
"Jacobins." In World History: The Modern Era
McPhee, Peter. "Jacobins." In World History In Context
Primary Source(s)
French Revolution Documents From Alpha History
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Related Article(s)
Hanson, Paul R. "Girondins." In World History in Context
John Locke - English Philosophe, advocated governmental separation of powers and believed that revolution is not only a right but an obligation in some circumstances
Background Information
Yunt, Jeremy. "John Locke." In World History: The Modern Era
"John Locke." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
Locke, John. "Second Treatise on Government, Chapter IX." In World History in Context
John Locke, "Of Political or Civil Society" From Liberty Equality Fraternity
Related Article(s)
The Philosophes From Alpha History
The Declaration of the Rights of Man and Citizen From Alpha History
King Louis XVI
Background Information
Siegel, Daniel. "Louis XVI." In World History: The Modern Era
"Louis XVI." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
Louis Apologizes (27 June 1791) From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
Louis Accepts the Constitution (14-25 September 1791) From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
For more primary sources, search the following websites:
French Revolution Documents From Alpha History
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Queen Marie Antoinette
Background Information
Siegel, Daniel. "Marie Antoinette." In World History: The Modern Era.
"Marie Antoinette." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
French Revolution Documents From Alpha History
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Marie Antoinette's view of the revolution (8 September 1791) From Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
Related Article(s)
"Diamond Necklace Affair." In World History: The Modern Era
Comte de Mirabeau – a moderate leader (member of the Second Estate), who supported a constitutional monarchy
Background Information
Siegel, Daniel. "Comte De Mirabeau." In World History: The Modern Era
"Comte de Mirabeau." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Hanson, Paul R. "Estates-General." In World History in Context
The Second Estate From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
Mirabeau on the Nobility and the Estates-General (1789) From Alpha History
*Monsieur or Madame Willemet – a noble émigré who fled France and urged Austria to invade France and restore the king
Background Information
The emigres From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
The Assembly Complains to the King about the Émigrés From LIberty, Equality, and Fraternity
"The Padua Circular" (5 July 1791) From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
"The Declaration of Pillnitz" From Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity
Related Article(s)
Hanson, Paul R. "Estates-General." In World History in Context
Stewart, Stephen. "Brunswick Manifesto." In World History: The Modern Era
Benjamin Franklin - American Founding Father, negotiated the end of the war with England and was one of the signers of the Treaty of Paris. Represented the Union as the first minister plenipotentiary to France, the equivalent of today’s ambassador.
Background Information
O'Brien, Steven G. "Benjamin Franklin." In World History: The Modern Era
"Benjamin Franklin." In Encyclopedia of World Biography
Primary Source(s)
Franklin, Benjamin. "France Recognizes American Independence." In World History in Context
"Treaty of Paris (1783)." In World History: The Modern Era
Unknown. "Treaty of Paris, 1783." In World History in Context
Related Article(s)
The American Revolution From Alpha History
"France Enters the American Revolution: February 6, 1778." In World History In Context
*Father Jean-Bon – priest (member of the First Estate), angered by the Civil Constitution of the Clergy
Background Information
"First Estate." In World History: The Modern Era
The First Estate From Alpha History
Hanson, Paul R. "Estates-General." In World History in Context
Primary Source(s)
"Civil Constitution of the Clergy (1790)." In World History: The Modern Era
Related Article(s)
Latreille, A. "French Revolution." In World History in Context
Latreille, A. "Civil Constitution of the Clergy." In World History in Context
Louis de Flue – an officer in the Swiss guards who can testify against the enraged mob who stormed the Bastille
Background Information
"Bastille." In World History: The Modern Era
The Fall of the Bastille From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
A Defender of the Bastille Explains His Role From Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
Fears for the Bastille: A General's Concern From Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
Victims on Display From Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
The Mayor of Paris on the Taking of the Bastille From Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
A Paris Newspaper on the Storming of the Bastille (1789) From Alpha History
Charles Gravier de Vergennes – Foreign Minister who gives aid to the Americans for the revolution
Background Information
"Charles Gravier, count de Vergennes." In Britannica Academic
Nadis, Fred. "Causes of the French Revolution." In World History: The Modern Era
Tschen-Emmons, James B. "American and French Revolutions." In World History: The Modern Era
The American Revolution From Alpha History
Primary Source(s)
Vergeness, "Memorandum Against Necker" (1781) From Liberty Equality Fraternity
Primary Source(s)
French Revolution Documents From Alpha History
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution