Teacher Resources: Resources

Ideas and support for instruction, classroom management, educational technology, and more.

"The New EdTech Classroom brings you weekly education technology tutorials from Sam Kary, a veteran middle school teacher and instructional coach. Learn how to use the most important features of the most innovative and impactful education technology software. In addition to nuts and bolts, Sam also shares lesson plan ideas as well as implementation tips to help you start using technology in your classroom right away!"

"IEJME is a peer-reviewed online academic journal devoted to disseminate new research and theory in the field of mathematics education."
Open Access; published 3 times a year.

"(JUME) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, academic journal published twice a year. The mission of the journal is to foster a transformative global academic space in mathematics that embraces critical research, emancipatory pedagogy, and scholarship of engagement in urban communities. Here, the view of the urban domain extends beyond the geographical context, into the lives of people within the multitude of cultural, social, and political spaces in which mathematics teaching and learning takes place."

"(TISE) reports on studies of the use of technology to improve statistics learning at all levels, from kindergarten to graduate school and professional development. The editors believe we must teach students to become data scientists who can think about and reason with data. To do this educators must employ a variety of technologies so students can better understand statistical concepts, learn to gain insight from data, and design and shape technology to meet future needs."
Open Access

" (JSDSE) is an open access peer-reviewed journal published by the American Statistical Association. It disseminates accessible knowledge for the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including: elementary, secondary, post-secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education. Although JSDSE is a journal of the American Statistical Association, submissions are welcome from educators, practitioners, and researchers around the world."

"Explore literature in context /
Discovering Literature brings to life the social, political and cultural context in which key works of literature were written. Enjoy digitised treasures from our collection, newly commissioned articles, short documentary films and teachers’ notes."

"Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism."

"The Six Pillars of Character are the core ethical values of CHARACTER COUNTS! These values were identified by a nonpartisan, secular group of youth development experts in 1992 as core ethical values that transcend cultural, religious, and socioeconomic differences."

Article by Carolyn MacCann, Ph.D.
Psychology Today
June 13, 2020

"Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books. Dr. Jean Mendoza joined AICL as a co-editor in 2016."

"Here are more than 70 carefully selected lists of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators." With link to the "Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children's Books."

Browse books by culture, subject, theme, etc., or search for activity by title.

Browse books by Subject; view lesson plans and activities.

By Louise Derman-Sparks

"LGBTQ Reads is a site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQIAP+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler."
Includes lists of "Books featuring characters anywhere on the queer and/or trans spectra (including but not limited to Queer, Questioning, Undefined, Lesbian, Transgender, Bisexual, Pansexual, Asexual, Demisexual, Aromantic, Intersex, Genderfluid, Genderqueer, Agender, Bigender, Demigender, Two-Spirit, and/or Non-Binary)."

"Recently, ten librarians from across the country, brought together by the American Library
Association (ALA) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority Investor Education Foundation
(FINRA Foundation), gathered for a series of virtual meetings. Their goal: to create an inclusive list of
financial education titles for children and teens.
Why were these librarians so focused on identifying thoughtful and inclusive financial education
books? Because teaching young people financial understanding and sound practices requires a
genuine embrace of diversity. Our financial world works best when everyone can participate and
when it responds to and respects the many cultures, backgrounds, experiences, circumstances, and
values comprising our society."

Various resources about book selection and a blog including book recommendations. The OurStory book database is free but requires login.

Summer reading booklists by year, created by educators.
"The We Are Kid Lit Collective works to create materials and opportunities to recognize the humanity of Indigenous and People of Color (IPOC) in youth literature."

A chronology of Hawaiian government presented in table format with government type, events, and dates.

"The records of the Constitutional Convention of 1894 include stenographic recordings and minutes of the proceedings, committee reports, resolutions, petitions, amendments, four drafts of the constitution, outgoing correspondence, election results, record of disbursements, sample vouchers for election expenses, and miscellaneous material that were kept by C. T. Rodgers, secretary of the convention. The original constitution is in box CC1894-4.
Below are the digitized Records of the 1894 Constitutional Convention. The originals remain physically at the Hawaiʻi State Archives."

Includes background information and the digitized primary sources:
- 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawai'i with signatures
- 1898 Joint Resolution of Congress to Provide for Annexing the Hawaiian Islands to the United States
- 1898 Letter from Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, to the U.S. House of Representatives Protesting U.S. Assertion of Ownership of Hawai'i.

The Judiciary History Center provides "learning opportunities about the judicial process and Hawaii’s legal history from pre-contact to present."

Includes curriculum guide and units.

Primary source set.

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

"... a space to explore the breadth and depth of Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world."
Includes digital collections of images, interviews, mele, and more.

Video lessons, virtual field trips, and tutorials.

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...

“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U. S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Educator Resources from the U.S. National Archives by historical era.

Analyze: photograph; written document; artifact or object; poster; map; cartoon; video; sound recordings; artwork.
- Worksheets for Novice or Younger Students, or Those Learning English
- Worksheets for Intermediate or Secondary Students

Teacher guides for analyzing various formats (books, maps, photos, etc) and analysis tool (worksheet) for students.

Worksheets for each of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.

Explanation of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.

"The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives."

"Our self-serve mini-webinars cover DocsTeach basics and tips for online teaching. Each webinar is approximately 20 minutes."

Education resources from the Library of Congress, including lesson plans, primary source sets, professional development, etc.

"Strategies and Resources for Teaching with Library of Congress Primary Sources from the TPS Consortium --
The TPS Consortium Journal [Spring 2021 -] is a peer-reviewed, online publication created by members of the Teaching with Primary Sources (TPS) Consortium. Published biannually, each themed issue focuses on approaches to teaching effectively with Library of Congress digitized primary sources. The TPS Consortium Journal offers primary source-based suggestions, strategies, reflections, and findings relating to timely topics from some of the country’s most engaged educational thinkers and practitioners."
Predecessor: TPS Journal (2008-2016), link to the journal archive also available on this site.

Resources and education updates for teaching with archives from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.

“New teaching tools, lesson plans, learning activities, student field trips, professional development opportunities, newly available primary sources, and multi-media and web content.”

"The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress is home to a wealth of primary source materials, many of which you and your students can use online. These document American history and culture from the colonial period to the present. They include papers of presidents, journals of sea captains, notebooks of inventors, manuscripts of poets, letters and diaries written by ordinary Americans, and more."

"Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use."

Developed by the National Museum of American History for use by K-12 teachers and students.

"resource for teachers, administrators, librarians, archivists, and museum educators. It offers sample exercises and informative articles based on a new approach to teaching in the archives...the result of Students and Faculty in the Archives (SAFA), a three-year grant at Brooklyn Historical Society (BHS)..."

National Park Service.
"Teaching with Historic Places (TwHP) uses historic places in National Parks and in the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places to enliven history, social studies, geography, civics, and other subjects. TwHP has created a variety of products and activities that help teachers bring historic places into the classroom."

"By and For the Teaching with Primary Sources Community"
"The Teaching with Primary Sources (TPS) Collective is an online hub that brings together resources, professional development and support for those who teach with primary sources, including librarians, archivists, teachers, cultural heritage professionals, and anyone who has an interest in using primary sources in an educational setting."

"This guide is for K-12 educators seeking digital primary sources to use in their classrooms."

"Education Updates" by the National Archives.

"Education Updates" by the National Archives.

"Education Updates" from the National Archives.

"Education Updates" by the National Archives.