Race & Social Justice Teacher Resources: LGBTQIA+ Experience

Gender Terminology Guide and Gender Terminology Visual

"This guide is created to help anyone learn how to use people’s correct pronouns. Everyone in your school community should engage in learning, educating, and advocating for the inclusive use of pronouns for all."

"As the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation expands its work on gender equality through mainstreaming and targeted investments for women and girls’ empowerment, the demand for tools and guidance to support Program Officers has grown. A concise set of clearly defined gender concepts is a key component of any effective gender mainstreaming toolbox. Such definitions support sector specialists who are integrating gender in their work and gender specialists who are supporting capacity building and managing investments for gender equality."

"Issues of equality and acceptance of transgender and nonbinary people — along with challenges to their rights — have become a major topic in the headlines. These issues can involve words and ideas and identities that are new to some.
That's why we've put together a glossary of terms relating to gender identity. Our goal is to help people communicate accurately and respectfully with one another."

Includes a glossary of terms toward fair and accurate representation.

Article by Erin Wilkey O.
Common Sense Education (Common Sense Media)
November 8, 2018
Includes recommendations by grade level.

Article by Caroline Moreau, Mengmeng Li, Saifuddin, Xiayun Zuo, Beniamino Cislaghi
Journal of Adolescent Health, Vol. 69, No. 1, Supplement
July 2021
"The study includes 8,977 adolescents aged 10–14 years from Kinshasa, Shanghai, Cuenca, and Indonesia."

Includes:
- A Transitioning Professional's Guide
- An Institution's Guide
- A Coworker's Guide (See here for FAQ, and Gender Studies and Trans Terminology 101)
(March 2019)
"Please remember, every person and transition are different, so the Toolkit should be adapted for each unique situation."

Article by Katy Steinmetz
Time
March 16, 2021
"Elliot Page on His Identity and Where He Goes From Here"

Article by Cynthia Wessendorf
Photos by Leah Friel
Honolulu Magazine
October 15, 2019

Article by Robert W. Blum, Kristin MMari, Caroline Moreau
Journal of Adolescent Health, Vol. 61, No. 4, Supplement
October 2017

"School can be an awkward time for nearly everyone, but for queer students, it can be particularly nightmarish. In a heartfelt and personal talk, Coby Everton shares their experiences of isolation in academic environments and explains why allies are essential in these spaces."
"Coby is a queer student who is extremely passionate about his education and social justice. Art and fashion play a large role in how he expresses himself. Instagram @coby.everton"

Announcement of and link to GLSEN'S 2021 National School Climate Survey.
"NEW YORK (Oct. 18, 2022)—GLSEN, the nation’s leading organization on LGBTQ+ issues in K–12 education, announced today new findings from the 2021 National School Climate Survey showing a recent decline in the availability of school resources for LGBTQ+ youth."

Article by Jade Snow, Aaron K. Yoshino
Honolulu Magazine
May 14, 2019

"Without LGBTQ history, there is no American history. From Teaching Tolerance and hosts Leila Rupp and John D'Emilio, Queer America takes listeners on a journey that spans from Harlem to the Frontier West, revealing stories of LGBTQ life we should have learned in school."

Prideland, PBS series, E 6
"What does it really mean to be an ally? Join Dyllón as he visits a baker in the heart of the Bible Belt who risked putting his business on the line to take a stand for LGBTQ+ rights."
aired 07/06/20 (video, 6:43)

Prideland series special, PBS
"Follow queer actor Dyllón Burnside on a journey to discover how LGBTQ Americans are finding ways to live authentically and with pride in the modern South."
aired 06/12/20 (video, 55:48)

Article by Matt Richardson and Omise`eke Natasha Tinsley
The Emancipator
August 30, 2022
"The Talk: Find your Black LGBTQ joy; it's your superpower: Couple affirms queer daughter with a deep sense of safety, validation, and love"

Article by Janice Kroeger, Abigail E. Recker, Alexandra C. Gunn
Young Children (journal), Vol. 74, No. 1
National Association for the Education of Young People
March 2019

Article by Gabrielle Kassel
Medically reviewed by Francis Kuehnle, MSN, RN-BC
Healthline Media
June 21, 2022

"It doesn’t matter if it is a first grader who might not know what the word 'gay' means, a sixth grader trying to sound cool, or a tenth grader 'teasing' a friend. All of these scenarios have the potential of creating an unsafe classroom or school environment and must be addressed. So, what can caring adults do?"
Human Rights Campaign Foundation (HRC)
National Education Association (NEA)

"An award winning short film produced by HRC Welcoming Schools for elementary school educators and parents/caregivers."
(video, 13:03)

Article by Katie J. M. Baker
New York Times
January 22, 2023

Lesson regarding the confirmation process of Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

A student-friendly educational film and discussion/activity guide that tells the true story of Ho'onani, an 11-year-old girl who dreams of leading the all-boys hula troupe. Takes a Hawaiian approach to being "in the middle" and embracing both male and female spirit. The film is 25 minutes long. The discussion guide includes terminology and conversation starters around identity.

*Click on "Filter Lessons" to search by grade level, social justice domain, subject, or topic.
"These robust, ready-to-use classroom lessons offer breadth and depth, spanning essential social justice topics and reinforcing critical social emotional learning skills."

"Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use."

"Gender Spectrum’s mission is to create a gender-inclusive world for all children and youth. To accomplish this, we help families, organizations, and institutions increase their understanding of gender and consider the implications that evolving views have for each of us. "

Explore teaching materials by time period, theme, resource type, or keywords.
"The Zinn Education Project: Teaching a People’s History website offers hundreds of free, downloadable teaching activities for middle and high school classrooms to bring people’s history to the classroom. Coordinated by Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change, the site also lists hundreds of recommended books, films, and websites. The teaching activities and resources are organized by theme, time period and grade level. This is the only collection of its kind for educators — print or online — in the country."

Complete report; executive summaries; reports on the experiences of color; additional breakout reports; state reports

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections."

"The Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality. This archive provides enduring access to resources which illuminate underrepresented perspectives and identities, many of which are not typically found in traditional print resources or in institutions of cultural memory. Sites which document topics relevant to the history, current field, and future directions of Women's and Gender Studies as an academic discipline are likewise collected."

"The Archives Center Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Collection contains periodicals, ephemera, posters, postcards, advertisements, photographs, organizational records, publications, correspondence, and other materials related to all aspects of the LGBT community and the civil rights issues pertaining thereto. The collection was created by the Archives Center to bring together materials specifically pertaining to the LGBT community. This collection contains material from communities and individuals throughout the United States. The collection is currently strongest in periodicals, newspapers and ephemera and very strong in material from California and New York. The collection continues to add new items and the researcher would be wise to take a broad view in targeting their research topics in the collection."

"Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books. Dr. Jean Mendoza joined AICL as a co-editor in 2016."

"Here are more than 70 carefully selected lists of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators." With link to the "Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children's Books."

Browse books by culture, subject, theme, etc., or search for activity by title.

Browse books by Subject; view lesson plans and activities.

By Louise Derman-Sparks

"LGBTQ Reads is a site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQIAP+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler."
Includes lists of "Books featuring characters anywhere on the queer and/or trans spectra (including but not limited to Queer, Questioning, Undefined, Lesbian, Transgender, Bisexual, Pansexual, Asexual, Demisexual, Aromantic, Intersex, Genderfluid, Genderqueer, Agender, Bigender, Demigender, Two-Spirit, and/or Non-Binary)."

"Recently, ten librarians from across the country, brought together by the American Library
Association (ALA) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority Investor Education Foundation
(FINRA Foundation), gathered for a series of virtual meetings. Their goal: to create an inclusive list of
financial education titles for children and teens.
Why were these librarians so focused on identifying thoughtful and inclusive financial education
books? Because teaching young people financial understanding and sound practices requires a
genuine embrace of diversity. Our financial world works best when everyone can participate and
when it responds to and respects the many cultures, backgrounds, experiences, circumstances, and
values comprising our society."

Various resources about book selection and a blog including book recommendations. The OurStory book database is free but requires login.

Summer reading booklists by year, created by educators.
"The We Are Kid Lit Collective works to create materials and opportunities to recognize the humanity of Indigenous and People of Color (IPOC) in youth literature."