'Iolani School Archives: Student Journalism Legacy -- Imua Over Generations

*Also see the Teaching and Primary Sources box in the Links tab of this guide.

Newsroom Faculty / Imua 'Iolani Advisors!

This is an opportunity for students who are new to the Newsroom course / Imua 'Iolani staff to see the impact of the student journalists who have come before them. Historical volumes of the student newspaper will illustrate the importance of documenting current events and having the courage to present difficult or uncomfortable topics. Students will see the lasting legacy of a platform which has the power to be a leader in student discourse, and learn how to access this primary source collection as a foundation and tool in their reporting journey.

 

Grade: Upper School student journalists

 

Location: 'Iolani School Archives

 

Time allotment: 45-50 minutes

 

Materials:
Each student should bring their school issued iPad.

 

What is an archive?

• Physical place
• Collection
• one-of-a-kind / irreplaceable
• many different with various topics
• organization vs. library

 

What is this Archives?

• ‘Iolani focus: founding, people, events
• LibGuide: History of school, primary source collections links
• Catalog

 

Student responsibilities for access:

• advance notice: email / appointment - *1 week minimum (and that's pushing it); I will let you know if we have any related materials and pull them for your appointment.
• Do your own research - ex: you select images from materials that I provide. I do not cross over into interpreting for you.
• No circulation (checkout)
• bring a personal device
• pencils only, no pens
• sign-in - if teacher checks to account for your time
• no food/drink

 

Handling archival materials:

• use gloves for images and metals
• clean hands
• two hands
• one at a time
• gently/slowly
• flipping over in order
• do not separate materials

 

Imua 'Iolani
Holdings: 1920s & 1940s - now (no 1930s) [evidence at the turn of the century]
Existence:

• Iolani Newsette ? - 1925
• InLook 1926 - 1934
• Imua 1934 - present

Richness
Document student life BUT also how world issues are affecting school.
This lends itself to local/regional information about the time period. [Context Funnel]

• War era:
  • WWII - format changes to mimeograph, a cost saving method during a time of rationing
  • Vietnam War - illustrates the active and in-depth political discourse of students
• Social justice issues:
  • race
  • gender identity
  • gun violence
  • environmental issues

These are not just issues here on campus- the New York Times also did an issue on race [2019], and on gender identity a few years before that. Lends itself to research; for example: 40 years from now the identifying term "cisgender" may become the norm. Someone may want to research: When did that happen? Why? What lead up to the change? What was done? etc. And they could look at Imua to see that snapshot for the school culture. This is valuable sociocultural insight.

 

Things to think about: Important Questions

• tokenizing / silences
• reparative redescription efforts in collecting institution; humanizing the marginalized
• This is how your work will be scrutinized in the future.
  Challenge: model self-awareness; think about these items when writing your stories.

 

Exhibit viewing

---

Items on Display

• 1923, May 25 (earliest holding)
• 1941, Oct. 17 (encapsulated, only edition that year, Pearl Harbor bombing)
• 1942, Oct. 5 (WWII era)
• 1968, Nov. 21 (Vietnam War era)
• 2001, Oct 9 (Terrorist attacks 9/11)
• 2017, Nov. "Race"
• 2018, March "Sexuality and Gender"
• Awards
• Image - Multigraph Department, KMOI 1929
  (only 35 years after the introduction of the multigraph in 1895)
• Printing bock die [AF_pubs_1 & 2, box 33]

Student Journalism Legacy – Imua Over Generations
Grades: Upper School student journalists

Learning Objectives:

1. Conceptualize
C. Draw on primary sources to generate and refine research questions.
D. Understand that research is an iterative process and that as primary sources are found and analyzed the research question(s) may change.

2. Find and access
A. Identify the possible locations of primary sources.
B. Use appropriate, efficient, and effective search strategies in order to locate primary sources. Be familiar with the most common ways primary sources are described, such as catalog records and archival finding aids.
C. Distinguish between catalogs, databases, and other online resources that contain information about sources, versus those that contain digital versions, ordinals, or copies of the sources themselves.
D. Understand that historical records may never have existed, may not have survived, or may not be collected and / or publicly accessible. Existing records may have been shaped by the selectivity and mediation of individuals such as collectors, archivists, librarians, donors, and / or publishers, potentially limiting the sources available for research.
E. Recognize and understand the policies and procedures that affect access to primary sources, and that these differ across repositories, databases, and collections.

3. Read, Understand and Summarize
A. Examine a primary source, which may require the ability to read a particular script, font, or language, to understand or operate a particular technology, or to comprehend vocabulary, syntax, and communication norms of the time period and location where the source was created.
B. Identify and communicate information found in primary sources, including summarizing the content of source and identifying and reporting key components such as how it was created by whom, when, and what it is.
C. Understand that a primary source may exist in a variety of iterations, including excerpts, transcriptions, and translations, due to publication, copying and other transformations.

4. Interpret, Analyze and Evaluate
A. Assess the appropriateness of a primary source for meeting the goals of a specific research or creative project.
B. Critically evaluate the perspective of the creator(s) of a primary source, including tone, subjectivity, and biases, and consider how these relate to the original purpose(s) and audiences(s) of the source.
C. Situate a primary source in context by applying knowledge about the time and culture in which it was created, the author or creator, in format, genre, publication history, or related materials in a collection.
D. As part of the analysis of available resources, identify, interrogate, and consider the reasons for silence, gaps, contradictions, or evidence of power relationships in the documentary record and how they impact the research process.
F. Demonstrate historical empathy, curiosity about the past, and appreciation for historical sources and historical actors.

5. Use and Incorporate
A. Examine and synthesize a variety of sources in order to construct, support, or dispute a research argument.
B. Use primary sources in a manner that respects privacy rights and cultural contexts.
C. Cite primary sources in accordance with appropriate citation style guidelines or according to repository practice and preferences (when possible).
D. Adhere to copyright and privacy laws when incorporating primary source information in a research or creative project.

---