Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Vietnam War Subject Guide
Vietnam War in ’Iolani School Archives
The Vietnam War, 1954-1975, saw increased United States military involvement and civilian attention beginning in the early 1960s. Students at 'Iolani School participated in political discourse of the time, through which varying viewpoints were brought to light, and discussed the fragmented dynamic of the country.
- Imua ’Iolani
The student newspaper is an important record of the student voice and information about daily life in the school. Related articles range from 1965 through the 1970s.
- Ka Moolelo O ’Iolani
The school yearbook is a summary of each school year through the voice of the students themselves. School life during the Vietnam War years is related through photographs and text.
- ’Iolani School Bulletin
Started in 1960, the magazine publishes news, accomplishments, and other stories about the school. Related articles begin in 1961.
Other resources in the ’Iolani School Archives
- Villers, Ernest G. A History of Iolani School, Section II: March 1940 to June 1959.
Faculty member Mr. Villers wrote a history of the beginnings of ’Iolani School as a master's thesis and, upon returning to the faculty after an absence, was asked by the Headmaster to continue his work. Life at the school from 1954 to 1959 is covered in chapters 15 through 21.
Related Online Collections
- Hawaiian Church Chronicle
Digitized through eVols at UH Manoa. See Episcopal life during the time period in issues published through December 1967; including "Bishop Kennedy Visits Men in Vietnam Hospitals," in the February 1966 edition.
- "Experiencing War: Vietnam War," Veterans History Project, Library of Congress
Looking Back, Part 1
Looking Back, Part 2
Looking Back, Part 3
Interviews with veterans about their service in the Vietnam War, including former prisoners of war. Some collections include photographs and documents. Originally made available in 2012 as a three part series to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the war.
- "The Vietnam War," DocsTeach
Primary sources by topic and teaching activities; a resource from the National Archives education division.
- "Electronic Records Relating to the Vietnam War," National Archives and Records Administration
"This reference report provides an overview of the electronic data records in the custody of the National Archives that contain data related to military objectives and activities during the Vietnam War."
- "The War in Vietnam: A Story in Photographs," National Archives and Records Administration
An introduction to the topic and the roll of photography in the conflict; includes links to select photographs.
Related Archival Collections Beyond ’Iolani
. . .
Subject guide compiled by Georgina Tom, Archivist, 2017.
Remembering Vietnam: Online Exhibit
For More Information
For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours on the Welcome tab of this guide.
© The researcher assumes all responsibility for complying with Copyright and other Intellectual Property laws.