LibGuides: Race & Social Justice Teacher Resources: Pacific Islander &amp; Pacific American Experience

FYI- Of interest! - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Decolonising Methodologies, 20 Years On - Linda Tuhiwai Smith | Sociological Review
"In 2019, the editorial board invited Linda Tuhiwai Smith, Professor in the Department of Māori and Indigenous Studies at the University of Waikato. The address came twenty years after the first publication of her ground-breaking book Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples. In her opening remarks, editor in chief Micheala Benson noted that the book remains ‘fresh and relevant’ and that Smith’s work critiquing the hegemony as its reproduced through theory, knowledge and research is as important as it ever was.
Smith spoke to the title ‘Decolonising Methodologies, 20 Years On’, reflecting on how the book’s themes resonate in the contemporary academy, as well as what would be included in the book were it to have been written today. Smith opened with a poem, ‘Research Ethics and Indigenous Peoples 101’, which set the scene for a creative and urgent lecture on indigenous knowledges, and decolonisation struggles in all their intersecting forms."
[Recording, 1:01:58]
Speaking Up Against Racism Around the Coronavirus
Article by Coshandra Dillard
Learning for Justice Magazine
February 14, 2020
Mixed Asian Media
"Mixed Asian Media (MAM) is a collective created by multiracial, mixed Asian/Pacific Islanders (API’s). We seek to build community through conversations of what it means to be of mixed Asian/Pacific Islander descent and help establish our ever-evolving place in society. From every issue of our magazine, to an annual creative festival, we strive to capture mixed API stories and experiences at all levels and share them through all our current and future mediums."
more...less...
Formerly Hapa Mag
Stop AAPI Hate
Site includes 2020-2021 National Report documenting the 3,795 incidents received by the Stop AAPI Hate reporting center, and other reports.
more...less...
"In response to the alarming escalation in xenophobia and bigotry resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Asian Pacific Planning and Policy Council (A3PCON), Chinese for Affirmative Action (CAA), and the Asian American Studies Department of San Francisco State University launched the Stop AAPI Hate reporting center on March 19, 2020. The center tracks and responds to incidents of hate, violence, harassment, discrimination, shunning, and child bullying against Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States."
The sustainable brilliance of Indigenous design | TED
"When human rights advocate Manu Peni returned to Papua New Guinea from abroad, he built a home for himself using modern techniques -- and promptly learned a harsh lesson on how the newest ideas aren't always the best ideas. Peni calls for us all to rethink who we consider experts, particularly when it comes to building in the face of climate change, showing how Indigenous wisdom must work in harmony with new science and technology if we want to create a sustainable future."
"Manu Peni is a human rights defender and climate activist working in Papua New Guinea"
Why some have mixed feelings about the terms Asian American and AAPI | CNN
Article by Harmeet Kaur
CNN
May 1, 2023

Literature - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

The Biggest Soap by Carole Lexa Schaefer; Stacey Dressen-McQueen (Illustrator)
Call Number: J E SCH
ISBN: 0374306907
Publication Date: 2004-09-09
Fiction
Age Range: 3-6 years
Available in print (LS Library)
Set in Micronesia, Kessy is on a mission to bring home the biggest soap, and has an adventure along the way.
Samoan Heroes by David Riley
ISBN: 9780473315047
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Non-fiction
Age Range: 10 & up
Available in print from HSPLS.
Inspirational stories of notable achievers with Samoan ancestry, including actors, scholars, historical figures, and legendary heroes.
Where Is Easter Island? by Megan Stine; Who HQ; John Hinderliter (Illustrator)
Call Number: J PB WHE
ISBN: 9780515159486
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Non-fiction
Age range: 8-12
Lexile Measure: 830
Available in print (LS Library).
Where is Easter Island, and how did people come to live here?
Arts and Crafts of Micronesia by Barbara Wavell
Call Number: J H 709.965 WAV
ISBN: 9781573063098
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Non-fiction
Available in print (LS Library).
Artwork and craftsmanship of traditional arts of Micronesia.
Myths of Oceania by Anita Dalal
Call Number: J H 398.2 DAL
ISBN: 9780739849781
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Age Range: 9-11
Available in print (LS Library).
Myths and cultural background on Oceania, particularly Polynesia and Australia.
Polynesia : The Mark and Carolyn Blackburn Collection of Polynesia art by Adrienne Kaeppler
Call Number: 709.96 KAE
ISBN: 9781883528386
Publication Date: 2010-10-31
Non-Fiction
Available in print (US Library)
"In this book, for the first time, these unique works of art are on display, fully described and annotated, for the enjoyment and appreciation of scholars, collectors, and interested readers alike. Selected paintings, drawings, engravings, and photographs from the Blackburn collection give context to the artifacts and essays. Items from each geographic and cultural area are described within their cultural and historical context: ‘Aotearoa (New Zealand), the Austral Islands, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Futuna, the Gambier Islands, Hawai‘i, Malden, the Marquesas Islands, Niue Island, Nukuoro Island, Rapa Nui (Easter Island), Rennell Island, Rotuma Island, Samoa, Tahiti, Takuu, Tokelau, Tonga, and the Tuamotu Islands.

In Polynesia, the visual arts and their associated objects serve as physical representations of the underlying aesthetic, social, and religious aspects of the island cultures. In some cases, these eloquent objects may be all that remains to speak of these once-living traditions. This publication allows these remarkable works to communicate directly with the modern viewer." - Provided by the publisher
Pacific Diaspora by Paul Spickard (Editor); Joanne Rondilla (Editor); Debbie Hippolite Wright (Editor)
Call Number: H 304.8 PAC
ISBN: 0824825624
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Non-fiction
Available in print (US Library).
Essays addressing individual and community histories of Pacific Islanders in the U.S.
Flying Fox in a Freedom Tree by Albert Wendt
Call Number: FIC WEN
ISBN: 9780824818234
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Fiction
Available in print (US Library).
Short stories by Samoan writer Albert Wendt, who sought to write stories that pushed against the often racist literature written about Pacific Islanders by outsiders.
Indigenous Literatures from Micronesia by Evelyn Flores (Editor); Emelihter Kihleng (Editor); Craig Santos Perez (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9780824875411
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Fiction
Available in print (US Library).
Poetry, stories, essays, and chants by Indigenous Micronesian authors.

Lessons & Resources - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

We Are Not A Stereotype: Breaking Down Asian Pacific American Bias video-series | SmithsonianAPA
"A video series for educators, by educators. This series explores and challenges the complexity surrounding the term Asian Pacific American, breaking it down into topics that span multiple timelines, geographies, and identities."
more...less...
Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
See "For Teachers"
"This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The contents of this site highlight only a small portion of the physical and digital holdings of the participating partners."
Breadfruit Educational Productions Lesson Plans
Breadfruit Educational Productions is a Pacific-Islander owned company that creates educational films that seek to increase awareness and understanding of Micronesia. Lesson plans created by local educators are provided to accompany the films and videos. Note: all films/videos EXCEPT Breadfruit and Open Spaces are free to stream online.
Zinn Education Project
Explore teaching materials by time period, theme, resource type, or keywords.
"The Zinn Education Project: Teaching a People’s History website offers hundreds of free, downloadable teaching activities for middle and high school classrooms to bring people’s history to the classroom. Coordinated by Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change, the site also lists hundreds of recommended books, films, and websites. The teaching activities and resources are organized by theme, time period and grade level. This is the only collection of its kind for educators — print or online — in the country."

Collections - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
See "Exhibits and Collections"
"This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The contents of this site highlight only a small portion of the physical and digital holdings of the participating partners."
Digital Pasifik
"Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific."
A partnership between the National Library of Australia and the National Library of New Zealand, supported by the Australian Government.
Ka'iwakīloumoku Pacific Indigenous Institute | Kamehameha Schools
"... a space to explore the breadth and depth of Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world."
Includes digital collections of images, interviews, mele, and more.
University of Hawai'i Library Digital Collections
Digitized historical and cultural materials.
Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department Guide | University of Hawai'i Library
"The Pacific Collection at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa offers materials relating to the island regions of Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. Internationally recognized for the excellence of its holdings, the Pacific Collection contains over 100,000 volumes. Approximately 3,000 volumes are added to the collection each year. The Pacific Collection receives 1,200 journals and periodicals annually, subscribes to 33 newspapers, and has over 10,000 reels of microfilm materials. In addition, over 350 videotapes and other audiovisual materials concerning the Pacific Islands are located in the Wong Audio-Visual Center in Sinclair Library."
Pacific Digital Collections | Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department | University of Hawai'i
"The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have many digital collections that provide greater access and awareness to our physical materials. The digital collections include scrapbooks, photo albums, slides, sound recordings, research papers, photographs, maps, and many other resources."
Teaching Oceania: Open Access Resources UH Manoa LibGuide
Freely available online resources for students and educators of Pacific Island studies. Most resources are at college level and may be more suitable for higher grade levels.

Book Selection Resources

Booklists | Social Justice Books: A Teaching for Change Project
"Here are more than 70 carefully selected lists of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators." With link to the "Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children's Books."
more...less...
"SocialJusticeBooks.org is a project of Teaching for Change, a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world."
Diverse Books Toolkit | TeachingBooks
Browse books by culture, subject, theme, etc., or search for activity by title.
more...less...
"Our mission is to equitably give all readers insights and opportunities that deepen their understanding and joy of the books they are reading."
Diverse Families Bookshelf | STARS | University of Central Florida
Browse books by Subject; view lesson plans and activities.
more...less...
UCF's Showcase of Text, Archives, Research & Scholarship (STARS)
Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children's Books | Social Justice Books: A Teaching for Change Project
By Louise Derman-Sparks
more...less...
"SocialJusticeBooks.org is a project of Teaching for Change, a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world."
LGBTQ Reads
"LGBTQ Reads is a site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQIAP+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler."
Includes lists of "Books featuring characters anywhere on the queer and/or trans spectra (including but not limited to Queer, Questioning, Undefined, Lesbian, Transgender, Bisexual, Pansexual, Asexual, Demisexual, Aromantic, Intersex, Genderfluid, Genderqueer, Agender, Bigender, Demigender, Two-Spirit, and/or Non-Binary)."
Thinking Money for All Kids:Diverse and Inclusive Reads to Teach Young People About Money (Booklist) | ALA & FINRA
"Recently, ten librarians from across the country, brought together by the American Library
Association (ALA) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority Investor Education Foundation
(FINRA Foundation), gathered for a series of virtual meetings. Their goal: to create an inclusive list of
financial education titles for children and teens.
Why were these librarians so focused on identifying thoughtful and inclusive financial education
books? Because teaching young people financial understanding and sound practices requires a
genuine embrace of diversity. Our financial world works best when everyone can participate and
when it responds to and respects the many cultures, backgrounds, experiences, circumstances, and
values comprising our society."
We Need Diverse Books
Various resources about book selection and a blog including book recommendations. The OurStory book database is free but requires login.
more...less...
"WNDB strives to create a world in which all children can see themselves in the pages of a book. To reach this goal, we've created programs to celebrate diverse books, to mentor diverse writers and illustrators, to support diverse publishing professionals, and to provide books to classrooms nationwide." 501(c)(3)
We Are Kid Lit Collective
Summer reading booklists by year, created by educators.
"The We Are Kid Lit Collective works to create materials and opportunities to recognize the humanity of Indigenous and People of Color (IPOC) in youth literature."
more...less...
"Our work is premised upon the principles of social justice, equity, and inclusion and centers IPOC voices in children’s literature in order to identify, challenge and dismantle white supremacy and both internalized and systematic racism. Our intended audience includes educators, librarians, caregivers and young people. We look for ways to improve the literacies of IPOC children, promote books written by and about IPOC, and to encourage gatekeepers to bring a lens of critical literacy to their work."

Art - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

I Want the Wide American Earth: An Asian Pacific American E-Comic
Published on Sep 12, 2013
Non-Fiction
“An illustrated adaption of the 'I Want the Wide American Earth: An Asian Pacific American Story' banner exhibition. Produced in collaboration with SI Universe Media, creators of the first-ever Asian Pacific American comics anthology, the e-comic tells the Asian Pacific American story in graphic narrative, featuring work by seven exciting Asian Pacific American comic artists."
more...less...
Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center

Polynesia : The Mark and Carolyn Blackburn Collection of Polynesia art by Adrienne Kaeppler
Call Number: 709.96 KAE
ISBN: 9781883528386
Publication Date: 2010-10-31
Non-Fiction
Available in print (US Library)
"In this book, for the first time, these unique works of art are on display, fully described and annotated, for the enjoyment and appreciation of scholars, collectors, and interested readers alike. Selected paintings, drawings, engravings, and photographs from the Blackburn collection give context to the artifacts and essays. Items from each geographic and cultural area are described within their cultural and historical context: ‘Aotearoa (New Zealand), the Austral Islands, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Futuna, the Gambier Islands, Hawai‘i, Malden, the Marquesas Islands, Niue Island, Nukuoro Island, Rapa Nui (Easter Island), Rennell Island, Rotuma Island, Samoa, Tahiti, Takuu, Tokelau, Tonga, and the Tuamotu Islands.

In Polynesia, the visual arts and their associated objects serve as physical representations of the underlying aesthetic, social, and religious aspects of the island cultures. In some cases, these eloquent objects may be all that remains to speak of these once-living traditions. This publication allows these remarkable works to communicate directly with the modern viewer." - Provided by the publisher

(Click to enlarge.)

Thanks for reviewing a draft of "Important Questions" go to
Dr. Melissa Perkins, 'Iolani School History Faculty
2021 Hawai'i History Teacher of the Year

(Click to enlarge.)

Race & Social Justice Teacher Resources: Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

FYI- Of interest! - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Literature - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Lessons & Resources - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Collections - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Book Selection Resources

Art - Pacific Islander & Pacific American Experience

Ethics