Race & Social Justice Teacher Resources: Identity & War & Conflict

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

Explore teaching materials by time period, theme, resource type, or keywords.
"The Zinn Education Project: Teaching a People’s History website offers hundreds of free, downloadable teaching activities for middle and high school classrooms to bring people’s history to the classroom. Coordinated by Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change, the site also lists hundreds of recommended books, films, and websites. The teaching activities and resources are organized by theme, time period and grade level. This is the only collection of its kind for educators — print or online — in the country."

"The papers of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), lawyer, representative from Illinois, and sixteenth president of the United States, contain approximately 40,550 documents dating from 1774 to 1948, although most of the collection spans from the 1850s through Lincoln’s presidency (1861-1865). Roughly half of the collection, more than 20,000 documents, comprising 62,000 images, as well as transcriptions of approximately 10,000 documents, is online. Included on this website in their entirety are Series 1-3 of the Lincoln Papers and the original materials in Series 4. Excluded from this online presentation is a sizeable portion of Series 4, which consists of printed material and reproductions of government and military documents made from originals in the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration.
Treasures in the collection include Lincoln’s first and second inaugural addresses, his preliminary draft of the Emancipation Proclamation, the two earliest known copies of the Gettysburg Address (the Nicolay and Hay copies)..."

"These collections range from letters from the battlefield to intimate journals."

"The Civil War was the first large and prolonged conflict recorded by photography. During the war, dozens of photographers--both as private individuals and as employees of the Confederate and Union Governments--photographed civilians and civilian activities; military personnel, equipment, and activities; and the locations and aftermaths of battles. Because wet-plate collodion negatives required from 5 to 20 seconds exposure, there are no action photographs of the war." ...
"The pictures listed in this select list of photographs are in the Still Picture Branch of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Most are part of the Records of the Office of the Chief Signal Officer (Record Group 111) and Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs (Record Group 165). The records include photographs from the Mathew B. Brady collection (Series Identifier 111-B), purchased for $27,840 by the War Department in 1874 and 1875, photographs from the Quartermaster's Department of the Corps of Engineers, and photographs from private citizens donated to the War Department."

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

"Here, you may explore the lives of people swept up in the great American dramas of slavery, war, and emancipation. The two communities, one in the North and one in the South, experienced every national challenge from secession through Reconstruction."

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

Digitized items from the Museum's collection.

"The World War I and II collections range from military photographs to correspondence."

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"Throughout our nation's history, Native Americans have served valiantly and with distinction in times of peace and war, while also fighting for the right to be an equal part of our nation. We recognize their rich heritage and honor their spirit and true devotion to our country. Native Americans have a distinguished legacy in the Army - many thousands have served in the armed forces from the early days of the Revolutionary War, with the Lewis and Clark expedition, as Scouts with the U.S. Cavalry and as Code Talkers in World War II."
Note: click on "Profiles" for an overview of "Army Code Talkers" in WWI and WWII.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

Subject guide including materials available at 'Iolani Archives, online, and beyond 'Iolani.

Blog article
January 25, 2021
Includes primary source documents and teaching suggestions.

"Originally broadcast on December 3, 2020, this session of Inside the Vault: Highlights from the Gilder Lehrman Collection explores Gilder Lehrman Collection materials relating to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. Joe Welch, 2018 National History Teacher of the Year, and Kendyl Yokoyama from Hamilton join our curators in discussing these primary sources and how students can use them to discover history for themselves. We explore why the items were created, the bias of primary sources, and what we can learn from a close examination of these documents."
Webinar recording (01:06:04), 12/03/2020

Teacher's Guide and Primary Source Set.

A selection of primary sources.

"The Japanese Latin American Internment primary source set contains a focused overview of Senator Daniel K. Inouye's advocacy to bring federal awareness and publicity to the plight of Japanese who were deported from their home countries in Latin America and unlawfully interned in America during World War II. This set includes a timeline of historical events, necessary vocabulary, key primary sources, discussion questions, and recommended further reading. While this resource is intended for high school students, it can also be a useful beginning step for researchers interested in Inouye's work on federal apology and reparations.
This primary source set, which showcases materials from the Senator Daniel K. Inouye papers, was created in 2022-2023, in partnership with the Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection, by Dr. Leanne P. Day, with funding from the Daniel K. Inouye Institute."

"Originally broadcast on December 3, 2020, this session of Inside the Vault: Highlights from the Gilder Lehrman Collection explores Gilder Lehrman Collection materials relating to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. Joe Welch, 2018 National History Teacher of the Year, and Kendyl Yokoyama from Hamilton join our curators in discussing these primary sources and how students can use them to discover history for themselves. We explore why the items were created, the bias of primary sources, and what we can learn from a close examination of these documents."
Webinar recording (01:06:04), 12/03/2020

Immersive educational gaming.
"Developed for use by middle school students in the classroom and beyond, Mission US is a deeply-researched, award-winning educational media project with proven positive impact on history learning. To date, more than three million registered users across the country have played and learned from Mission US.
Mission US is committed to teaching complicated and sensitive topics in American history. We recommend that teachers/parents preview game content to make sure it is appropriate for their students/children."

Explore teaching materials by time period, theme, resource type, or keywords.
"The Zinn Education Project: Teaching a People’s History website offers hundreds of free, downloadable teaching activities for middle and high school classrooms to bring people’s history to the classroom. Coordinated by Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change, the site also lists hundreds of recommended books, films, and websites. The teaching activities and resources are organized by theme, time period and grade level. This is the only collection of its kind for educators — print or online — in the country."

Information about Anne Frank, her experience during WWII, critical thinking questions; as well as, links to lessons, online exhibitions, and related resources.

Access in-depth information about Anne Frank's life as well as educational materials and topics.

"In the documentary 'The short life of Anne Frank' the story of her life is told through quotations from her diary, unique photographs from the Frank Family albums and historical film extracts."
[video, 00:27:59; English version, with English subtitles]

Part of the "Learning with Anne Frank" exhibition.
(video, 00:04:35; English version)

Article by Harold Callender
The New York Times
December 20, 1931
"An interview with the Nazi leader in which he throws light in his policy in some foreign and domestic matters not explained before and states the main points of his program for Germany."

Article citing T. R. Ybarra
The New York Times
June 23, 1933, (page 8)
"Chancellor says in interview that United States restricts immigration of Jews."

February 19, 1942
"Issued by President Franklin Roosevelt on February 19, 1942, Executive Order 9066 authorized the Secretary of War to evacuate all persons deemed a threat to national security from the West Coast to relocation centers further inland."

Describes a demonstration of the transmission of communications (via telephone and radio) in Navajo language as a wartime security measure.

President Ronald Reagan's Remarks and Signing Ceremony for The Japanese-American Internment Compensation Bill (HR 442) | Ronald Reagan Presidential Library
August 10, 1988
Digitized video (00:08:52)

08/10/1988 Became Public Law No: 100-383.
Overview and link to PDF document.
Title I: United States Citizens of Japanese Ancestry and Resident Japanese Aliens - Civil Liberties Act of 1988
Title II: Aleutian and Pribilof Islands Restitution - Aleutian and Pribilof Islands Restitution Act

10/05/2010 Became Public Law No: 111-254.
Overview and link to TXT, PDF documents.
"Requires the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President pro tempore of the Senate to make arrangements for the award of a congressional gold medal to the Army's 100th Infantry Battalion, the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, and the Military Intelligence Service, collectively, in recognition of their dedicated service during World War II."

A comprehensive overview of WRA and the government treatment of Japanese Americans from 1942-1946. The final report of the Director of the War Relocation Authority.
Circa late 1946.

"After the Day of Infamy: 'Man-on-the-Street' Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States. On December 8, 1941 (the day after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor), Alan Lomax, then 'assistant in charge' of the Archive of American Folk Song (now the American Folklife Center archive), sent a telegram to fieldworkers in ten different localities across the United States, asking them to collect 'man-on-the-street' reactions of ordinary Americans to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the subsequent declaration of war by the United States. A second series of interviews, called 'Dear Mr. President,' was recorded in January and February 1942. Both collections are included in this presentation. They feature a wide diversity of opinion concerning the war and other social and political issues of the day, such as racial prejudice and labor disputes. The result is a portrait of everyday life in America as the United States entered World War II."

"In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II. For the first time, digital scans of both Adams's original negatives and his photographic prints appear side by side allowing viewers to see Adams's darkroom technique, in particular, how he cropped his prints. Adams's Manzanar work is a departure from his signature style landscape photography. Although a majority of the more than 200 photographs are portraits, the images also include views of daily life, agricultural scenes, and sports and leisure activities (see Collection Highlights). When offering the collection to the Library in 1965, Adams said in a letter, 'The purpose of my work was to show how these people, suffering under a great injustice, and loss of property, businesses and professions, had overcome the sense of defeat and dispair [sic] by building for themselves a vital community in an arid (but magnificent) environment....All in all, I think this Manzanar Collection is an important historical document, and I trust it can be put to good use.' The web site also includes digital images of the first edition of Born Free and Equal, Adams's publication based on his work at Manzanar."

"The central focus of the California State University Japanese American Digitization Project is the digitization and access to primary source materials focused on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, but also related to the history and progress of Japanese Americans in their communities throughout the 20th century. An enormous range of subjects and archival materials central to Japanese American life before, during and after World War II are in this digital collection, including letters, photographs, oral histories, camp publications, papers of camp administrators and counselors, poetry, art works, leases, certificates and other documents to prove citizenship, and school yearbooks. The story of the Japanese Americans in the Modern era – their migration to this country, the Alien Land laws under which they lived, and their incarceration during World War II – is a complex local and state topic as well as a national subject of great historical impact ultimately focused on the civil liberties of Americans..."

Oral histories, photos, documents, and newspapers documenting the Japanese American experience while incarcerated or interned during World War II.

Digital collections:
- Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names
- Photo Archive
- Righteous Database
- Documents Archive
- Holocaust (Shoah) Deportation Database
- Full Length Survivor Testimonies
- Film Database
- Artifacts Collection

"The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions)."

"The Hawaiʻi War Records Depository (HWRD) is an extensive collection of archival materials that document life in Hawaiʻi during World War II. In April of 1943, during its first session after the United States’ entrance into World War II, the Hawaiʻi Territorial Legislature passed a joint resolution designating the University of Hawaiʻi as the official depository of material related to Hawaiʻi‘s part in the war. Over a five year period, individuals, organizations and agencies throughout the state donated or loaned correspondence, personal accounts, reports, photographs, scrapbooks, phonograph discs, maps, posters, artwork, pamphlets, newspapers, clippings, memorabilia and other materials."

"A collection of thirty seven brief interviews and news stories primarily regarding actions of the United States military in the Philippines during World War II.
Interviewees include General Douglas MacArthur and Lt. Gen. Robert L. Eichelberger and radio personalities Fred MacPherson, Frank McCall, Ben Grauer and Mucio Delgado. Hometowner programs include interviews with several soldiers, nurses and WACS from Arizona serving in the vicinity of Manila and Luzon. Pyle's 1952 Republican National Convention speech "What is Right For America?" is presented, along with coverage of the 1945 United Nations conference in San Francisco. Pyle's coverage of the General Yamashita surrender ceremony of September 1945 may be the only such audio recording in existence. Detailed descriptions of each recording are also included."

"The internment of Japanese American's during World War II continues to be a painful memory for many of our citizens, but now the stories available in this collection make vivid the daily life of this exiled community and their extraordinary patriotism and sacrifice. This collaboration between the ASU Library Arizona Collection and the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records started in 2005 and we thank them for their assistance in compiling and digitizing over 5,000 pages of bi-lingual camp newsletters, which are now text searchable in monthly cumulations. The collection includes bilingual internment camp newsletters and photographs of the Rivers camps in Arizona."

"The Japanese American Veterans Collection documents the rich heritage of Hawaiʻi‘s Japanese American veterans and their families. AJA veterans served with distinction during World War II as members of the 100th Infantry Battalion, Hawaiʻi Territorial Guard, Varsity Victory Volunteers (VVV), 442nd Regimental Combat Team (RCT), 1399th Engineers, and the Military Intelligence Service (MIS)."

"Contains 34 oral history interviews with Holocaust survivors and concentration camp liberators all currently living in Hawaii.
The Hawaii Holocaust Project began their oral history project in 1987. The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum received the tapes of the interviews in March 1990."
Dates: 1987 - 1991

Women's roles in the WWII era.

Digitized, English language oral histories from the museum's collections.

"USC Shoah Foundation – The Institute for Visual History and Education is dedicated to making audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides a compelling voice for education and action."

"The World War I and II collections range from military photographs to correspondence."

"The Voces Oral History Center is the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States. It began in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II. Our archive has expanded to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights."

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

By Chris Ehrman and Heather Thomas, Serial and Government Publications Division.
"Behind the barbed wire of assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, interned Japanese-Americans produced newspapers to chronicle the stories and experiences of their community in a time of crisis."

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"Holocaust survivor Camilla Gottlieb’s ordinary life in Vienna was upended by World War II into crisis, imprisonment, and ultimately a new life in the United States. Her purse, discovered by her family after her death in 1964, contained letters and papers that trace her trials and triumphs. These documents reveal a compelling story of captivity in the Theresienstadt concentration camp to eventual reunion with her daughter in New York."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"Throughout our nation's history, Native Americans have served valiantly and with distinction in times of peace and war, while also fighting for the right to be an equal part of our nation. We recognize their rich heritage and honor their spirit and true devotion to our country. Native Americans have a distinguished legacy in the Army - many thousands have served in the armed forces from the early days of the Revolutionary War, with the Lewis and Clark expedition, as Scouts with the U.S. Cavalry and as Code Talkers in World War II."
Note: click on "Profiles" for an overview of "Army Code Talkers" in WWI and WWII.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

"The Voces Oral History Center is the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States. It began in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II. Our archive has expanded to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights."

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"Throughout our nation's history, Native Americans have served valiantly and with distinction in times of peace and war, while also fighting for the right to be an equal part of our nation. We recognize their rich heritage and honor their spirit and true devotion to our country. Native Americans have a distinguished legacy in the Army - many thousands have served in the armed forces from the early days of the Revolutionary War, with the Lewis and Clark expedition, as Scouts with the U.S. Cavalry and as Code Talkers in World War II."
Note: click on "Profiles" for an overview of "Army Code Talkers" in WWI and WWII.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

"The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains 7 million pages of scanned materials.
Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download."

"The Voces Oral History Center is the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States. It began in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II. Our archive has expanded to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights."

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"Throughout our nation's history, Native Americans have served valiantly and with distinction in times of peace and war, while also fighting for the right to be an equal part of our nation. We recognize their rich heritage and honor their spirit and true devotion to our country. Native Americans have a distinguished legacy in the Army - many thousands have served in the armed forces from the early days of the Revolutionary War, with the Lewis and Clark expedition, as Scouts with the U.S. Cavalry and as Code Talkers in World War II."
Note: click on "Profiles" for an overview of "Army Code Talkers" in WWI and WWII.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.

A collection of 150,000 digital stories, images, emails, documents, sounds, and videos.

"Individuals of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have historically served in the Army with great valor and distinction and continue to be critical members of the Army team. They play vital roles in today's Army as Soldiers, Army Civilians and Family members."
Spotlights and summaries of service in conflicts from the Civil War to Operation Iraqi Freedom & Enduring Freedom.

"Throughout America's history, from the Battle of Lexington to the Battle of Fallujah, Black Soldiers have honorably answered the call to duty, serving with great valor and distinction in America's armed forces.
The Army story cannot be told without reflecting on the historical achievements made by Black Americans and preserving those memories. Black Americans have served and sacrificed in every conflict in our nation's history, with more than 245 years of honorable service.
Black Americans, who have defended our nation since the Revolutionary War, have built a legacy of courage and professionalism by serving the U.S. Army with great honor and distinction, inspiring generations to come – we recognize and honor that legacy always."

"The U.S. Army values the contributions of American Soldiers with ancestry from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America. Hispanic Americans have not hesitated to defend and show their allegiance to this nation in many ways, but especially through military service."
An overview of Hispanics/Latinos in Army battle from the Civil War to the present.

"Throughout our nation's history, Native Americans have served valiantly and with distinction in times of peace and war, while also fighting for the right to be an equal part of our nation. We recognize their rich heritage and honor their spirit and true devotion to our country. Native Americans have a distinguished legacy in the Army - many thousands have served in the armed forces from the early days of the Revolutionary War, with the Lewis and Clark expedition, as Scouts with the U.S. Cavalry and as Code Talkers in World War II."
Note: click on "Profiles" for an overview of "Army Code Talkers" in WWI and WWII.

"This exhibition examines the experiences of nineteen military service personnel in the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Cold War, and Iraq and Afghanistan.
Stories told in this exhibition include
- Margaret Corbin, the first woman to earn a military pension
- James Reese Europe, a bandleader and lieutenant in the Harlem Hellfighters
- Perry Watkins, a sergeant and gay rights activist"

" 'The defense of our nation is a shared responsibility. Women have served in the defense of this land for years before our United States was born. They have contributed their talents, skills and courage to this endeavor for more than two centuries with an astounding record of achievement that stretches from Lexington and Concord to the Persian Gulf and beyond.'
Retired Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan"
Spotlights of women in Army service.