The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.
"The waiting isles": a sermon preached at the farewell service of the mission to the Sandwich Islands, in Westminster Abbey, July 23, 1862 | Talbot Collection of British Pamphlets | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign by An inaugural sermon, preached in the temporary Cathedral of Honolulu, October 18, 1862, by the Right Rev. the Bishop of the Diocese by Five Years' Church Work in the Kingdom of Hawaii by Appointed the first Bishop for the missionary district of Honolulu in December 1861, Thomas Nettleship Staley arrived in October 1862 sent by the English Church in response to requests from King Kamehameha IV to establish a mission in his kingdom. He formed the Hawaiian Reformed Catholic Church (later the Anglican Church of Hawai'i).
In 1863, Bishop Staley, Archdeacon George Mason, and Rev. Edmund Ibbotson, with the patronage of the King and Queen, established St. Alban's College ('Iolani School).
Timeline:
October through December 1862, missionaries arrived, founded the church in the islands, and prepared to open the school.
The Anglican Mission Rare Book Collection (MS-017) contains volumes discussing early mission life and activities in the Kingdom of Hawai'i. Established as the Hawaiian Reformed Catholic Church, it later became the Anglican Church of Hawai'i.
Mission Life: A Magazine Consisting Chiefly of Readings on Foreign Lands with Reference to the Scenes and Circumstances of Mission Life, Vol. I by Available digitally via Google Books:
Mission Life: A Magazine of Information About Church Missions, and the Countries In Which They Are Being Carried On, Vol. I
by ed. Rev. J.J. Halcombe
Publication Date: 1866
The Net Cast in Many Waters: Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1866 by Available digitally via University of North Dakota, UND Scholarly Commons:
The Net Cast in Many Waters Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1866
by ed. Anne Mackenzie
Publication Date: 1866
Part of the Settler Literature Archive.
The Net Cast in Many Waters: Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1867 by Available digitally via Google Books:
The Net Cast in Many Waters Sketches from the Life of Missionaries for 1867
by ed. Anne Mackenzie
Publication Date: 1867
Hawaii 1778 - 1920 from the Viewpoint of a Bishop: Being the Story of English and American Churchmen in Hawaii by Available digitally via HathiTrust:
Hawaii 1778 - 1920 from the Viewpoint of a Bishop
by Rt. Rev. Henry Bond Restarick, D. D., Retired Bishop
Publication Date: 1924
A Tapestry of Memories: An Autobiography by Portrait of a Missionary Bishop by Queen Emma and the Bishop by Related:
"The waiting isles": a sermon preached at the farewell service of the mission to the Sandwich Islands, in Westminster Abbey, July 23, 1862 | Talbot Collection of British Pamphlets | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign by An inaugural sermon, preached in the temporary Cathedral of Honolulu, October 18, 1862, by the Right Rev. the Bishop of the Diocese by The Sandwich Islands and their People by Five Years' Church Work in the Kingdom of Hawaii by The Net Cast in Many Waters: Sketches from the Life of Missionaries, for 1868 by For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours.
© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.