LibGuides: 'Iolani School Archives: Cook Voyages

Above steps by the National Archives

Teaching with Primary Sources

Document Analysis Worksheets | National Archives
Analyze: photograph; written document; artifact or object; poster; map; cartoon; video; sound recordings; artwork.
- Worksheets for Novice or Younger Students, or Those Learning English
- Worksheets for Intermediate or Secondary Students
Teacher's Guides and Analysis Tool | Library of Congress
Teacher guides for analyzing various formats (books, maps, photos, etc) and analysis tool (worksheet) for students.
Historical Thinking Concept Templates | Historical Thinking Project
Worksheets for each of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.
more...less...
Six Historical Thinking Concepts:
1- Establish HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE;
2- Use primary source EVIDENCE;
3- Identify CONTINUITY and CHANGE;
4- Analyze CAUSE and CONSEQUENCE;
5- Take HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES; and
6- Understand the ETHICAL DIMENSION of historical interpretations.
Developed by Dr. Peter Seixas, Jill Colyer, and Tom Morton.
Guideposts to Historical Thinking | Historical Thinking Project
Explanation of the six (6) Historical Thinking Concepts.
Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness (Canada).
Click "more" for the list of concepts.
more...less...
Six Historical Thinking Concepts:
1- Establish HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE;
2- Use primary source EVIDENCE;
3- Identify CONTINUITY and CHANGE;
4- Analyze CAUSE and CONSEQUENCE;
5- Take HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES; and
6- Understand the ETHICAL DIMENSION of historical interpretations.
Developed by Dr. Peter Seixas, Jill Colyer, and Tom Morton.
Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy | SAA-ACRL/RBMS Joint Task Force on Primary Source Literacy
"These guidelines articulate the range of knowledge, skills, and abilities required to effectively use primary sources. While the primary audience for this document is librarians, archivists, teaching faculty, and others working with college and university students, the guidelines have been written to be sufficiently flexible for use in K-12 and in general public settings as well. The guidelines articulate crucial skills for navigating the complexity of primary sources and codify best practices for utilizing these materials. "

*Also see the Teaching and Primary Sources box in the Links tab of this guide.

Photographs / Images - Visual Literacy

Photograph Based Questions - Examining Primary Sources:

What do you see? / What do you notice?
What is the same as ___ (now, your classroom, etc.)?
What is different?
What seems important?
What seems unusual?
What do you think is happening in the photo?
What questions do you have about this photo?
What questions do you have for the person who took the photo?

Cook Voyages

4th Grade Faculty!

Following the Captain Cook voyages classroom unit that is part of the 4th grade history of Hawai'i curriculum, students have the opportunity to visit the 'Iolani School Archives to view observations made by the crew. Students will be introduced to primary source images, encouraged to make observations, and analyze. The experience will improve visual literacy and introduce archives as a type of information resource.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units.

Grade: 4

Location: 'Iolani School Archives

Introduction Talking Points:
The Archivist will begin a discussion centered around introducing the students to the concept of an archive and archival collections.
The conversation will grow organically based on student responses with the goal of touching upon the following:

What is an archive?
What is a primary source?
How is history passed on?
Longevity of materials.

Closed Stacks Experience:
Students will have the opportunity to go into the closed stacks which is a controlled environment space. They will be encouraged to notice the difference in feeling of temperature and all the special boxes.

Viewing of the 1785 Cook Atlas:
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Performed Under The Direction Of Captains Cook, Clerke, And Gore, In His Majesty's Ships The Resolution And Discovery; In The Years 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, And 1780.
This oversize, 2nd edition (1785) atlas volume includes Captain Cooks third (last) voyage. It includes maps and visual observations drawn by voyage artist John Webber.
The Archivist will show select pages of the atlas and lead the students in discussion.
Discussion points:

Artist (drawing) vs photographer
Map plotting path, dates, written observations ex: "seagull seen"
Spelling of place names- What does that say about communication?
Observations related to clothing; transportation; etc.

Followup:
After viewing the atlas volume, student will complete the following place names matching activity.

Matching Place Names
Draw a line to match the place names appearing in the 1785 Cook Atlas with their current name.

More information - Cook Voyages

Quick Reference

For quick information about
Captain James Cook see
Villiers, Alan John. "James Cook". Encyclopedia Britannica, 7 May. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/James-Cook.

Primary Source Item Spotlight

Cook, James; Journal; Nov. 1771 - Jan. 6, 1779 | Digital Archives of Hawai'i | Hawai'i State Archives
Digitized handwritten journal, Nov. 01, 1771 - Jan. 06, 1779, of Captain James Cook [British Museum Record Group, MFL30-1].

Published Work, Narrative Volumes

A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Volume I | Google Books
2nd Edition, 1785
Vol. I written by Captain James Cook, F.R.S.
Original from the National Library of the Netherlands. Digitized in 2014.
Whole title:
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Performed Under The Direction Of Captains Cook, Clerke, And Gore, In His Majesty's Ships The Resolution And Discovery; In The Years 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, And 1780.
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Volume II | Google Books
3rd Edition, 1785
Vol. II written by Captain James Cook, F.R.S.
Original from the National Library of the Netherlands. Digitized in 2014.
Whole title:
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Performed Under The Direction Of Captains Cook, Clerke, And Gore, In His Majesty's Ships The Resolution And Discovery; In The Years 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, And 1780.
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Volume III | Google Books
2nd Edition, 1785
Vol. III written by Captain James King, LL.D., F.R.S.
Original from the National Library of the Netherlands. Digitized in 2014.
Whole title:
A Voyage To The Pacific Ocean, Undertaken For Making Discoveries In The Northern Hemisphere. Performed Under The Direction Of Captains Cook, Clerke, And Gore, In His Majesty's Ships The Resolution And Discovery; In The Years 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, And 1780.

Important Questions

(Click to enlarge.)

Thanks for reviewing a draft of
"Important Questions" go to
Dr. Melissa Perkins,
'Iolani School History Faculty
2021 Hawai'i History Teacher of the Year

(Click to enlarge.)