Streaming Media Available Now: Hawai'i Resources

A.k.a. Wehewehe. Hawaiian dictionary.

Quickly search the Hawaiian language resources provided by wehewehe.org.

Includes:
- HPS Digital 'Umeke
- HPS on Vimeo
- HPS Kauhola Catalog
- Link to Papakilo Database - HPS partner and host to select collections.

"Bamboo Ridge Press was founded in 1978 to publish literature fostering the appreciation, understanding and creation of literary, visual and performing arts by, for, and about Hawaiʻi’s people...
While special attention is given to literature that reflects local sensibility, Bamboo Ridge is broad in scope and embraces a variety of work from writers across the nation. Some of our books have received recognition for literary excellence and for their contribution to the understanding and appreciation of Hawaiʻi's cultures and people. Bamboo Ridge publications have been adopted as texts or recommended reading in high school and college classrooms and have found a diverse audience across the country.
You will find here out-of-print and nearly out-of-print issues dating from 1978."

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...

"The mission of the Digital Archives project is to develop a digital archives repository capable of providing reliable, long-term access to trustworthy digital records to the public and government entities of the State of Hawaiʻi, now and in the future. In order to achieve this goal, the digital archives repository must protect these records from loss, alteration, deterioration and technological obsolescence in order to ensure an accurate rendering of those records in perpetuity in an environment independent from that which produced them."

"Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives (HMH), an active site for Hawaii’s history since 1820, is a National Historic Landmark (listed in 1965) and accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (last re-accredited in 2010)... The library, which holds both English and Hawaiian archival material, welcomes researchers on site as well as from around the globe through the digital collection... The HMH historical archive holds over 80,000 digital pieces and is home to one of the largest collections of Hawaiian language books in the world."

Transcriptions and translations of Hawaiian language newspapers published 1834 - 1948.
Searchable in English or Hawaiian language.
"This project is part of a special project of the Māori Newspaper Collection of the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand."

"The Native Hawaiian Data Book presents research results about Native Hawaiians in an impactful way. It gives a visual view of statistics and trends that shape the conditions of Native Hawaiians. The inaugural edition of the Native Hawaiian Data Book was launched in 1994. Since then, it has been updated multiple times. OHA plans to update the data book every two years."

“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Hawaiian and English language books digitized.

Primary source set.

Handout containing URLs for research into Federal, State, and County Legislative Branch primary sources.

"The Ka‘iwakīloumoku Digital Collections comprise a vast array of Hawaiian and Pacific expressions. Home to an assortment of essays, interviews, videos, recipes, and more, we invite you to explore this rich repository. During your visit, we greatly appreciate your consideration and respect for the information, images, and perspectives found here."

Includes:
- HPS Digital 'Umeke
- HPS on Vimeo
- HPS Kauhola Catalog
- Link to Papakilo Database - HPS partner and host to select collections.

Resources related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i. Clips are posted on the website for which full-length is available upon request.

"Aloha and welcome to the Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum's YouTube channel. Here we'll share some of the video and audio that we've created for exhibits; podcasts that we've made with our staff and researchers and guest lecturers; and interesting behind the scenes looks at our research and collections. E komo mai !"

"View some of the best contemporary art from across the state of Hawaiʻi in our galleries and virtual programs! HiSAM is a venue for art in the Art in Public Places (APP) collection of the State Foundation on Culture and the Arts. Most of the collection is on display in public buildings, including libraries, schools, and state offices, but HiSAM offers a space to display other pieces in the nearly 7,000-artwork collection. Artworks in the APP collection are primarily contemporary works by artists with a connection to Hawai‘i."

"The Japanese Cultural Center of Hawai'i, a non-profit organization, strives to strengthen our diverse community by educating present and future generations in the evolving Japanese American experience in Hawai'i. Founded on May 28, 1987, the Center celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2012. The Cultural Center has many members and annually connects to more than 30,000 residents and visitors through its programs and events. The Cultural Center features a historical museum, an exhibition gallery, library/archive center, the Kenshikan martial arts dōjō, the Seikōan Japanese teahouse, and a Gift Shop. For more information call (808) 945-7633, email info@jcch.com or visit the website at www.jcch.com."

A chronology of Hawaiian government presented in table format with government type, events, and dates.

"Learn how a secret league of landowners, joined by an armed militia, forced Hawaiian King David Kalakaua to sign what he called “The Bayonet Constitution,” making him a puppet ruler and giving them a greater say in the government, in this video from Hawaii's Last Queen | AMERICAN EXPERIENCE."
(video 00:03:22) Grades: 9-12

Includes:
- Blount Report
- Hawaii Organic Act
- Anti-Annexation Petition
Viewable as transcription or pdf of scanned document.

"earn about the causes and the aftermath of the coup d'état of January 1893 that overthrew the Hawaiian monarchy, in this video from Hawaii's Last Queen | AMERICAN EXPERIENCE. Find out how the "Committee of Safety," a secret group organized by white sugar plantation owners, businessmen, and descendants of missionaries, set up a provisional government to replace the Hawaiian monarchy. Defying U.S. President Grover Cleveland, their ultimate goal was to overthrow Queen Lili‘uokalani and seek annexation of the Hawaiian Islands by the United States."
(video 00:05:59) Gr. 9 - 12

*Access requires New York Times subscription. See "more..." below.
"The Commissioner's Instructions and How They Were Followed — Exhaustive History of the Causes Leading up to the Conspiracy Which Minister Stevens Aided — Successful Only Through His Acts — Annexation Would Be Voted Down in a Fair Election."
"WASHINGTON, Nov. 18 — The report of James H. Blount, Special Commissioner to the Hawaiian Islands, is herewith presented in full:"

"The records of the Constitutional Convention of 1894 include stenographic recordings and minutes of the proceedings, committee reports, resolutions, petitions, amendments, four drafts of the constitution, outgoing correspondence, election results, record of disbursements, sample vouchers for election expenses, and miscellaneous material that were kept by C. T. Rodgers, secretary of the convention. The original constitution is in box CC1894-4.
Below are the digitized Records of the 1894 Constitutional Convention. The originals remain physically at the Hawaiʻi State Archives."

Includes background information and the digitized primary sources:
- 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawai'i with signatures
- 1898 Joint Resolution of Congress to Provide for Annexing the Hawaiian Islands to the United States
- 1898 Letter from Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, to the U.S. House of Representatives Protesting U.S. Assertion of Ownership of Hawai'i.

"The United States annexed Hawaii in 1898 at the urging of President William McKinley. This guide provides access to material related to the “Annexation of Hawaii” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

Includes 1840, 1852, 1864, and 1887 Constitutions

"Declares that the Congress: (1) on the 100th anniversary of the illegal overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii on January 17, 1893, acknowledges the historical significance of this event which resulted in the suppression of the inherent sovereignty of the Native Hawaiian people; (2) commends efforts of reconciliation initiated by Hawaii and the United Church of Christ with Native Hawaiians; (3) apologizes for the overthrow and the deprivation of the rights of Native Hawaiians to self-determination; (4) expresses its commitment to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow in order to provide a foundation for reconciliation between the United States and the Native Hawaiian people; and (5) urges the President to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow and to support reconciliation efforts."

Includes image.
"President Bill Clinton signs legislation apologizing for the U.S. role in the 1893 overthrow of the Hawaiian monarchy..."

Article Contributor Luis Acosta
Library of Congress
April 10, 2009

"This walking tour, presented by the Hawaiʻi Ponoʻī Coalition at ʻIolani Palace, reenacts four critical days leading up to the Queen overthrow."