Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask the Librarians for help in finding primary sources!
More Primary Sources
Time Magazine Archive (EBSCO)
Magazine articles from 1923 to 2000 on national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.
New York Times
Click on link for instructions to create your personal account and search the Archive 1851 - present.
Salem Press Online Collection
Primary source documents on American and World History. With essays on selected current event topics.
Web Links to Primary Sources
Find words on web pages with the find feature: PC (Cntrl+F) Mac (Cmnd+F).
100 Milestone Documents
From the National Archives.
Archives of American Art from the Smithsonian
A collection of 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
A digital document collection related to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government
Calisphere [Primarily on California]
Focuses on the history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Chronicling America (Newspapers) The Library of Congress
Digital access to America's historic newspapers. Search and view newspapers from 1789 to 1963.
CIA Freedom of Information Act Reading Room
Significant Agency documents from the administrations of Nixon, Carter, Reagan, Clinton....
Civil War Primary Sources
Civil War Trust organization.
Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
Search online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
From the GPO (Government Printing Office).
Digital Collections from the Library of Congress
A digital history of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, oral history videos with transcripts, and sheet music that document the American experience.
"The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives."
Documenting the American South: University of North Carolina
A collection of texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Ebook and Texts Archive
From the Internet Archives.
Foreign Relations of the United States
From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections, this collection focuses on major U.S. foreign policy decisions.
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
TEACHER RESOURCE: Funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities for teachers of history
To sign in, use the following link
Making of America: Antebellum to Recontruction
A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
National Jukebox from Library of Congress
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.
New York Public Digital Collections
Featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
Office of the Historian U.S. Dept. of State
Includes documents, key milestones, travels of presidents, etc.
Online Archive of California
OAC is California's central repository for collection guides, it is a vital resource that serves everyone interested in California's history.
Presidential Library Explorer | National Archives
Links to the digitized holdings of the Presidential Libraries of the National Archives and Records Administration
Record Group Explorer | National Archives
Links to the digitized resources of the National Archives and Records Administration.
Primary Sources Explained
Some examples include:
- Books, magazine and newspaper articles published at the time
- Hand-written documents like diaries and journals
- Laws & court cases
- Speeches, interviews, letters
- Memoirs and autobiographies
- literary manuscripts
- Records of government agencies
- Records of organizations
- Public opinion polls
- Fiction from a particular time and place
- Research data
- Religious or philosophical texts
- Artifacts of all kinds: physical objects, furniture, tools, clothing, etc.
- Photographs, audio recordings, movies and videos
- Art, including paintings, prints and other medi
20th Century Sources
List of popular primary source sites -- check DPL and or BGSU for more sources.
Civil Rights Digital Library | Digital Library of Georgia
Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, etc.
Civil Rights History Project | Library of Congress
"On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. The project was initiated in 2010 with the survey and with interviews beginning in 2011."
Civil Rights Resource Guide | Library of Congress
Library of Congress' digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Oral histories, photos, documents, and newspapers documenting the Japanese American experience while incarcerated or interned during World War II.
Life Magazines via Google Books
Life magazines from 1937 to 1972.
Presidential Primary Sources