Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawai'i State Archives
"Records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers."
Hawai'i State Archives Digital Collections
Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...
Digital Archives of Hawai'i [beta mode] | Hawai'i State Archives
"The mission of the Digital Archives project is to develop a digital archives repository capable of providing reliable, long-term access to trustworthy digital records to the public and government entities of the State of Hawaiʻi, now and in the future. In order to achieve this goal, the digital archives repository must protect these records from loss, alteration, deterioration and technological obsolescence in order to ensure an accurate rendering of those records in perpetuity in an environment independent from that which produced them."
100th Infantry Battalion Veterans Education Center
"When called to duty in World War II, the men of the 100th Infantry Battalion performed extraordinary feats fighting for the country they loved."
Bamboo Ridge Press [Digital] Archives | Kapi'olani Community College
"Bamboo Ridge Press was founded in 1978 to publish literature fostering the appreciation, understanding and creation of literary, visual and performing arts by, for, and about Hawaiʻi’s people...
While special attention is given to literature that reflects local sensibility, Bamboo Ridge is broad in scope and embraces a variety of work from writers across the nation. Some of our books have received recognition for literary excellence and for their contribution to the understanding and appreciation of Hawaiʻi's cultures and people. Bamboo Ridge publications have been adopted as texts or recommended reading in high school and college classrooms and have found a diverse audience across the country.
You will find here out-of-print and nearly out-of-print issues dating from 1978."
Bishop Museum's Library and Archives
"Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop..."
Hawaiian Historical Sociey
A private non-profit organization established in 1892.
Hawaiian Mission Houses Digital Collections
"Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives (HMH), an active site for Hawaii’s history since 1820, is a National Historic Landmark (listed in 1965) and accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (last re-accredited in 2010)... The library, which holds both English and Hawaiian archival material, welcomes researchers on site as well as from around the globe through the digital collection... The HMH historical archive holds over 80,000 digital pieces and is home to one of the largest collections of Hawaiian language books in the world."
He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Nūpepa: A Collection of Hawaiian Language Newspapers)
Transcriptions and translations of Hawaiian language newspapers published 1834 - 1948.
Searchable in English or Hawaiian language.
"This project is part of a special project of the Māori Newspaper Collection of the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand."
Hula Preservation Society
HPS is dedicated to documenting and sharing the life stories of living Hula Masters and their efforts to perpetuate hula.
Archive Online Resources | Hula Preservation Society
- HPS Digital 'Umeke
- HPS on Vimeo
- HPS Kauhola Catalog
- Link to Papakilo Database - HPS partner and host to select collections.
Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii
Includes the Tokioka Heritage Resource Center, the Honouliuli Education Center, and the Okage Sama De exhibit.
Native Hawaiian Data Book | Office of Hawaiian Affairs
"The Native Hawaiian Data Book presents research results about Native Hawaiians in an impactful way. It gives a visual view of statistics and trends that shape the conditions of Native Hawaiians. The inaugural edition of the Native Hawaiian Data Book was launched in 1994. Since then, it has been updated multiple times. OHA plans to update the data book every two years."
“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library
Hawaiian and English language books digitized.
'Ulu'ulu: The Henry Ku'ualoha Guigni Moving Image Archive of Hawaii
Films and videotapes related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.
Ka'iwakīloumoku - Kamehameha Schools
Ka'iwakīloumoku Pacific Indigenous Institute | Kamehameha Schools
"... a space to explore the breadth and depth of Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world."
Includes digital collections of images, interviews, mele, and more.
Ka'iwakīloumoku Hawaiian Cultural Center Digital Collections | Kamehameha Schools
"The Ka‘iwakīloumoku Digital Collections comprise a vast array of Hawaiian and Pacific expressions. Home to an assortment of essays, interviews, videos, recipes, and more, we invite you to explore this rich repository. During your visit, we greatly appreciate your consideration and respect for the information, images, and perspectives found here."
Hawai'i State Law Library - Hawai'i Legislative History Research
"Such history is important in determining the legislative intent of a particular statute. Listed are helpful tools to assist in the legislative history process for Hawaiʻi law."
Primary Sources 2021 (webinar) | Hawai'i State Law Library
"In a collaboration with the Hawai‘i State Bar Association, the Supreme Court Law Library offered an online webinar about online primary legal resources. The presenters were Marlene Cuenco, Public Services Librarian, and Joely Alt, Public Services Library Technician. The moderator for the session was Jenny Silbiger, State Law Librarian."
- Primary Sources: Legal Research on the Internet (Zoom recording)
- Primary Sources: Legal Research on the Internet (Slides & Notes in PDF)
- Primary Sources List of URL’s Handout
Sources of Primary Law | Supreme Court Law Library, Hawai‘i State Judiciary
Handout containing URLs for research into Federal, State, and County Legislative Branch primary sources.
"Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research" from SAA
"Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research" from SAA
Hawaiian Government - Pre-Statehood
The Annexation of Hawaii: A Collection of Documents | Hawaiian Collection | University of Hawai'i
- Blount Report
- Hawaii Organic Act
- Anti-Annexation Petition
Viewable as transcription or pdf of scanned document.
The Overthrow of a Queen: Mr. Blount's Report of the Hawaiian Revolution, 1893 | TimesMachine | New York Times
*Access requires New York Times subscription. See "more..." below.
"The Commissioner's Instructions and How They Were Followed — Exhaustive History of the Causes Leading up to the Conspiracy Which Minister Stevens Aided — Successful Only Through His Acts — Annexation Would Be Voted Down in a Fair Election."
"WASHINGTON, Nov. 18 — The report of James H. Blount, Special Commissioner to the Hawaiian Islands, is herewith presented in full:"
1894 Constitutional Convention Records (Hawai'i) | Hawai'i State Archives
"The records of the Constitutional Convention of 1894 include stenographic recordings and minutes of the proceedings, committee reports, resolutions, petitions, amendments, four drafts of the constitution, outgoing correspondence, election results, record of disbursements, sample vouchers for election expenses, and miscellaneous material that were kept by C. T. Rodgers, secretary of the convention. The original constitution is in box CC1894-4.
Below are the digitized Records of the 1894 Constitutional Convention. The originals remain physically at the Hawaiʻi State Archives."
The 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawaii | National Archives - Teaching With Documents
Includes background information and the digitized primary sources:
- 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawai'i with signatures
- 1898 Joint Resolution of Congress to Provide for Annexing the Hawaiian Islands to the United States
- 1898 Letter from Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, to the U.S. House of Representatives Protesting U.S. Assertion of Ownership of Hawai'i.
Annexation of Hawaii: Topics in Chronicling America | Research Guides | Library of Congress
"The United States annexed Hawaii in 1898 at the urging of President William McKinley. This guide provides access to material related to the “Annexation of Hawaii” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
S.J.Res.19 - A joint resolution to acknowledge the 100th anniversary of the January 17, 1893 overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii, and to offer an apology to Native Hawaiians of behalf of the United States | Congres.Gov
"Declares that the Congress: (1) on the 100th anniversary of the illegal overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii on January 17, 1893, acknowledges the historical significance of this event which resulted in the suppression of the inherent sovereignty of the Native Hawaiian people; (2) commends efforts of reconciliation initiated by Hawaii and the United Church of Christ with Native Hawaiians; (3) apologizes for the overthrow and the deprivation of the rights of Native Hawaiians to self-determination; (4) expresses its commitment to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow in order to provide a foundation for reconciliation between the United States and the Native Hawaiian people; and (5) urges the President to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow and to support reconciliation efforts."
1993: President Clinton apologizes for 1893 overthrow of Hawaiian monarchy | Timeline- Native Voices | National Library of Medicine
"President Bill Clinton signs legislation apologizing for the U.S. role in the 1893 overthrow of the Hawaiian monarchy..."
Government Documents - United States
Charters of Freedom | America's Founding Documents | National Archives
Site exploring the "Charters of Freedom": Declaration of Independence; Constitution; Bill of Rights. From the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Constitution | DocsTeach | National Archives
"A Special Page Devoted to Teaching the U.S. Constitution. Primary sources and learning activities related to the Constitution."
Bureau of Indian Affairs Photographs Finding Aid | National Archives
Digitized photographs searchable by Nation, Topic, or State.
Record Group 75, National Archives and Records Administration.
Includes voting record of each Congress member.
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC)..."
Founders Online | National Archives
Transcriptions of primary source documents.
"Through this website, you can read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic."
General Land Office Records | Bureau of Land Management | U.S. Department of the Interior
"Welcome to the Bureau of Land Management(BLM), General Land Office (GLO) Records Automation web site. We provide live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records. Due to organization of documents in the GLO collection, this site does not currently contain every Federal title record issued for the Public Land States."
govinfo | U.S. Government Publishing Office
Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. A service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Indigenous Digital Archive | Museum of Indian Arts & Culture
Archival documents about "the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries."
"To help us think, talk and teach about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our democracy, we invite you to explore 100 milestone documents of American history."
Presidential Library Explorer | National Archives
Links to the digitized holdings of the Presidential Libraries of the National Archives and Records Administration
Rights in America | DocsTeach | National Archives
"Explore the ways Americans have fought for, attained, and protected their rights."
Record Group Explorer | National Archives
Links to the digitized resources of the National Archives and Records Administration.
Records of Rights, exhibition | National Archives
"Explore records of the National Archives documenting the ongoing struggle of Americans to define, attain, and protect their rights."
Treaties Explorer | Indigenous Digital Archive
Hundreds of digitized Native American treaties.
*Click on "Resources" in the upper right corner for curriculum units.
The National Archives in partnership with the Indigenous Digital Archive project of the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture.
Archives Portal Europe
Provides access to information on archival material from different European countries.
Chronicling America (Newspapers) The Library of Congress
Access to America's historic newspapers starting from 1789. National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP); National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH); Library of Congress (LC).
"Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific."
A partnership between the National Library of Australia and the National Library of New Zealand, supported by the Australian Government.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to digital collections held by the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress Research Guides
Search variety of guides from African American Studies to Film to History which includes Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography.
National Screening Room
A collection of digitized historical footage between 1890 and 1999. Content will continue to be added on a monthly basis. Library of Congress.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
Online Exhibits: National Archives
A list of links to online exhibits by the U.S. National Archives.
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.
Smithsonian Open Access
"Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
"NARA is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you..."
U.S. National Archives on Google Arts & Culture
Images from the U.S. National Archives. See "Stories" for images by topic.
"Meaningful WWII battle memorials. Powerful stories. Engaging classroom activities."
An ABMC and NCA Education Project.
Archivists strive to care for the stories and items of history so that they may be passed on to future generations.
See the below links for more information.
Archivists, Curators, and Museum Workers | Occupational Outlook Handbook | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, including education, duties, pay, outlook, etc.
"Archivists preserve important or historically significant documents and records. They coordinate educational and public outreach programs, such as tours, lectures, and classes. They also may work with researchers on topics and items relevant to their collections."
Archivists | O*Net OnLine
Occupation tasks and skills listings.
O*Net is "a source on key characteristics of workers and occupations."
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor,
Employment & Training Administration,
and developed by the National Center for O*NET Development.
Code of Ethics for Archivists
Society of American Archivists Council approved.
Core Values of Archivists
Society of American Archivists Council approved.
Role of the Archivist
Very brief summary of the quality and ethics an archivist aspires to, from the New London Archives.
So, what exactly does an archivist do?
A description of the role and responsibilities of an Archivist from the blog "Anthroarchivist."
What Is An Archives?
Click on the above link to read an article from the Society of American Archivists.
Professional Membership Organizations:
Association of Hawai'i Archivists
An organization founded in 1989 providing resources and professional development opportunities for archivists, librarians, curators, historians, and cultural/heritage institutions.
Society of American Archivists
"North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists."
International Council on Archives
"The ICA believes that effective records and archives management is an essential precondition for good governance, the rule of law, administrative transparency, the preservation of mankind's collective memory, and access to information by citizens."
Teaching and Primary Sources
Document Analysis Worksheets | National Archives
Analyze: photograph; written document; artifact or object; poster; map; cartoon; video; sound recordings; artwork.
- Worksheets for Novice or Younger Students, or Those Learning English
- Worksheets for Intermediate or Secondary Students
Teacher's Guides and Analysis Tool | Library of Congress
Teacher guides for analyzing various formats (books, maps, photos, etc) and analysis tool (worksheet) for students.
Historical Thinking Concept Templates | Historical Thinking Project
Worksheets for each of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.
Guideposts to Historical Thinking | Historical Thinking Project
Explanation of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.
"The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives."
DocsTeach | Recorded Webinars
"Our self-serve mini-webinars cover DocsTeach basics and tips for online teaching. Each webinar is approximately 20 minutes."
Education Resources: Library of Congress
Education resources from the Library of Congress, including lesson plans, primary source sets, professional development, etc.
TPS Consortium Journal | Teaching with Primary Sources Consortium
"Strategies and Resources for Teaching with Library of Congress Primary Sources from the TPS Consortium --
The TPS Consortium Journal [Spring 2021 -] is a peer-reviewed, online publication created by members of the Teaching with Primary Sources (TPS) Consortium. Published biannually, each themed issue focuses on approaches to teaching effectively with Library of Congress digitized primary sources. The TPS Consortium Journal offers primary source-based suggestions, strategies, reflections, and findings relating to timely topics from some of the country’s most engaged educational thinkers and practitioners."
Predecessor: TPS Journal (2008-2016), link to the journal archive also available on this site.
Educator Resources: National Archives
Resources and education updates for teaching with archives from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
“Education Updates” Blog: National Archives
“New teaching tools, lesson plans, learning activities, student field trips, professional development opportunities, newly available primary sources, and multi-media and web content.”
Primary Source Sets | Digital Public Library of America
"Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use."
Smithsonian's History Explorer
Developed by the National Museum of American History for use by K-12 teachers and students.
"resource for teachers, administrators, librarians, archivists, and museum educators. It offers sample exercises and informative articles based on a new approach to teaching in the archives...the result of Students and Faculty in the Archives (SAFA), a three-year grant at Brooklyn Historical Society (BHS)..."
Teaching with Historic Places (TwHP)
National Park Service.
"Teaching with Historic Places (TwHP) uses historic places in National Parks and in the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places to enliven history, social studies, geography, civics, and other subjects. TwHP has created a variety of products and activities that help teachers bring historic places into the classroom."
Teaching with Primary Sources Collective
"Intended for anyone teaching with primary sources, the TPS Collective invites educators to exchange ideas, cultivate relationships, reflect on pedagogy, learn from other practitioners, contribute lessons and resources, and engage with your community."
Professional Development for Educators
A U.S. National Archives YouTube channel.
"Previously recorded webinars and National History Day Workshops featuring primary sources and teaching strategies."