The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.
Above steps by the National Archives
(Click to enlarge.)
Thanks for reviewing a draft of
"Important Questions" go to
Dr. Melissa Perkins,
'Iolani School History Faculty
2021 Hawai'i History Teacher of the Year
(Click to enlarge.)
*Also see the Teaching and Primary Sources box in the Links tab of this guide.
"Learn to tell the difference between primary and secondary sources by becoming a contestant on everybody's favorite new game show, Wheel of Sources! Click on the interactive video to get started."
UCLA Library WI+RE (Writing Instruction + Research Education)
1-click access available to the Archives site via 'Iolani School issued iPads.
This page contains lesson supplement ideas for 'Iolani School faculty.
It includes active learning experiences and teaching with primary sources available in the 'Iolani School Archives.
Integrating archival collections into curriculum is a wonderful way to develop primary source literacy, visual literacy, information literacy, and critical thinking skills. 'Iolani School is in the unique position of having an archive on-campus, providing an opportunity for place-based learning and capturing student attention through connections with historical events.
Primary sources in the classroom:
When engaging with primary sources, remember to:
Supplemental experiences with the resources below, and on the War & Conflict subject pages of this guide, are available for your consideration. They are primarily meant to compliment your existing teaching units.
K-1 Faculty!
As you continue your lessons related to building community for our youngest members, please consider this activity as a means of integrating primary source materials and place-based learning. It introduces students to a primary source photograph while promoting teamwork and observation.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Grade: K-1; can be modified for other grades.
Location: Classroom or 'Iolani School Archives. Adaptable for Distance Learning.
2nd Grade Faculty!
As 'Iolani second graders develop into the historians they have the opportunity to visit the Archives to learn about the rich history and traditions of our school. This is a wonderful way to begin the year which will see them delving into family histories and sparking conversations about related major events. The Archives experience will introduce the students to new vocabulary, primary sources, improve visual literacy, and encourage inquiry with the added benefit of personal connection to history through shared place.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing leaching units.
Grade: 2
Location: 'Iolani School Archives. Adaptable for Distance Learning.
4th Grade Faculty!
Following the Captain Cook voyages classroom unit that is part of the 4th grade history of Hawai'i curriculum, students have the opportunity to visit the 'Iolani School Archives to view observations made by the crew. Students will be introduced to primary source images, encouraged to make observations, and analyze. The experience will improve visual literacy and introduce archives as a type of information resource.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Grade: 4
Location: 'Iolani School Archives
Grade 6, 7, 8 Faculty!
Grades 6 through 8 are a time of new friendships. This lesson utilizes primary source documents and artifacts to relate the history of the One Team ethos at 'Iolani School and discuss the personal character of those who embody it.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Grade: 6 - 8
Location: Classroom or 'Iolani School Archives
Upper School Faculty!
King Kamehameha IV and Queen Emma are known as philanthropic leaders who were concerned for the welfare of their people.
We at 'Iolani School honor them annually during our K-12 Founders' Day celebration. This lesson provides students the opportunity to connect with historical events and create context through place using the words of King Kamehameha IV. Students will exercise primary source literacy and critical thinking skills while creating inferences to answer document-based questions. The lesson can be applied to courses discussing the Hawaiian Renaissance, history of Hawai'i, and other contemporary issues. Writing assignments can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Grade: 8-12
Location: Classroom or 'Iolani School Archives or Distance Learning
Upper School Faculty!
Major historical events can often seem abstract to students given geographic distance and time period. This supplemental, interactive experience will show relevance to students through connections of people and place. Students will exercise primary source and visual literacy by closely examining historical images and documents. They will use critical thinking skills to complete writing assignments which can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal. Students will also be exposed to other U.S. historical collections.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Station writing prompts developed by History faculty member William Monaco.
Grade: 9-12
Location: 'Iolani School Archives. Adaptable for Distance Learning.
Upper School Faculty!
Like many institutions, ’Iolani School was heavily affected by the December 7, 1941 surprise attack on Pearl Harbor and the subsequent United States entry into the Second World War. This supplemental, interactive experience will share the experiences of 'Iolani students and faculty thereby humanizing this major historical event. Students will exercise primary source and visual literacy by closely examining historical images and documents. They will use critical thinking skills and knowledge of current events to complete writing assignments which can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal. Students will also be exposed to other U.S. historical collections. The scope of this in-Archives experience is limited to the 'Iolani community and the Japanese American experience.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Grade: 9-12
Location: 'Iolani School Archives.
Upper School Faculty!
This multimedia exhibition featuring items from several collections, including the National Archives, provides students a unique opportunity to learn about the history of Women's Suffrage. They will improve primary source and visual literacy by experiencing history portrayed using various outlets. They will use critical thinking skills to complete writing assignments which can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal. Students will also be exposed to other U.S. historical collections.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.
Writing assignments and prompts developed by English faculty member Yakshi Palmer.
Grade: 9-12; can be modified for 7-8
Location: 'Iolani School Archives. Adaptable for Distance Learning.
Upper School Faculty!
The Seto and Ai families figure prominently in the history of 'Iolani School. This lesson provides the opportunity for student to learn more about family names they encounter on Campus through primary sources available at the school Archives. They will use critical thinking skills to complete writing assignments which can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal. Student will also be exposed to other U.S. historical collections.
Grade: 11-12
Location: Classroom or 'Iolani School Archives or Distance Learning
Upper School Faculty!
Cultural and artistic expression are invaluable components of society.
Complications quickly arise during cross-cultural experience and/or exchange.
This lesson examines attitudes that arise from such encounters when considering dance, with an emphasis on Hula. A large focus is placed on giving students the opportunity to reflect personally and critically on the archival and contemporary materials presented. Students will exercise primary source literacy, visual literacy, and critical thinking skills while creating inferences to answer document and audio-visual based questions. Prompts can be accomplished via written assignments, either formal or informal, and/or class discussion.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units, and has potential application for courses in the following academics departments: Performing Arts, History, English.
Grade: 9 - 12
Location: Classroom or 'Iolani School Archives. Adaptable for Distance Learning.
'Iolani School has a rich history in the Hawaiian Islands. Since its founding in 1863, it has seen the change from kingdom, to republic, to territory, to state. The school has adjusted to leadership changes, weathered challenging times, and participated in political discourse and change. Likewise, the school has felt the effects of major world events with faculty, staff, and students participating in various ways.
Building Sociocultural Competence
with
Primary Source Instruction
Primary source materials can be powerful partners as we try to educate young minds not to dismiss, minimize, or justify issues as being the way things are/were, but to identify and critique the inequality and injustice.
It is in this way of analyzing the true weight of past social norms, and realizing the danger of attempts to silence such analysis, that current and future generations may strive toward awareness and equity.
I firmly believe this can be adapted for the spectrum of K-12 teaching and learning.
Ingraining awareness and self-awareness, as well as allowing for continual missteps and growth with kindness is what will lead to positive change.
Many collecting institutions know the importance of acquiring materials that represent various viewpoints, and capturing social norms of various eras; it is not an endorsement but rather an opportunity for learning. There is potential in memory and heritage collections as agents of social change by providing meaningful primary source experiences during the critical character and values building years of childhood, grades K-12.
Best wishes,
Georgina Tom, Archivist
Graduate Certificate Museum Studies
Master of Library and Information Science
| Archives & Special Collections Specialty
Digital Archives Specialist
(Society of American Archivists)
Hawai'i State Archives
University of Hawai'i
Bishop Museum
Hula Preservation Society
This link opens in a new windowKa'iwakīloumoku - Kamehameha Schools
Legislative Research
For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours.
© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.
