Skip to main content

'Iolani School Archives: Research

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

 

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

What to Expect When Visiting the Archives

Materials are non-circulating, so items must be used in the archives.

The archives stacks are closed. This means that if you need a record, the archives staff will retrieve it for you.

Allow plenty of time when you visit, archival research is time consuming.

Keep track of the resources you use! Note the collection, box number, and folder just-in-case you need to revisit or cite the item.
Attribution:
'Iolani School Archives
OR
'Iolani School Archives, Honolulu, Hawai'i

Handling instructions for using archival materials.

In order to prolong the life of materials, please:

  • Do not bring food and beverages into the archives.
  • Be sure hands are clean and free of food and lotions.
  • Open folders or portfolios flat on the table. Handle each item separately and carefully to avoid tears and scratches.
  • Use pencils only. Keep pencils and note pads on the table surface and not on archival materials.
  • Keep materials in the original order as they were given.
  • Use paper strips provided to mark for copying.

Access

**PLEASE NOTE**
’Iolani School has suspended on-campus academic operations and is CLOSED to the public.
This closure includes the ‘Iolani School Archives.
For more information see the school’s Coronavirus (Covid-19) Update page.

_ _ _

Normal Hours:
By appointment.
9:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.
Monday-Friday
Hours may vary.
For an appointment, please email archives@iolani.org

The Archivist reserves the right to restrict use of materials which are exceptionally fragile.

Archivist Assistance with Research

The Archivist can help determine what records will help you with your research.

Students should come to the archives to do their own research.

Researchers may contact the archives with questions or research queries. The amount of time the Archivist can do research for you is limited; for in-depth queries please come into the archives to do research.

Services

The 'Iolani School Archives provides the following services:

  • Student Research Support
  • Faculty / Curriculum Support
  • Administrative Research Support
  • Research Guides
  • Online Resources

Disclaimer

The 'Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

Reproductions

Due to the irreplaceable and sometimes fragile condition of documents, all reproduction (photocopying, scanning, and use of cameras) is at the discretion of the Archivist.

Reproductions from the ‘Iolani School Archives are for research or personal use only. For any other use written permission must be obtained. The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with copyright, libel and privacy laws.

See the Policies tab for more information.

Information Requests

Please allow two weeks for information requests.

Explore the Collections

'Iolani School Bulletin

Available through the 'Iolani School website:

Older editions of the Bulletin, beginning in 1960, are available in the 'Iolani School Archives.

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours on the Welcome tab of this guide.

© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.