Lower School Library Resources: Home

! Using the Library's digital resources off campus? 
Here's the link for usernames & passwords.

Interactive digital books and videos for young readers

Interactive digital books for young readers.

eBooks across all subjects; juvenile fiction and non-fiction for K-5 students.

Digital chapter books and non-fiction books.

Full-text; eBooks on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports and more.

eBooks across all subject areas; juvenile fiction and non-fiction for students grades 6-8.

Full-text; eBooks on health, technology, science, history, civics and more.

Copyright friendly photos and pictures that will automatically create citations.

Encyclopedia articles for background information. Recommended for grades 4-8.

Encyclopedia articles for elementary grade students.

Encyclopedia articles for background information. Recommended for grades K-6.

Encyclopedia articles for background information, images and topical videos. Includes research tools:
-- World Atlas - search maps, flags, articles, and statistics in this interactive World Atlas
-- Compare Countries - a geography tool that gives quick facts on any two countries or territories side-by-side.
The site also includes information pulled from The [CIA] World Factbook; however, for more complete information needed from that source, your Librarians recommend going directly to The World Factbook website.

Includes:
- Exploring the Middle Ages Encyclopedia: From the fall of the Western Roman Empire, to the rise of Islam, and Western Europe in the Middle Ages.
- International Wildlife Encyclopedia: Explore animals' lifestyles and physical features.
- Wildlife and Plants of the World Encyclopedia: Explore plants and animal species.

Includes current and archived international, national, and local news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories.

Search for local news content in sources such as the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (2010-present), Hawaii Tribune-Herald (2004-present), The Garden Island (1999-present), and Hawaii Business (2004-current).

Full-text coverage:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser (Jun 07, 2010 - Jun 23, 2025); Honolulu Advertiser (1999-2010); Honolulu Star-Bulletin (1996-2010)

Access current articles, print replica, and archives (Star-Bulletin from March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010; Advertiser from March 15, 2001-June 6, 2010; Star-Advertiser 2010-current). See the off-campus logins page for registration instructions.

Full-text; provides the world's major news content, including articles from newspapers and newswires, television and radio transcripts, and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Full-text Hawaii newspaper articles from June 7, 2010 to June 23, 2025.

Full-text; carefully curated content for elementary school libraries; includes popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.

Full-text; middle grade magazines, reference ebooks, primary source documents. Recommended for students grades 4-8.

Topics and perspectives of daily life in past historical eras with essays, photos, maps, audio/visuals clips, and primary sources.

Find Fiction and Non-Fiction suggestions by genre, read-alikes, award winners, series, etc.

Fiction and narrative non-fiction book recommendations

Indexed and full-text education literature and resources. 

Full-text; a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

Partial full-text and indexing for 200+ education journals.

Full-text; teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

Streaming films for education. Access to movies and documentaries for academic use. 
Click on “School Account” to sign in with your 'Iolani email.
*Please note: Swank access at 'Iolani School is administered by the ITS department.