Skip to Main Content

'Iolani School Archives: School History

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

 

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

Current Knowledge

This page reflects current knowledge of the history of 'Iolani School. History is always revealing itself, providing the opportunity for ongoing learning.

Monarchy Patrons

King Kamehameha IV and Queen Emma
Images: Hawai'i State Archives, call # PP-97-8-011 and PP-96-4-009

In 1862, following a request from King Kamehameha IV and Queen Emma to the Church of England, the first Anglican bishop and priests arrived to establish the Diocese of Honolulu.

"I may mention a very interesting fact, in connection with the subject, that your Majesty is the first independent sovereign who has invited an English Church Establishment into his dominions."
Manley Hopkins to King Kamehameha IV, 9 March 1860, Box 1, Folder 3, MS 127 Manley Hopkins Letters to Kamehameha IV 1858 - 1862, Bishop Museum Archives.

For more about King Kamehameha IV click here.
For more about Queen Emma click here.

The Beginning

Ka Moolelo O Iolani, 1945

Print Histories of the School

Villers, Ernest Gilbert. A History of Iolani School. Honolulu: 1940.
Available at ‘Iolani and University of Hawai‘i libraries.
 
Villers, Ernest Gilbert. A History of Iolani School, Section II, March 1940 to June 1959. Honolulu: 1959.
Available at ‘Iolani and University of Hawai‘i libraries.
 
Lum, Arlene, ed. At Thy Call We Gather: Iolani School. Honolulu: Iolani School, 1997.
Available at ‘Iolani, University of Hawai‘i, and public libraries.
Errata for At Thy Call We Gather:
Page 28, col. 2, line 18   ...Sun Yat-Sen was known as Sun Tai Cheong when he 
      attended Iolani (1879-1882).
Page 45, photo 19   The Stones were leaving Hawaii for a year-long sabbatical, 1938.
Page 59, photo 51   Photo is of William Buttles.
Page 281, photo 1   Claire and Jackie Mosteller
Page 296                 Next to last line should read “...Mike Yuen; Arlene Lum ....”   
                  
Johnson, Don and Ronald Oba. The Ol’ Man: Father Kenneth A. Bray. Honolulu: Iolani Raiders Booster Club, 1994.
Available at ‘Iolani and public libraries.

Anglican Mission Rare Book Collection at 'Iolani School Archives

The Anglican Mission Rare Book Collection (MS-017) contains volumes discussing early mission life and activities in the Kingdom of Hawai'i. Established as the Hawaiian Reformed Catholic Church, it later became the Anglican Church of Hawai'i.

Available digitally via Google Books:
Mission Life: A Magazine of Information About Church Missions, and the Countries In Which They Are Being Carried On, Vol. I
by ed. Rev. J.J. Halcombe
Publication Date: 1866

Available digitally via University of North Dakota, UND Scholarly Commons:
The Net Cast in Many Waters Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1866
by ed. Anne Mackenzie
Publication Date: 1866
Part of the Settler Literature Archive.

Available digitally via Google Books:
The Net Cast in Many Waters Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1867
by ed. Anne Mackenzie
Publication Date: 1867

Available digitally via HathiTrust:
Hawaii 1778 - 1920 from the Viewpoint of a Bishop
by Rt. Rev. Henry Bond Restarick, D. D., Retired Bishop
Publication Date: 1924


Related:

Bishop Staley

Bishop Thomas Nettleship Staley 

(Bishop of Honolulu 1861- 1870)

 

Appointed first Bishop for the missionary district of Honolulu in December 1861. Staley arrived in October 1862, sent by the English Church in response to requests from King Kamehameha IV to establish a mission in his kingdom. He formed the Hawaiian Reformed Catholic Church (later the Anglican Church of Hawai'i). 

In 1863, Bishop Staley, Rev. George Mason, and Rev. Edmund Ibbotson, with the patronage of the King and Queen, established St. Alban's College ('Iolani School).

For more about Bishop Staley click here.

Historical Summaries & School Songs

Coeducation Dates

'Iolani was founded as an all boys school. The implementation to coeducation was gradual.

  • Coeducation began in Fall 1979 (school year 1979/80).
  • Grade 7 (class of 1985) is the youngest coeducational grade at onset in SY 1979/80.
  • 1982- two girls appear in the class graduation photograph.
  • 1983- First large group of girls appearing in class graduation photograph.
  • Fall 1985 (SY 1985/86) girls began entering kindergarten.
  • First Daughters of ‘Iolani = class of 1998

Evolution Of A Name

Many changes have taken place in the long history of the school; including name changes:

  • St. Alban's College
  • Lahainalalo or Luaehu College (in Lahaina)
  • Iolani College (also known as Bishop's College School)
  • 'Iolani School

 

Conflicting Information
In materials reviewed, ‘Iolani as the school name has been attributed to both Queen Emma and King Kamehameha V.
Primary source documentation has yet to be explored in order to make the determination.
Kamehameha V is mentioned as naming the school in the
Hawaiian Church Chronicle, August 1930, page 3:

"On an official visit to the school, Kamehameha V gave it the name of Iolani."
and the issue of conflicting information is shown when reprinting memories of early student James H. Boyd in the
Hawaiian Church Chronicle, December 1930, page 12:
"Very soon, however, Mr. Mason leased the Booth premises in Pauoa, and the school was transferred to that place. A new building was immediately put up and duly inaugurated, Queen Emma giving it the name of Iolani School.
(Note- The late Pierre Jones told Bishop Restarick that Kamehameha V gave Iolani its name.)"
The mentioned Pierre Jones is a past head of school, school year 1873/74 - 1887/88.

School Locations

Since its small beginnings, the needs of 'Iolani School have grown and changed. Campus location has changed several times to meet those needs.

  • Parsonage House, Kukui Street, Honolulu, O'ahu: 1863 briefly
  • Ka'ala, Pauoa Valley, O'ahu: 1863 - 1888
  • Lahaina, Maui: End of 1863 or 1864 - 1868
  • Bates Street, Nu'uanu Valley, O'ahu: 1873 - 1901
  • St. Andrew's Cathedral Grounds, Honolulu, O'ahu: 1901 - 1927
  • Judd Street and Nu'uanu Avenue, O'ahu: 1927 - June 1953
  • Kamoku Street (Ala Wai Campus), Honolulu, O'ahu: Nov. 1946 - present

O'ahu - Maui Merger

 

Biennial Report May 1868 merger news
(Click to enlarge clip.)

 

~   ~   ~

Announcement of school year post merger.
(Click to enlarge clip.)

Mason

Reverend George Mason

(Warden 1863-64, 1868-72)


Rev. Mason was part of the initial party that arrived on O‘ahu with Bishop Staley in 1862. He played a crucial role in establishing the school and was the first Warden.
The 1862 newspaper article announcing opening of registration states that

"The Warden will receive a limited number of boarders.
The School will be conducted for the present at the Parsonage House."
The Parsonage House was the home of Mr. and Mrs. Mason. He also conducted early work at the Lahaina location and then returned to O‘ahu with the students to merge the two in March 1868.

For more about Rev. Mason click here.

Incorporation

An Episcopal school from its founding, 'Iolani became an independent school
January 20, 1942.


Clip from the Hawaiian Church Chronicle, February 1942
(Click to enlarge clip.)

Heads of School

This list, compiled from our sources in the Archives, is not definitive or all-inclusive; much of the early information is unavailable or unclear. Titles were used inconsistently and sometimes interchangeably. Years indicate the end of the school year; for example, "1950" denotes the 1949-50 school year. 

 

Head

Dates

Mason, George 

1863-64, 1868-72

Scott, William Richard

1863

Ibbotson, Edmund J.

1863-65

Hart, G.W.

1866, 1868

Turner, Charles William

1866-68, 1873

Warren, Edward

1968

Higgins, H.

1870

Atkinson, Alatau T.

ca. 1871, 1874-88

Williamson, C.T.

ca. 1871-1887

Swan, William Alexander

1873-74, 1882-84

Jones, Pierre

1874-88

Clark, Abel

1875-80, ca. 1887

Suplee, Thomas D.

1879-80

Baker, Brookes Ono

1880-81

Willis, Bishop Alfred  

1880

Whalley, Herbert

1882

White, C. Henry

1885-86

Barnes, William Henry

1886

Kitcat, V.H. 

1888

Bush, John

1889-94

Paetow, F.C.

1885

Hughes, John V.

1896

Fenn, R.J.

1897-98

Lane, John

1898

Fitz, Frank S.

1899, 1901-05

Blackman, Leopold G.

1900

Morgan, J.B.

1906

Bliss, Witt H. 

1907-09

Dodd, I. Neal

1908

Hall, Albert L. 

1909-10

Saylor, Frank A. 

1911-13

Kroll, Leopold 

1913-17

Hinkley, Thurston R. 

1917-19

Ottman, Donald R. 

1920-21

Tracy, Leland H. 

1922

Caldwell, Roberta

1922

Woods, Maitland 

1922

Spencer, Robert S.

1923-25

Hinckley, Thurston R. 

1926-30

Collins, James Philmore

1931

Stone, Albert H. 

1932-44

Young, Charles Herbert

1938-39

Eshelman, John Carl

1941-42

Buttles, W. William

1943-44

Lyon-Vaiden, Arthur 

1945-46

Monell, Ralph P.

1947-50

Parmiter, Charles A. 

1951-54

McDonald, Frederick

1955-59

MacLean, Burton A.

1960-70

Coon, David P.

1971-92

Miller, Thomas H.

1993-95

Iwashita, Val T.

1996-2012

Cottrell, Timothy R.

2013-

 

A more detailed list can be found at:

Related Information


Hawai'i Education Reports

Available digitally via HathiTrust from various collecting institutions.

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.