Streaming Media Available Now: Resources

Access to digital collections held by the Library of Congress.

Contains photographs, maps, documents, and more from the U.S. National Archives.

"Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."

Featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more

A collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Public television and radio programs of the past 60 years.

Interviews conducted between 1952 and 1997 through WFMT, made available by the Chicago History Museum and the Library of Congress. Teaching resources and analysis podcast (Bughouse Square with Eve Ewing) available.

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.

Includes the Online Speech Bank, "Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."

"Our literary audio collections contain historic and contemporary recordings featuring poets and writers reading and discussing their work at the Library of Congress (and beyond)—digitized and right at your fingertips. Start below and see what you find."
- Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature
- The PALABRA Archive
- Poetry of America

Links to the digitized holdings of the Presidential Libraries of the National Archives and Records Administration

Links to the digitized resources of the National Archives and Records Administration.

Exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.

A list of links to online exhibits by the U.S. National Archives.

An animated documentary and article by Olmo Parenti based on a young woman's post to social network platform WeChat.

Photos, video, and documents representing the COVID-19 era as experienced by the residents of Streamwood, Hanover Park, Elgin, Schaumburg, and Bartlett (Illinois).

Podcasts, photographs, and more documenting the COVID-19 era as experienced by the Fordham University community members. Fordham is a private research university in the Bronx, New York.

"On Thursday, April 9th, 2020 the Queens Memory Project launched a COVID-19 documentation project in Queens, New York... These are the stories shared by Queens residents who are living, working, learning, and helping one another during this unprecedented time."

COVID-19 experiences of Hawai'i residents.
Hawai'i Department of Health

"Created to document the response from the University of Utah and greater Utah community to the Coronavirus pandemic of 2020."

Oral histories regarding filmmaking history.

Oral histories from various institutions made available through the Civil Rights Digital Library.

"On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. The project was initiated in 2010 with the survey and with interviews beginning in 2011."

"CHM's oral history collection is one of the most comprehensive on the subjects of computing, technological innovation, web, entrepreneurship, and networking."

Oral histories, photos, documents, and newspapers documenting the Japanese American experience while incarcerated or interned during World War II.

"Since 1986, the Foreign Affairs Oral History Program of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST) has recorded more than 2500 interviews with former participants in the U.S. foreign affairs process. Collectively, these oral histories span over 80 years. About 60 new interviews are added annually. The series also contains some significant oral histories dealing with American diplomacy, which were provided by universities and presidential libraries."

"The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions)."

Catalog of holdings including manuscripts, periodicals, diaries, letters, oral history transcripts, and photographs.

"(NVLP) is the premier resource for oral history interviews with African American elders who shaped the 20th century.
Co-founded in 2001 as a nonprofit educational organization by educator and philanthropist Camille O. Cosby, Ed.D. and Emmy award-winning journalist Renee Poussaint,
NVLP has conducted videotaped interviews with more than 250 pioneers and acclaimed leaders."

Interview with former U.S. Senator from Hawai'i Daniel K. Inouye who received the Medal of Honor for his service during WWII; and, was awarded the Medal of Freedom posthumously.

"On Thursday, April 9th, 2020 the Queens Memory Project launched a COVID-19 documentation project in Queens, New York... These are the stories shared by Queens residents who are living, working, learning, and helping one another during this unprecedented time."

The history of Chemistry, Engineering, Life Sciences.

"Includes interviews conducted over several years with Secretariat officials, ambassadors, and other eminent people on the establishment of the United Nations and UN involvement in various situations around the world." Joint project of the UN Library and Yale University.

Digitized, English language oral histories from the museum's collections.

"USC Shoah Foundation – The Institute for Visual History and Education is dedicated to making audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides a compelling voice for education and action."

California State Library