Race & Social Justice Teacher Resources: Hawai'i & Hawaiian Experience

Land history information regarding the current Ala Wai campus of 'Iolani School. Includes resources for land history research and sociopolitical historical context.

Early 'Iolani student, member of the school Board of Governors, and State leader.

"The Council for Native Hawaiian Advancement joins Good Morning Hawaii to talk about the importance of Hawaiian Language Month and the events going on in honor of it."
KITV 4 (ABC) Island Television
January 27, 2023
(video recording of newscast segment 00:06:53)

"This special section is an ongoing collection of news articles and opinion pieces written in Hawaiian to better connect with our Indigenous readers, identify underreported stories and improve our engagement with an underserved community. "

"Many historians characterise early nineteenth-century Hawaiian architecture as binary: either purely indigenous, such as the hale pili [grass house] and unmortared rock heiau [temple], or completely westernized, such as plastered stone houses or pre-cut wooden houses in Euro-American architectural styles. A persistent thesis proposes that Hawai'i became passively colonised without the indigenous people substantially influencing the architectural transformations involved. This assimilation argument draws heavily on the drawings of artists on European exploring expeditions and books published by missionaries. Such visual and written descriptions are important representations of early contact Hawai'i, but they document primarily the shell or the exterior rather than the activities happening within the spaces. A broader spectrum of primary source materials, particularly contemporaneous journals, supports a new argument and conclusion regarding architecture and space in early nineteenth century Hawai'i. I reject the assimilation theory and argue instead that the Kamehameha monarchy (1810-1872), particularly during the reign of Kamehameha III, Kauikeaouli (1825-1854), actively shaped an expanding worldview while it maintained cultural rituals of place..."
By Spencer Leineweber
2015 thesis, Doctor of Philosophy, Australian National University

Article by Lorin Eleni Gill
Honolulu Magazine
November 22, 2017
"These kumu hula have worked tirelessly for decades to ensure that the kaona, knowledge and traditional practices shared by their mentors are passed on to the next generation."

"Explores the history of local people dealing with outside forces — and what may be in store. In each episode, host Russell Subiono visits a different Hawaiʻi community threatened by outside ownership and listens to what longtime locals have to say."

Timeline entry addressing the Annexation of Hawai'i, includes historical photographs.
Part of the "Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness" exhibition.

*Access requires New York Times subscription. See "more..." below.
"The Commissioner's Instructions and How They Were Followed — Exhaustive History of the Causes Leading up to the Conspiracy Which Minister Stevens Aided — Successful Only Through His Acts — Annexation Would Be Voted Down in a Fair Election."
"WASHINGTON, Nov. 18 — The report of James H. Blount, Special Commissioner to the Hawaiian Islands, is herewith presented in full:"

Article Contributor Luis Acosta
Library of Congress
April 10, 2009

Article by Keanu Sai, Ph.D.
neaToday
April 02, 2018

"Kamaka Pili hosts the weekly Aloha Authentic segment on KHON2 News and KHII. We visit our islands' streets to capture the given name and the meaning behind the name to help broaden our knowledge and understanding of Hawaiian culture and history."
Segment videos.

Cooking in America, S1, E2 (video 11:01)

A chronology of Hawaiian government presented in table format with government type, events, and dates.

A short historical summary and article links.

"In countries such as New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and among tribal nations in the U.S., it is commonplace, even policy, to open events and gatherings by acknowledging the traditional Indigenous inhabitants of that land. While some individuals and cultural and educational institutions in the United States have adopted this custom, the vast majority have not. Together, we can spark a movement to change that.
We call on all individuals and organizations to open public events and gatherings with acknowledgment of the traditional Native inhabitants of the land."

Article by John Branch
New York Times
May 17, 2021

In a trip to Southern China to uncover its deep connection with Hawaii, Stephanie Lum details her journey and highlights some of her findings.
(aired February 2024)

Podcast episode about Makahiki in curriculum at the Kualapu'u Public Charter School on Moloka'i.

Article by the Associated Press
Honolulu Star Advertiser
March 30, 2022

By Ku'uwehi Hiraishi
Hawai'i Public Radio News
September 22, 2023
(audio, 00:01:26)

Article by Jennifer Sinco Kelleher, Associated Press
Hawai'i Public Radio
January 23, 2023

"Nā Mana Wai is our online and email publication. We publish prose, poetry, photo essays, interviews, videos, audio recordings, illustrations, and other media we haven’t mentioned or perhaps yet imagined. Nā Mana Wai—our many sources of wealth—honors the diversity of this paeʻāina. Our stories enrich each others lives, challenge our perspectives, and deepen our connections to one another."

"Papa Ola Lōkahi Presents 'Our Kuleana, Made With Pashyn,' a half-hour comedy special tackling the serious subject of vaccination awareness with humor and heart.
Written by Ty Sanga and Pashyn Santos and produced by Rock Salt Media, 'Our Kuleana, Made With Pashyn' takes aim at breaking down the history of epidemics in our community in a comedic style navigating the viewers thru story."

Article by Jade Snow, Aaron K. Yoshino
Honolulu Magazine
May 14, 2019

Article by Miya Lee
The New York Times
May 7, 2023

Article by Jim Kempton
Atlas Obscura
July 13, 2021
"This story is excerpted and adapted from Women on Waves: A Cultural History of Surfing From Ancient Goddesses and Hawaiian Queens to Malibu Movie Stars and Millennial Champions by Jim Kempton, published in July 2021 by Pegasus Books."

Article by Martha Cheng
Honolulu Magazine
May 8, 2023

Article by Catherine Toth Fox
Hawai'i Magazine
January 06, 2020

Organization that provides cultural programs, including celebrations of Hawaiian History Month.
"The Hawaii Pono’ï Coalition (the Coalition) was founded in 2007 to educate those who live in and visit Hawai‘i about its true history and the Native Hawaiian people. The Coalition takes its name from the title of the Hawai‘i National Anthem written by King Kalākaua in 1874."

"Ho‘olale i ka ‘ai a ka u‘i" is a Hawaiian proverb that roughly translates to "what the youth can do." This special Youth in Action program was filmed in Hawai‘i and showcases what Native Hawaiian youth are doing to protect their traditions. The program has four segments:
- voyaging and wayfinding,
- hula as resistance,
- heiau (sacred space) restoration,
- food sovereignty.
(video, 00:40:20)

"Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books. Dr. Jean Mendoza joined AICL as a co-editor in 2016."

"Here are more than 70 carefully selected lists of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators." With link to the "Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children's Books."

Browse books by culture, subject, theme, etc., or search for activity by title.

Browse books by Subject; view lesson plans and activities.

By Louise Derman-Sparks

"LGBTQ Reads is a site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQIAP+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler."
Includes lists of "Books featuring characters anywhere on the queer and/or trans spectra (including but not limited to Queer, Questioning, Undefined, Lesbian, Transgender, Bisexual, Pansexual, Asexual, Demisexual, Aromantic, Intersex, Genderfluid, Genderqueer, Agender, Bigender, Demigender, Two-Spirit, and/or Non-Binary)."

"Recently, ten librarians from across the country, brought together by the American Library
Association (ALA) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority Investor Education Foundation
(FINRA Foundation), gathered for a series of virtual meetings. Their goal: to create an inclusive list of
financial education titles for children and teens.
Why were these librarians so focused on identifying thoughtful and inclusive financial education
books? Because teaching young people financial understanding and sound practices requires a
genuine embrace of diversity. Our financial world works best when everyone can participate and
when it responds to and respects the many cultures, backgrounds, experiences, circumstances, and
values comprising our society."

Various resources about book selection and a blog including book recommendations. The OurStory book database is free but requires login.

Summer reading booklists by year, created by educators.
"The We Are Kid Lit Collective works to create materials and opportunities to recognize the humanity of Indigenous and People of Color (IPOC) in youth literature."

"Cultural and artistic expression are invaluable components of society. Complications quickly arise during cross-cultural experience and/or exchange.
This lesson examines attitudes that arise from such encounters when considering dance, with an emphasis on Hula. A large focus is placed on giving students the opportunity to reflect personally and critically on the archival and contemporary materials presented. Students will exercise primary source literacy, visual literacy, and critical thinking skills while creating inferences to answer document and audio-visual based questions. Prompts can be accomplished via written assignments, either formal or informal, and/or class discussion.
The following is primarily intended to complement your existing teaching units, and has potential application for courses in the following academics departments: Performing Arts, History, English."

Various K-12 educational materials highlighting Indigenous experiences including:
- Unladylike2020 (Gr. 6-12): "Meet the first American Indian doctor and the first sovereign queen of the Kingdom of Hawai’i! After watching clips from three episodes of the Unladylike2020 series, encourage your learners to find common threads between these inspiring women, as well as those that exist between the past and the present."
- Explore Alaska Native History with “Grandpa's Drum" (K-2)
- Land Back: Indigenous Fight to Reclaim Lands (6-12)

Includes background information and the digitized primary sources:
- 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawai'i with signatures
- 1898 Joint Resolution of Congress to Provide for Annexing the Hawaiian Islands to the United States
- 1898 Letter from Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, to the U.S. House of Representatives Protesting U.S. Assertion of Ownership of Hawai'i.

The Judiciary History Center provides "learning opportunities about the judicial process and Hawaii’s legal history from pre-contact to present."

Primary source set.

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

This lesson provides students the opportunity to connect with historical events and create context through place using the words of King Kamehameha IV. Students will exercise primary source literacy and critical thinking skills while creating inferences to answer document-based questions. The lesson can be applied to courses discussing the Hawaiian Renaissance, history of Hawai'i, and other contemporary issues. Writing assignments can be modified by faculty to be formal or informal.
Primarily intended to compliment existing teaching units.

Includes curriculum guide and units.

Access audio recordings of select essays, poet videos, and curriculum.

"A video series for educators, by educators. This series explores and challenges the complexity surrounding the term Asian Pacific American, breaking it down into topics that span multiple timelines, geographies, and identities."

Provides images for analysis and prompts divided into beginner, intermediate, and advanced level.

Explore teaching materials by time period, theme, resource type, or keywords.
"The Zinn Education Project: Teaching a People’s History website offers hundreds of free, downloadable teaching activities for middle and high school classrooms to bring people’s history to the classroom. Coordinated by Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change, the site also lists hundreds of recommended books, films, and websites. The teaching activities and resources are organized by theme, time period and grade level. This is the only collection of its kind for educators — print or online — in the country."

President Grover Cleveland's remarks to the Senate and House of Representatives regarding the overthrow of the monarchy of the Hawaiian Kingdom.
Transcription. To see the scanned page, click on the page number found in brackets [ ].
Excerpt:
"Actuated by these desires and purposes, and not unmindful of the inherent perplexities of the situation nor of the limitations upon my power, I instructed Minister Willis to advise the Queen and her supporters of my desire to aid in the restoration of the status existing before the lawless landing of the United States forces at Honolulu on the 16th of January last, if such restoration could be effected upon terms providing for clemency as well as justice to all parties concerned."

"The records of the Constitutional Convention of 1894 include stenographic recordings and minutes of the proceedings, committee reports, resolutions, petitions, amendments, four drafts of the constitution, outgoing correspondence, election results, record of disbursements, sample vouchers for election expenses, and miscellaneous material that were kept by C. T. Rodgers, secretary of the convention. The original constitution is in box CC1894-4.
Below are the digitized Records of the 1894 Constitutional Convention. The originals remain physically at the Hawaiʻi State Archives."

Includes background information and the digitized primary sources:
- 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawai'i with signatures
- 1898 Joint Resolution of Congress to Provide for Annexing the Hawaiian Islands to the United States
- 1898 Letter from Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, to the U.S. House of Representatives Protesting U.S. Assertion of Ownership of Hawai'i.

"...the Public Archives of Hawaiʻi is excited to announce that her Majesty’s entire paper manuscript collection is now accessible online... Over 20,000 digital images, in high resolution and full color, offer an unprecedented view of her life."

"Declares that the Congress: (1) on the 100th anniversary of the illegal overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii on January 17, 1893, acknowledges the historical significance of this event which resulted in the suppression of the inherent sovereignty of the Native Hawaiian people; (2) commends efforts of reconciliation initiated by Hawaii and the United Church of Christ with Native Hawaiians; (3) apologizes for the overthrow and the deprivation of the rights of Native Hawaiians to self-determination; (4) expresses its commitment to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow in order to provide a foundation for reconciliation between the United States and the Native Hawaiian people; and (5) urges the President to acknowledge the ramifications of the overthrow and to support reconciliation efforts."

Includes:
- Blount Report
- Hawaii Organic Act
- Anti-Annexation Petition
Viewable as transcription or pdf of scanned document.

Includes:
- HPS Digital 'Umeke
- HPS on Vimeo
- HPS Kauhola Catalog
- Link to Papakilo Database - HPS partner and host to select collections.

We hear about many political processes in the news: contested cases, environmental reviews, hearings, injunctions, and protests. These intersecting processes can be convoluted, confusing, and opaque. What is also challenging for the public is that the documentation of these processes is located in many different places...
This website, created by librarians, archivists, and students at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, uses the John A. Burns Freeway (also known as the H-3 Freeway) as a case study to explore these processes and to connect the public with documentation of these processes."

"Bishop Museum's Ethnology Collection includes more than 70,000 objects from throughout Hawai‘i and the Pacific region.
Photographs and detailed information are available for more than two thousand objects."

"The mission of the Digital Archives project is to develop a digital archives repository capable of providing reliable, long-term access to trustworthy digital records to the public and government entities of the State of Hawaiʻi, now and in the future. In order to achieve this goal, the digital archives repository must protect these records from loss, alteration, deterioration and technological obsolescence in order to ensure an accurate rendering of those records in perpetuity in an environment independent from that which produced them."

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

"Bamboo Ridge Press was founded in 1978 to publish literature fostering the appreciation, understanding and creation of literary, visual and performing arts by, for, and about Hawaiʻi’s people...
While special attention is given to literature that reflects local sensibility, Bamboo Ridge is broad in scope and embraces a variety of work from writers across the nation. Some of our books have received recognition for literary excellence and for their contribution to the understanding and appreciation of Hawaiʻi's cultures and people. Bamboo Ridge publications have been adopted as texts or recommended reading in high school and college classrooms and have found a diverse audience across the country.
You will find here out-of-print and nearly out-of-print issues dating from 1978."

Primary source set.

Includes collections on genealogy, publications such as Men of Hawaii, and digitized books and articles from the UH Hawaiian Collection.

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have many digital collections that provide greater access and awareness to our physical materials. The digital collections include scrapbooks, photo albums, slides, sound recordings, research papers, photographs, maps, and many other resources.

"This is a digital collection of historic Hawaiian Newspapers, ranging from 1834 to 1980, that is made available through various collaborations and partnerships with the Awaiaulu, Bishop Museum, DL Consulting Ltd. & Ulukau."
Browse by Newspaper title or Date.

Transcriptions and translations of Hawaiian language newspapers published 1834 - 1948.
Searchable in English or Hawaiian language.
"This project is part of a special project of the Māori Newspaper Collection of the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand."

"The Ka‘iwakīloumoku Digital Collections comprise a vast array of Hawaiian and Pacific expressions. Home to an assortment of essays, interviews, videos, recipes, and more, we invite you to explore this rich repository. During your visit, we greatly appreciate your consideration and respect for the information, images, and perspectives found here."

"Native Hawaiian filmmaker Conrad Lihilihi presents a four part historical Docu-series examinig the 1896 Hawaiian Language Ban from public education. This series approaches the subject culminating a rich and diverse panel of academics in language, history, and politics."

"...the Public Archives of Hawaiʻi is excited to announce that her Majesty’s entire paper manuscript collection is now accessible online... Over 20,000 digital images, in high resolution and full color, offer an unprecedented view of her life."

"Paul Markham Kahn (1935-1997)... was able to amass one of the finest private collections of historic Hawaiian printed material in the world..."

Festival programs, 1968 - 2016

Includes digitized materials originally donated to both the Historic Hawai'i Foundation and the Hawai'i State Archives. More to be added.
"As the Hawai‘i editor for Sunset Magazine from 1952 to 1974, Bannick traveled the Islands and around the Pacific taking photographs of people, places and events with a particular focus on scenic, historic, cultural and natural resources. While her early photographs had a commercialized tilt, portraying an idealized view of the Islands, her later work focused on capturing images of every day gathering places, street scenes and ordinary life in post-war Hawai‘i in order to show its true richness and significance. Her images are an honest reflection of humanity–something which has become increasingly undervalued.
The trajectory of Bannick’s experiences compelled her towards community activism. Witnessing the wave of change of the 1950s-1970s as Hawai‘i’s landscape shifted from the rural towns of the plantation era to tourism and high rises, Bannick became an outspoken voice in preserving places through organizations..." - excerpt from the Historic Hawai'i Foundation promotional event (https://historichawaii.org/2022/03/17/bannickcollection/).

Digitized newspapers available via the University of Hawai'i open-access digital institutional repository, eVols.

“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Theodore Kelsey's Hawaiian Genealogy and Papers relating to Chants and Hawaiian Songs.
Mele contain personal histories and place names.

Films and videotapes related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.

Hawaiian and English language books digitized.

Recordings created by Winona Beamer in 1947 to preserve the language and traditions of Hawaiʻi.

"When Fear Reigned delves into the declaration of martial law and the suspension of civil liberties in Hawai'i during World War II. This presentation examines the writ of habeus corpus and the detainment without trial of well over 1000 residents of the Territory of Hawaii."
(video, 00:12:51)

*Click "View enlarged image" or "Go" to read the unpublished manuscript written by Major General Thomas H. Green, United States Army.

Entry about Thomas H. Green.
"Judge Advocate General, Hawaiian Department, and executive to the military governor in the Territory of Hawai'i during World War II; martial law proponent who advocated control over the civilian population in the Islands, particularly the Japanese..."

In celebration of Hawaiian Language Month, our ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi students [SY 2019/20] present a four-part Hawaiian proverb video series titled "Ka Lama Kukui a ‘Iolani."

Article by Kaniela Spalding
Honolulu Magazine
December 1, 2023
"An O‘ahu teenager describes how speaking Hawai‘i’s Native language helps preserve our stories, traditions and cultural heritage."

A.k.a. Wehewehe. Hawaiian dictionary.

Quickly search the Hawaiian language resources provided by wehewehe.org.

"Selections from several collections relating to the musical life of Lydia Liliʻu Kamakaʻeha Pākī are presented in this digital online exhibition. The young Lydia Pākī was a student of music from an early age and by her teen years was considered an accomplished musician and composer. Proficient on several instruments, she composed more than 150 songs and was considered an expert in sight-reading music.
Together with her three royal siblings—David Kalākaua, William Pitt Leleiōhoku, and Miriam Likelike—Princess, and later Queen, Liliʻuokalani composed and performed many of the songs that are considered 'classics' of Hawaiian music today..."

"...over 450 photographs depicting Hawaiian music from various collections found within the Public Archives. They are presented in this online exhibition as high-resolution preservation color scans. Images from the 19th century offer a window into the introduction of European music to the Hawaiian Islands and the adaptation and skill that produced music groups such as the Royal Hawaiian Military Band and the prolific and talented composers such as the Nā Lani ʻEhā – the four royals; David Kalākaua, Liliʻuokalani, Leleiōhoku, and Miriam Likelike..."

Various online exhibits featuring historical documents and images.

Online exhibit, images, and digitized material.
"Iolani Palace has been a symbol of Hawaiian history and identity since the nineteenth century, and is a lasting and central landmark in the political and cultural landscape of Hawaii."

Exhibition that "explores the interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. Visitors will discover how Native concepts of health and illness are closely tied to the concepts of community, spirit, and the land."

"Records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers."

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders...

"The mission of the Digital Archives project is to develop a digital archives repository capable of providing reliable, long-term access to trustworthy digital records to the public and government entities of the State of Hawaiʻi, now and in the future. In order to achieve this goal, the digital archives repository must protect these records from loss, alteration, deterioration and technological obsolescence in order to ensure an accurate rendering of those records in perpetuity in an environment independent from that which produced them."

"This system allows you to search for archival material from departments across the library, including the Jean Charlot Collection, the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections, and the University Archives and Manuscripts. Visit the departmental pages for general overviews of each department's collections, as well as for information about how to visit and conduct research with these materials.
Note that the ArchivesSpace database primarily contains records describing our special collections and archival materials; most other items held by our departments may be found via OneSearch."

Includes the Hawai'i War Records Depository, Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection, and more.

Images from various collections held by the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa. Viewable by topic/region, collection, or keyword searchable.

"This searchable database contains Jean Charlot's master set of prints and many of his early drawings and watercolors. The records are growing with the addition of Charlot's personal print study collections and works on paper acquired by him from other artists and photographers."

COH preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts.

"Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop..."

"Bishop Museum's Ethnology Collection includes more than 70,000 objects from throughout Hawai‘i and the Pacific region.
Photographs and detailed information are available for more than two thousand objects."

"The Hawai‘i Alive project is a cooperative work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards."

HPS is dedicated to documenting and sharing the life stories of living Hula Masters and their efforts to perpetuate hula.

Includes:
- HPS Digital 'Umeke
- HPS on Vimeo
- HPS Kauhola Catalog
- Link to Papakilo Database - HPS partner and host to select collections.

"When called to duty in World War II, the men of the 100th Infantry Battalion performed extraordinary feats fighting for the country they loved."

"Bamboo Ridge Press was founded in 1978 to publish literature fostering the appreciation, understanding and creation of literary, visual and performing arts by, for, and about Hawaiʻi’s people...
While special attention is given to literature that reflects local sensibility, Bamboo Ridge is broad in scope and embraces a variety of work from writers across the nation. Some of our books have received recognition for literary excellence and for their contribution to the understanding and appreciation of Hawaiʻi's cultures and people. Bamboo Ridge publications have been adopted as texts or recommended reading in high school and college classrooms and have found a diverse audience across the country.
You will find here out-of-print and nearly out-of-print issues dating from 1978."

A private non-profit organization established in 1892.

"Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives (HMH), an active site for Hawaii’s history since 1820, is a National Historic Landmark (listed in 1965) and accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (last re-accredited in 2010)... The library, which holds both English and Hawaiian archival material, welcomes researchers on site as well as from around the globe through the digital collection... The HMH historical archive holds over 80,000 digital pieces and is home to one of the largest collections of Hawaiian language books in the world."

Transcriptions and translations of Hawaiian language newspapers published 1834 - 1948.
Searchable in English or Hawaiian language.
"This project is part of a special project of the Māori Newspaper Collection of the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand."

Includes the Tokioka Heritage Resource Center, the Honouliuli Education Center, and the Okage Sama De exhibit.

"The Moaʻe Molokaʻi Digital Repository is a centralized and fully searchable database dedicated to digitally preserving and enhancing access to invaluable archival materials and records curated by Molokaʻi community members for the Molokaʻi community."

"The Native Hawaiian Data Book presents research results about Native Hawaiians in an impactful way. It gives a visual view of statistics and trends that shape the conditions of Native Hawaiians. The inaugural edition of the Native Hawaiian Data Book was launched in 1994. Since then, it has been updated multiple times. OHA plans to update the data book every two years."

“Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.

Hawaiian and English language books digitized.

Films and videotapes related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.

Primary source set.

"... a space to explore the breadth and depth of Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world."
Includes digital collections of images, interviews, mele, and more.

"The Ka‘iwakīloumoku Digital Collections comprise a vast array of Hawaiian and Pacific expressions. Home to an assortment of essays, interviews, videos, recipes, and more, we invite you to explore this rich repository. During your visit, we greatly appreciate your consideration and respect for the information, images, and perspectives found here."

"Such history is important in determining the legislative intent of a particular statute. Listed are helpful tools to assist in the legislative history process for Hawaiʻi law."

"In a collaboration with the Hawai‘i State Bar Association, the Supreme Court Law Library offered an online webinar about online primary legal resources. The presenters were Marlene Cuenco, Public Services Librarian, and Joely Alt, Public Services Library Technician. The moderator for the session was Jenny Silbiger, State Law Librarian."
Site includes:
- Primary Sources: Legal Research on the Internet (Zoom recording)
- Primary Sources: Legal Research on the Internet (Slides & Notes in PDF)
- Primary Sources List of URL’s Handout

Handout containing URLs for research into Federal, State, and County Legislative Branch primary sources.

Link to the Hawai'i Resources category of 'Iolani Libraries LibGuide.