Skip to main content

Archives: Welcome

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

Mission of ‘Iolani School Archives

 

The ‘Iolani School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to historical records of ‘Iolani School.

These documents, memorabilia, and other materials promote an understanding of and appreciation for the history of the school and the individuals who laid its foundations and nurtured its development.

The materials are available for use by faculty, staff, students, alumni, and other interested researchers.

Information Requests

Please allow two weeks for information requests.

Disclaimer

The 'Iolani School Archives contains materials, information, videos, images, etc., that may be considered sensitive or offensive according to today's standards. These items are indicative of societal attitudes at particular points in time. Such materials are retained and preserved in an effort to adequately represent the historical record.

What Does the Archives Do?

In addition to acquiring and caring for historical records – which were created or used by the school or people associated with it – some of our activities include helping with requests for information, assisting visiting researchers, and arranging displays.

The archives has a wealth of material on the history of the school. If you have a class project and think you may need to use archival materials, please contact the archives staff to determine if the archives has resources to meet your needs.

Keep In Mind...

Archives are "the non-current records of individuals, groups, institutions, and governments that contain information of enduring value."
(Society of American Archivists)

  • There are NOT records for everything.
  • Not all records are indexed.
  • Even if records do exist, they are NOT ALL available digitally.
  • Archival arrangement ensures preservation of content AND context:
    • Provenance- different origins means materials are kept separately, even if subject matter is the same.
    • Original Order- creator established order is maintained.
  • Archival research takes time. Materials are often described at the box or folder level, NOT the item level. Therefore, general information is maintained and specific information is for the researcher to explore and discover. Happy hunting!

~ ~ ~

Access

Location:
Sullivan Center for Innovation and Leadership (SCIL)
2nd floor

Contact:
Georgina Tom, MLIS, DAS, CMS
Archivist
Phone (808) 943-2336
email: archives@iolani.org

Hours:
10:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.
Monday-Friday
Appointments are encouraged.
Hours may vary.

For More Information

For more information, schedule an appointment to conduct your research. Please note the Archives' open hours listed above.