Click to enlarge.
*Also see the Teaching and Primary Sources box in the Links tab of this guide.
Upper School Faculty!
Primary source research can be a long, challenging process. During such research, it is important to identify the various types of institutions that are potential credible sources of information; as well as be able to interpret and reflect upon resources. In this primary source literacy boosting session, students will learn evaluation strategies when interacting with primary sources and will apply new knowledge at three stations containing resources from our collections.
Adaptable to any subject.
Grade: 7 - 12
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Time allotted: 49 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Faculty!
The study of a language includes the study of the history and culture of the peoples who speak that language. During such research, it is important to identify the various types of institutions that are potential credible sources of information and to be able to interpret resources.
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 49 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Faculty!
The study of a language includes the study of the history and culture of the peoples who speak that language. During such research, it is important to identify the various types of institutions that are potential credible sources of information and to be able to interpret resources.
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 49 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Faculty!
The study of a language includes the study of the history and culture of the peoples who speak that language. During such research, it is important to identify the various types of institutions that are potential credible sources of information and to be able to interpret resources.
Location: ʻIolani School Archives
Pre-visit prep:
Time allotted: 49 min minimum
Materials:
Each student must bring:
Welcome & Introduction to Archives:
Stations - Applying New Knowledge
Station 1: ʻIolani History exhibit
ʻIolani School has a long history beginning as a Kingdom era institution. This station allows students to see images of campus buildings & grounds; events; and the people who have been its life.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Social Issues}:
Do you think that archives, libraries, and museums are important?
Do they contribute positively to society? Why or why not?
Station 2: Father Bray, Seabiscuit, & Eddie Hamada
This station explores the beginnings of the school's One Team ethos and the values which form its foundation.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Topic Comprehension}:
Considering the focus of the ʻIolani School Archives, why is Seabiscuit's horseshoe part of the collection?
Station 3: WWII
Featuring WWII-era student publications, art and images, this station shows how a world event impacted ʻIolani School and its community.
-->Writing assignment - prompt {Information Literacy}:
How do the primary source items at this station convey the turbulence of the time period? Give examples.
Conclusion - Summarize & reflect as a group
Considering Primary Sources
Grades: 7 - 12
Learning Objectives:
1. Conceptualize
A. Distinguish primary from secondary sources for a given research question. Demonstrate and understanding of the interrelatedness of primary and secondary sources for research.
C. Draw on primary sources to generate and refine research questions.
2. Find and access
A. Identify the possible locations of primary sources.
B. Use appropriate, efficient, and effective search strategies in order to locate primary sources. Be familiar with the most common ways primary sources are described, such as catalog records and archival finding aids.
C. Distinguish between catalogs, databases, and other online resources that contain information about sources, versus those that contain digital versions, originals, or copies of the sources themselves.
D. Understand that historical records may never have existed, may not have survived, or may not be collected and / or publicly accessible. Existing records may have been shaped by the selectivity and mediation of individuals such as collectors, archivists, librarians, donors, and / or publishers, potentially limiting the sources available for research.
E. Recognize and understand the policies and procedures that affect access to primary sources, and that these differ across repositories, databases, and collections.
3. Read, Understand and Summarize
A. Examine a primary source, which may require the ability to read a particular script, font, or language, to understand or operate a particular technology, or to comprehend vocabulary, syntax, and communication norms of the time period and location where the source was created.
C. Understand that a primary source may exist in a variety of iterations, including excerpts, transcriptions, and translations, due to publication, copying and other transformations.
4. Interpret, Analyze and Evaluate
B. Critically evaluate the perspective of the creator(s) of a primary source, including tone, subjectivity, and biases, and consider how these relate to the original purpose(s) and audiences(s) of the source.
C. Situate a primary source in context by applying knowledge about the time and culture in which it was created, the author or creator, in format, genre, publication history, or related materials in a collection.
E. Factor physical and material elements into the interpretation primary sources including the relationship between container (binding, media, or overall physical attributes) and informational content, and the relationship of original sources to physical or digital copies of those sources.
F. Demonstrate historical empathy, curiosity about the past, and appreciation for historical sources and historical actors.
5. Use and Incorporate
A. Examine and synthesize a variety of sources in order to construct, support, or dispute a research argument.
B. Use primary sources in a manner that respects privacy rights and cultural contexts.
C. Cite primary sources in accordance with appropriate citation style guidelines or according to repository practice and preferences (when possible).
D. Adhere to copyright and privacy laws when incorporating primary sources information in research or creative project.
Hawai'i State Archives
University of Hawai'i
Bishop Museum
Hula Preservation Society
This link opens in a new windowKa'iwakīloumoku - Kamehameha Schools
Legislative Research
(Click to enlarge.)
Thanks for reviewing a draft of
"Important Questions" go to
Dr. Melissa Perkins,
'Iolani School History Faculty
2021 Hawai'i History Teacher of the Year
(Click to enlarge.)
