Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

'Iolani School Archives: Welcome

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

 

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

 

iPad webclip icon

Look for the above icon for access to this site from your 'Iolani School issued iPad.

Information Requests

Please allow two weeks
for information requests.

Access

**PLEASE NOTE**
Wearing a mask, covering nose and mouth area, is required while on the 'Iolani School campus.
For more information see the school’s Coronavirus (Covid-19) Update page.


Normal Hours:
By appointment.
Mon., Tues, Thurs., Fri.
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Closed Wednesdays.
Hours may vary.
For an appointment, please email archives@iolani.org

~ ~ ~

The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile.

~ ~ ~

Location:
'Iolani School Archives | 'Iolani School
SCIL (Sullivan Center) - 205
Next door to the Tsuzuki Group Library,
Upper School.

Phone:
(808) 943-2336

Email:

NEW features!

Archives Preserve History
Archives Give Insights & Tell Stories
Archives Keep Lessons & Memories Alive
Archives Make Connections
Archives Stabilize At-Risk Materials
Archives Care for the Documents & Artifacts That Tell the Stories of History

What Does the Archives Do?

In addition to acquiring and caring for historical records – which were created or used by the school or people associated with it – some of our activities include helping with requests for information, assisting visiting researchers, arranging displays, creating subject guides and research tools, and primary source literacy instruction.

The Archives has a wealth of material on the history of the school. If you have a class project and think you may need to use archival materials, please contact us to determine if the Archives has resources to meet your needs.

                Content disclaimer

Explore the Collections


'Iolani Login Required for Digital Objects

To view digital content from the catalog:

  • access via 'Iolani School issued iPad
  • or
  • via computer by
    1. log onto 'Iolani School email account
    2. open item record in additional tab of the same browser

Our catalog, description database, is a work-in-progress.
Records may be added or updated as a result of
further research or acquiring new collection items.  

Mission & Purpose

                 Iolani High School Class of 1918.
 

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School, in order to make these collections available for research and educational purposes.

These documents, memorabilia, and other materials promote an understanding of and appreciation for the history of the school and the individuals who laid its foundations and nurtured its development.


Overview

A special, non-circulating collection of 'Iolani School materials are housed in the Archives including photographs, yearbooks, videos, and memorabilia. The Archivist works to collect, organize, preserve and provide access to these historical records. The educational program component strives to connect current 'Iolani K-12 students with historical events through supplemental experiences with primary sources. Use of the collection is available to faculty, staff, students, and the public by appointment.
Contact: archives@iolani.org

Keep In Mind...

Archives are "the non-current records of individuals, groups, institutions, and governments that contain information of enduring value."
(Society of American Archivists)

  • There are NOT records for everything.
  • Not all records are indexed.
  • Even if records do exist, they are NOT ALL available digitally.
  • Archival arrangement ensures preservation of content AND context:
    • Provenance- different origins means materials are kept separately, even if subject matter is the same.
    • Original Order- creator established order is maintained.
  • Archival research takes time. Materials are often described at the box or folder level, NOT the item level. Therefore, general information is maintained and specific information is for the researcher to explore and discover. Happy hunting!

At-A-Glance
Records Management vs. Archives

  • Records management
    • active records
    • institutional need
    • legal mandate: state, federal
  • Archives
    • inactive records
    • permanent retention
    • historical and/or institutional reasons

For More Information - Welcome

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours listed above.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.